We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay for the Rosslare Ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killinick
Certificate of Excellence
Four Marks, Hants, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great place to stay for the Rosslare Ferry”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Located on the main road south from Rosslare, this is the perfect place to break your journey for the early morning ferries.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    151
    69
    19
    16
See reviews for
80
195
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

The desk clerk told us they only had one room left and we were "forced" to take a more expensive room. When we asked a different clerk in the morning we were told that the hotel was 45% full.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth Wales, UK.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently spent a couple of nights during our journey to and from friends. This Hotel grows in stature every year. As always the room was clean and comfortable the welcome is sincere and the staff are courteous, friendly and very helpful. The choice of food is good and tastes delicious, dinner can be taken in the bar or the dining room. The wine list is not too long but has some very nice wines at not excessive prices, the selection of beers on tap is also good. A very nice place to start your holiday and end it. It is situated about a 6 minute drive from the Rosslare Ferry Terminal and we hope to be able to spend the next 5 years visiting. The Chef deserves a mention for his delicious meals.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseandHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here just for one night before catching 9 am ferry to Fishguard. Location is excellent, only 10 mins from Rosslare Harbour, plenty of parking, very smooth check in, very helpful and friendly staff, lovely clean room, spotless bathroom, good amenities for a 3 star hotel. However what a shame about the marshmallow bed!!! It was so soft that it promised a night of roll- together and guaranteed backache the next day. Such an uncomfortable night. Why, oh why is it not compulsory to have reasonably firm beds in all hotels?

I liked the hotel and would recommend it to anyone needing a good place near the ferryport - but they need to get better quality beds!

Room Tip: Maybe all beds are not so soft, but if you need a firm bed do not go for room 6!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alikat32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barkingside
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is on N25 and a 10 mins drive from rosslare harbour

Very friendly receptionist and check in was very easy

We stayed in room 26 which is 1 of the cottage type rooms which are pet friendly. The room was very clean and well set out. Only a small tv and no sat channels as described. The wifi signal in this room was very weak but wifi is free

The bar serves a fantastic pint of Guinness which after a 5 hour drive was very welcome

The restaurant was well priced and the food was enjoyable

This is the 3rd time I have stayed here and highly recommend this hotel for an over night stop if your using rosslare harbour. The hotel is dog friendly which also helps.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicko1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Only stopped over night to catch a ferry next morning which was a shame because we would have liked to stay longer. Staff we excellent,food in the bar was basic but very good and has to be the cleanest hotel we have stayed in, it was spotless.

only 10 minutes from the ferry as well. we will be back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent a night here before taking the 9am ferry from Rosslare to Fishguard. We were very impressed with the friendly helpful staff. Fairly typical ordinary bar food - perfectly O.K. We had a good quiet room (which we asked for), pillows were a bit uncomfortable, i.e. hard ! but not a huge problem.
Would definitely stay here again, and it was great to have a large area out the back to walk the dogs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janew766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killinick
3.9 mi away
Hotel Rosslare
Hotel Rosslare
#4 of 5 in Rosslare
263 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,777 reviews
2.1 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Churchtown House
Churchtown House
#1 of 1 in Tagoat
95 reviews
1.8 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,628 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel

Property: Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel
Address: Rosslare Road, Killinick, Rosslare, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Danby Lodge Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare > Killinick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killinick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel is located in the beautiful South East of Ireland. This delightful family run property is located on the N25 between Wexford Town and Rosslare Harbour. An Ideal location in the sunny South East with the wonderful Rosslare strand nearby, this family friendly hotel has much to offer. Whether it is a relaxing break or a stopping point for the ferry, the BEST WESTERN Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel will welcome you like you are one of their family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danby Hotel Killinick
Danby Hotel Rosslare
Danby Lodge Hotel
Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel Killinick, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing