We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit better than last time”
Review of The Harrow

The Harrow
Ranked #20 of 25 Restaurants in Warlingham
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Harrow in Warlingham is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

I'm writing this because I have just read a review for last night Monday . We were a table of three also there and can say that the food had actually improved ! Service was a little slow but they were understaffed yet the waitress was lovely . Ordered burger which was enjoyed and I had fish and chips which was good . Mushy Peas were strange so left those ! Pudding was chocolate brownie which was also enjoyed and then we had two bakewell tarts these were massive and good . Good value with the gourmet card . So in all yes it was better than last time and I will be back

2  Thank myring1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
general manager A, General Manager at The Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the trouble to write your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to seeing you on your next visit with us

kind regards

Neil Belton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 462 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2017

Been going to the harrow for over 20 years, family and i had the misfortune of a monday night horror, i have to say the front of house staff John and the waitress we couldnt fault attentive and pleasant.

The food is horrendous everything is over cooked deep fried, i had sirloin asked for medium come out burnt to a sinder with a deep fried bulliet of a onion the sauce had split in the microwave, my wife had ham burnt egg and chips which we sent back. all of this food is basic pub food which is all we expected. The monday night chef is dreadful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaulG2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
general manager A, General Manager at The Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear about your bad experience with us on Monday night. I have taken the steps to re-train the kitchen staff on steaks and menu specs. At the harrow we love all types of feedback good or bad, as this helps us grow as a business and understand our guest needs

Kind regards
Neil belton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

This was the first visit for all four of us and went on a friends recommendation we was met by the manager as we got inside and he made us feel welcome he sat us at our table and got drinks straight away we all had two courses and it was very good English pub food with no complaints we were too full for pudding but we left there very satisfied and will definitely be returning and telling other friends to visit so thanks to Neil and his team for a great evening and look forward to coming back soon

Thank Terrance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
general manager A, General Manager at The Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2017

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your visit with us Saturday night. Glad yourself and your party enjoyed themselves and really hope to see you again soon

regards

Neil Belton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017 via mobile

Don't bother for now. Once the management have this under control I am sure this will be a great pub again.

Booked a table for eight o'clock. Arrived to be told it's running ten minutes late, no worries but waited twenty five minutes at the bar before anyone came to serve. Sat down for dinner at nine! No scallops, none of the steaks available. Apple pie and custard cold.

To be fair our first round was on the house and the staff very apologetic so they do seem to care, just not organised.

I am sure this is s blip because this is normally a great place. Will try again in the summer.

Thank pebhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
general manager A, General Manager at The Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry your visit wasn't to the standard I expect from the Harrow.
Running out of the steaks was a issue which I have know rectified by re-training staff on ordering. All our hot food should be served hot on hot plates to company standards.
I have put measures in to stop these incidents from happening again, including the wait time on your table.
Once again thank you and hopefully see you again soon

Regards

Neil Belton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2017

had to keep our coats on as freezing. food was awful and cold, our wine turned up after we finished eating what we did eat that is. could not wait to leave and would not go back.

    • Value
Thank tracybutler2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
general manager A, General Manager at The Harrow, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your visit with us. I'm sorry your visit did not come up to the standard I expect from the Harrow. All hot food should be served hot and on hot plates and to company standards. I have put in measures and given my staff feedback to stop this happening again, including quicker service on the wine.
As regards to the temperature, we had some gas problems out side of the building, which affected our heating system.
Regards
Neil Belton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harrow also viewed

 
Warlingham, Surrey
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to The Harrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing