We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant”

Thistle Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“pleasant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were staying just down the road which made this pretty convenient. The restaurant was rather like going back in time, typical for the area.
We found the staff welcoming and friendly. They made a fuss of our little boy (14 months), the only drawback was the wait. We arrived there 17.45 as requested, very grateful they had a table for us, but we were still waiting at nearly 7pm.
We had ordered an omlette for the toddler, and in hindsight we should have requested it straight away.
Most of our party ordered a Greek dish, which they loved and said it was worth the wait (freshly made), two of us ordered roasts, in fairness they were OK, but if we went there again, I would choose something different.
The food was fine, but with the toddler, waiting that sort of time was not easy.
The mezze evening was on a different night, so next time we would have to time our meal out to coincide.
A pleasant evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bikingdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had hoped to go there for mezze night but it wasn't on. However, when we booked one of the staff said she would ask the chef if he could do some extra greek starters for us, which he did. The food was good and filling, if a little bit different from the traditional greek style. However, we had a great blether with the chef after the meal and really enjoyed our visit. We visited the pub side of the business several times during our holiday and again enjoyed the banter with staff. They serve a local real ale - so good we had to visit the brewery!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alanrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab Greek Meze”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Often visit for Meze nights with friends throughout the year. Fab food with a great homely atmosphere. Well done Nikos, Jim and team.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jules162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good and questionable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have mixed views about the Thistle. Have had nice meals but also had a very tough Steak They willingly changed it and said sorry but it was because of their supplier. Sorry but if your supplier is giving you rubbish then give him the boot. Having said that made to feel welcome every time we have visited. s previosuly stated the Meze nights are very good.

Helpful?
Thank Iain Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Owner fitted us in for the Mezze Evening at the last minute. Are we glad he did! What super tastes! Lots of flavour and a great selection. Staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snave3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thistle Inn Restaurant also viewed

Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Thistle Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing