We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pub in the village”
Review of Sun Inn

Sun Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Feering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A grade two listed heavily beamed traditional pub. Two inglenook fireplaces, which roar away in the cold winter months and a large mature garden and courtyard in summer months. We operate a no booking policy, unless you are a group over seven. We offer six real ales, a wide range of wines and premium lagers. We look forward to seeing you!
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I have been visiting The Sun for years and can say without any hesitation that it is the best pub in the village. The staff are always friendly and the food is always excellent.

Even during busy times I have always been well looked after, and I have witnessed how others are dealt with as well. Anyone complaining about a slight wait for food needs reminding that a popular local pub serving fresh cooked food is always worth the wait.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this pub to anyone and everyone.

Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunInnFeering, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for the great feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 207 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

4 of us went for a meal and drinks. Were unable to book due to their policy of not reserving tables for under 7 people. No problem. Had our meal and some drinks. Then very unexpectably we were told we had to leave the table as they needed it immediately for others who had ordered their meal and it was now being brought out from the kitchen. The table had not been reserved and as far as we were concerned, having eaten and drank in there I did not expect to be told to leave the table. Manager was not around to discuss this with and the chef came out and just said he was sorry. Offered us a drink but as we no longer had seats on which to sit we declined. He also removed the deserts from the bill but this was not the point. The point is they should not have taken an order for people who had nowhere to sit to eat. Not remove current customers. Whilst we have visited this pub on several occasions we will be thinking twice before returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank MSullivan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunInnFeering, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

We cleared your table at 8.10pm and asked you twice after if would like anything else. You then preceded to sit there for over an hour with no drinks just talking. We chose to ASK you if you wouldn't mind moving because you hadn't ordered anything and on this occasion we did make an error. You could of said no, but your reply was yes of course, not a problem. You had to speak to the chef because I was at picking up an outside catering event at the time, and had I been there I certainly would of backed my staff up, because the table next to you heard you say we could have the table and it wasn't a problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

A Monday lunch time and the Sun was not that busy. The barman certainly knows how to pour a perfect Guinness ! Two of our meals were well cooked and plentiful. The third member ordered the Plowmans ! There was enough on the plate for the Plowman and his Horse too! It really was good quality and well presented. The waitress attentive and charming 10/10 for her.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Number1grumpysoandso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunInnFeering, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for the great feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We tried this pub, for a lunch as I had a day off. The barmaid was relatively uninterested, although she did take our order. She mentioned that the card machine was down and that she should put our bill on a tab, which was fine.
After a very long wait, our meal was brought out, (the same barmaid did apologise) and it was fairly average pub fair. When we tried to pay and leave, we were informed that the card reader was still not working, and that we might have to wait!!!!! My wife then went out to go to a cashpoint to pay for the meal. I therefore stayed in the bar to wait for her, when I suggested that the extra drink I had while waiting should really be on the house, she said that she couldn't do that...
All in all a pretty poor time, and one that we won't be repeating.

3  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunInnFeering, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We are sorry that the card machine was down however this is out of our control and you were informed of this when you came in and before you placed your order. This was a one day problem as a new one arrived the next day. The suggestion that you may have to wait, was because she was on the phone trying to fix the problem at the time so you could pay and awaiting the machine to update itself. Unfortunately in the world of technology things break down, and as this was out of our control and you were informed of this on your arrival, we politely turned down the question of a free drink. This doesn't mean we gave you poor service because we didn't give you something for nothing! We apologised for the card machine going down and the wait for food which you when asked how was everything, didn't complain or mention anything about the quality of the food. You experienced a wait because four tables ordered in front of you and because we cook freshly to order, during busy periods there may be a longer wait.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visit the Sun on a regular basis as we live local. We have eaten here on a number of occasions aswell, we found that you do have to get there early to grab a table, as it's very popular. The PUB is a tradition styled oak beamed PUB with open log fires and lots of country pub character. We have always found the food to a good standard(bring back the cheesey chips and whitebait) the staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice choice of Ales, lagers and wines. Would definitely recommend it. Can't understand some of the other reviews sound like they got the wrong PUB

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank m1nt1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunInnFeering, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for you valued feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Inn also viewed

 
Feering, Colchester
 

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing