We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant Around”
Review of Arte Cafe

Arte Cafe
Ranked #9 of 44 Restaurants in Elviria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Takeley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant Around”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Don't be fooled by the fact that this is a small unassuming restaurant. The food is excellent and imaginative and the prices and service are second to none. Try it - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rog J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    68
    22
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We ate here once during our stay in Elviria in August 2013, based on reviews already read, we booked a table. Our children aged 9 and 6, said it was their favorite restaurants! mainly due to the fact that the owner treated them like special guests, It's great to be able to eat as a family and still have the atmosphere of a lovely restaurant that you would attend as a couple. The food was fab the muscles with cheese were to die for. The children had a choice of "real food" rather than the standard nuggets and pizza, and the presentation was very imaginative.
see you next year Arte Cafe!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank placey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The reviews lived up to expectations”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Two great starters
King prawn pil pil served with the tails intact and the sauce was different to most pil pil on the coast however one of the best I have tasted in 10 years

Goats cheese salad
My wife said it was to die for, goats cheese served with crispy bacon and apple with a side salad, a great combination

Main course

Go for the ribs plentiful and the meat drops off the bone, dog owners may need to request a doggy bag it's a good portion but don't sacrifice the starter.

We will be visiting again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food at reasonable price”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Went here on basis of previous TA reviews and were impressed. Cheery efficient waiter is a real asset. Crab cake was superb as was the cod. Other nearby restaurants were more expensive and less busy. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank davidmacp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
576 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We ate there for lunch recently which was ok so decided to go last night for dinner. We had no reservation but they found us a table for 2 immediately. The mistake we made was ordering a starter and a main course.
The smoked salmon with crab was huge and very tasty but really filled us up. The main courses of chicken satay and my ribs were excellent but neither of us could finish which was a real shame. My only adverse comment is that there were no wipes offered and eating ribs is a messy job. Eventually a finger bowl was brought but too late to stop me getting my drinking glass dirty.
This place seems to operate on just one waiter, a bar person and the chef. How they do it I have no idea as it was busy. The waiter was charming and we enjoyed our evening. Next time just one course.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brian_uk12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arte Cafe also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Arte Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing