We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep going back”
Review of The Kings Head

The Kings Head
Reserve with OpenTable
The Kings Head is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Business owners Andy & Julz Judd welcome you to The Kings Head. January 2012 - Present. Whilst the building is owned by Hook Norton Brewery, the business within it is privately owned, all enquiries should be directed to the Business owners. The Kings Head is situated on the edge of the beautiful village of Napton on the Hill, Warwickshire and close to the Oxford Canal network. Here at The Kings Head we are committed in providing each and every guest with a warm, hospitable service, together with good quality food with an unpretentious price tag. Due to the increasing popularity of The Kings Head, we advise advanced bookings for any lunchtime or evening but especially so at weekends. Telephone and website bookings only, our email is not monitored 24/7 therefore it is advised not to use email as a booking facility. We are very proud to produce all of our menu products ourselves and whilst our busy chefs work very, very hard to prepare and produce each individual dish with the minimum delay,at prime/busy times this is sometimes inevitable, we respectfully request your patience. Did you Know? The Kings Head also offers an Excellent Catering and/or Mobile Bar Service for all Events, please feel free to contact Andy Judd (Proprietor & Head Chef) to discuss any enquiry you may have. If you would like to hear more about The Kings Head, why not like us on Facebook (The Kings Head Napton). Please note: At very busy times early tables (6-7pm)of parties up to 6 people may be subject to a maximum 2 hour table occupancy. We advise a later reservation time is booked should you wish for a longer sitting. Not Happy with Something? Please inform our Front of House Team if you are not happy with something, we cannot rectify a genuine problem if we do not hear about it until after the event. Our aim is to ensure all of our guests leave as happy guests. Andy, Julz & Team
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Keep going back”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was there again last week to elebrate a friends birthday, the service was a bit slow, and without prompting we had an apology from the chef and free drinks all round- a nice touch! The food when it came was very good. I will keep recommending this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    102
    38
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
115 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“My other half stated"the best roast beef I've ever had!! Melted in my mouth"-cant get better than that!!!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere,very friendly staff. Varied menu-excellent prices. Why bother cooking at home?!!!
Liked the fact we were offered a choice of where to sit-and the relaxed pace allowed us to take our time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debslovesjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A good pub for food”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Kings Head is only two miles from our village and has become a reliable place to eat in the last 12 months. They serve lunchtime specials at a realistic price and three evenings a week they have theme evenings (fish, steak and bangers and mash). The a la carte menu has plenty of choice. Now that the lounge has been redecorated it is more welcoming and the staff are always friendly and attentive.the beer is also good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank howard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First Choice”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Family get together or romantic couples this place has everything, lovely place atmosphere beautiful food just about the right price, very friendly and helpful staff, will deffinately go again

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Delamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great roast!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Really enjoyed a family Sunday lunch on my first visit to the Kings Head in Napton. The scallops starter were expertly cooked, the roast beef and Yorkshire Pudding excellent; and the trio of mini chocolate desserts were to die for. The menu was priced well, would recommend this pub to anyone and look forward to returning soon. Our 14 month old son was well catered for with high chair and kids menu, bar and waiting staff very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head also viewed

Napton-on-the-Hill, Warwickshire
Priors Hardwick, Warwickshire
 
Ladbroke, Southam
Staverton, Daventry
 

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing