We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devil is in the details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solplay Hotel de Apartamentos
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Linda-a-Velha
Certificate of Excellence
Curitiba, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Devil is in the details”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Solplay for 2 weeks. The location is really fine, at the highest hill of Linda-a-Velha, so that one gets splendid views even from the lower floors. From our two-room apartment, at the first floor, we could see the Tagus, the sea and Pena Castle, in the mountains. Splendid. The staff is very friendly, and the rooms have almost all the facilities one could request. But nothing is perfect. Housekeeping wasn't up to expected standards, and the rooms were made according to an erratic schedule. We've been waken up by the housekeeper at 8 a.m., and it was Sunday...
Although the apartment provides you with kitchen facilities, housekeeping does not include any sort of dish-washing, even at a fee. Since the restaurant is understaffed, breakfast service was rather poor.
But all in all, it has been a good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west wing provide stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    207
    34
    10
    4
See reviews for
240
140
15
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is near Lisbon (around € 15 by taxi). What you may lose in distance, you win in space. We were a party of 4, so we stayed insam spacious 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms apartment with a huge balcony, living room and a little kitchen. It was an excellent choice for a 2 week stay in July. We enjoyed the pools (outdoor and indoors), the kids club, the sun and the hospitality.
We rented a car, since we moved around the whole District of Lisbon, from Cascais to Parque das Naçoes. Good supermarkets around (Pingo Doce, Lidl and Continente) and nice restaurants in Algés. The hotel offers free parking.
The hotel's restaurant is very good, with good fish options and the breakfast is included, where I just missed a pastel de nata in the morning buffet.
Hotel staff is very attentive and friendly, quickly responding to our requests.
Only weak point: cleaning of the rooms could be a little bit better.
Overall, it was a very good experience and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank united90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our fifth stay here and it will definately not be the last. Perfect place for a relaxing holiday with just 20 minutes to Lisboa city centre. Extremely nice and helpful staff, great rooms with big balconies and stunning views, especially on the pool side. Yet to find another hotel that can match the price considering the facilities and the high standard.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SverreOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends and, while it is a good 20minute taxi ride from Lisbon it is a perfect little haven away from the busy city.

The staff on recpetion were fantastic and from the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble. The housekeeping staff were also very friendly and our rooms were kept very well.

The rooms themselves were massive, a full kitchen and lounge and separate bedroom with a large balcony meant we could have our friends over to eat in our rooms when we did not feel like going out. The pool, gym, sauna and steam room facilities were great and there was never a shortage of sunbeds or hammocks.

The breakfast had a good range of fresh fruit, breads, meats, cheeses, pastries, yogurts and a hot breakfast and kept us going way past lunch. Also, in the early evening they had fresh pastries and donuts with coffee in reception!

We spent 5 days here and then headed into Lisbon. I doubt this hotel is ideal for people wanting to visit the city but it is possible. If anything this is the perfect getaway for a bit of relaxation and sun before hitting Lisbon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zclfy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here as a base for the Optimus Alive festival and it was ideal in every way. It was better than we expected in fact. The pool area is lovely and bar food is excellent - try the steak sandwich! I am craving it still.

It takes about 20-25 minutes to walk to the festival.

It is on the outskirts of the city so is about 12-15 euros in a taxi.

Our room was huge and very clean. The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was great.

All in all we can't fault it and would go back for the festival, but probably not for a city break as we'd choose somewhere closer.

Room Tip: We were in room 415 and it was more of a suite with huge separate living area. It had a large balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodibxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed here with a large group of friends during the Optimus Alive Festival '12! The reception staff were welcoming and sorted out any requests we had straight away. The hotel is nice and clean with spacious, functional apartments but it is in a quiet area on the outskirts of the city so there's nothing in the vicinity really! It is on a hill overlooking the mouth of the river so offers beautiful scenery but can at times be a bit windy (though we may have been unlucky for a few days!!!) The pool area is well kept with plenty of sun loungers and hammocks as well as the pool bar! Excellent location for this festival and I suppose for a sunny escape! The lifeguard at the pool was really friendly and helpful, giving us advice on our onward journey to the south of Portugal! Overall very good...x

Room Tip: All rooms have huge balconies but a pool view is probably best as there isn't much to the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Spent 1 week here for Optimus Music Festival and it was ideal. Twenty minute walk downhill to festival site and 4 euro taxi ride back uphill! We had a one bedroom suite. Huge rooms and a tv in lounge and bedroom. Also galley style kitchen with electric rings and oven. Plates, cups, cuttlery,glasses and pots provided but little else if you want to seriously self cater. Also washing machine. There was a large balcony with table, chairs and loungers but we spent most days poolside where there lots of options and decking or grass. The outdoor pool is cool but that is what you want on a hot day. There is a heated indoor pool for the wimps. I would recommend a mojito at the swim up bar. Prices for foor and drink are quite reasonable for a hotel of this class and a steal with comparative places in France, Spain or Italy. There are also plenty options a short walk away without having to trek into central Lisbon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linda-a-Velha
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#53 of 248 in Lisbon
213 reviews
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
#1 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Real Oeiras
#1 of 1 in Oeiras
346 reviews
Lagoas Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porto Salvo
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solplay Hotel de Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solplay Hotel de Apartamentos

Property: Solplay Hotel de Apartamentos
Address: Rua Manuel da Silva Gaio 2, Linda-a-Velha 2795-132, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Linda-a-Velha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Linda-a-Velha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solplay Hotel de Apartamentos 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus river, the Solplay hotel is located in a quiet area on the outskirts of Lisbon. The accommodation offer comprises comfortable studio apartments, suites and family suites. Almost a home away from home, the Solplay Hotel is ideal for both business and leisure travelers, for short and long stays. Free wi-fi and free parking is available. A variety of fitness equipment is available in the Solplay Hotel’s gym. Guests can also visit the sauna or soak up some sun on the sundeck. Dive in our 2 swimming pools both heated (indoor & outdoor) after or before cycling on our free rental bicycles.. Pratus Restaurant serves international cuisine prepared with fresh ingredients. Outdoor dining can be enjoyed on the terrace. Copus Bar offers light meals and gourmet coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HRS, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solplay Hotel de Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solplay Apartment Lisbon
Hotel Solplay Apartment
Solplay Hotel De Apartamentos Portugal/Linda-a-Velha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing