We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely break in the country”

Review of 9 Folly Cottage

Folly Cottages courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Folly Cottages courtyard
Kitchen Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Folly Cottages courtyard
Kitchen
Lounge
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom (with en suite)
Bathroom
Outside seating area
View from outside seating area
The Folly Inn
folly cottages
The Oxford Canal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Napton-on-the-Hill, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chenko64
Abu Dhabi
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Floorboards like firecrackers”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage itself is very nice, however, no thought has been put into the comfort for the guests staying.

Upon arrival we were delighted with its location and thought we would have an enjoyable time there... That was until we went to bed! To say the double bed in the master bedroom was uncomfortable is an understatement and to top it the floorboards made so much noise that we were afraid to go to the toilet during the night as the floorboards woke the baby, Even when turning over in bed they were making a noise like firecrackers going off! In the end we ended up in the bedroom with the twin beds which were not much better. We hardly slept during our stay.

I certainly would recommend this letting until the beds are changed and the floorboards fixed.

My husband and I have both come home with bad backs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the bed and floorboards
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2015
I am so sorry not to have responded sooner.
We have not had any other complaints regarding the matters you raised but will definately look into these 2 points.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyB20
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK but with a bit more attention to housekeeping could be good.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Positives - A lovely cottage in peaceful location. Good sized kitchen/lounge/diner hall and wc downstairs and 2 good sized beds (1 en suite) and bathroom upstairs. Kitchen was well stocked with utensils, pans etc and all linen and towels included. Plenty of parking and the onsite shop is a bonus for essentials.
Negatives - On arrival, 2 out of 4 kitchen bulbs were blown, wall clock had stopped, no bulb in bedside lamp and I had to wash up the tea stained cups before we used them. I realise these are all minor points but are so easy to rectify.
Overall, we had a good week. Would we use again? Probably not.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good size and number of toilets.
Liked least: General attention to housekeeping.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us. I am sorry that there were bulbs missing. What a shame you didn't let us know whilst you were there as these could have easily been rectified.
Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennilost
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

the cottage which in fact was No 11 and not No 9, (No 11 is not on the system) was in a great location, well appointed, good parking, great pub next door but it was grubby, beds and bathrooms clean but dirty pans in oven, fridge covered in red sticky liquid, dog kibble under the skirting, and everything including dirty tissues under the seat cushions on the sofa, there was a general smell of longstanding dirt very musty and doggy( I am a dog owner so thats not a unfamiliar smell within reason). Such a shame as otherwise this cottage had so much going for it. A decent cleaner and one or two pictures and it would be getting excellent ratings. I would go back and would take cleaning stuff with me! Also the inside of the kettle was horrid and I had to buy a kettle to use. There is nothing that a bit of good housekeeping could not solve here. Such a shame

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and very comfortable bed
Liked least: Cleanliness as stated above
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2014
Good afternoon, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. What a shame you didn't contact us whilst you were there and all these things could have been rectified.
All points raised are being investigated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greavsie1...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely break in the country”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A lovely well furnished cottage in a lovely rural setting ideal for that short break away. Walks along the canal and short car rides to local historic spots give you the flexibility between lovely walks in the sun and interesting trips to learn some more about lovely Warwickshire.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2014
So glad you enjoyed it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina B
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Bolthole!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I spent a weekend here with a friend and her dog. The owner was very accomodating as no one was in it the week before so we were able to arrive whenever we wanted.

The location is perfect - great quirky pub next door with excellent home cooked food and the walks along the canal are lovely.

The cottage was clean and well stocked although ladies you will need a mirror to see to dry your hair!

We will definitely be using it again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2014
Good morning and so glad you enjoyed your bolt hole!


regards
Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandS...
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We recently had a lovely peaceful stay at this cottage and enjoyed watching the field of sheep and lambs which the living room looked on to. The cottage was well equipped and was clean and in good condition.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Do come back and see us again.
Regards
Jenny Hayward
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentona
Reviewed September 9, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: thse spiders
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing