We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Dinder B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I arrived at this 16th century home and found the fire blazing in the fireplace, how wonderful. My very spacious room overlooked the pool and the green rolling pastures that identify England as the most beautiful island. Farm fresh eggs in the dining room for breakfast, and it was so welcoming with such friendly service from my hosts, Pam and Sandy. I loved the quietness of being in the country.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 35 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed for two nights at Crapnell Farm. The quietness was wonderful. Although the farm is in the middle of nowhere you are only 2 miles away from Wells and Shepton Mallet. The farmhouse has a warm feeling as you walk in, a family home. Our room overlooked the front garden, the room was large, bright and well kept with an en-suite. The breakfast was excellent and cooked to order. The B & B is central for sight seeing. This was our first visit but it won't be our last. If travelling from Wells take the first road to Dinder as the second one is difficult to negotiate with a large car.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

A wonderful farmhouse B&B centrally located between Wells and Shepton Mallet. We had a great welcome from Sandy (Pam was unfortunately away). Our room was very clean and spacious with the most comfortable bed and furnishings, with lovely views of the countryside. Sandy's breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. This was intended to be a relaxing break for us and the experience we received at Crapnell certainly helped us achieve this. We will certainly return on another occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_coot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a proper farmhouse B&B, near Wells and Glastonbury. Beautiful views in the most welcoming B&B you could imagine. Pam is a great hostess and Sandy's breakfasts are excellent. Real old fashioned value for money. I'm not surprised people go back there again and again. I will for sure. It is beautiful with roaring fires every night during the winter. What a treat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely 3 nights at Crapnell Farm. Pam and Sandy were both very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and large, with very comfy bed. Tea and coffee tray was refreshed daily.

Breakfasts as others have said were excellent and cooked to order each morning. Pam and Sandy were very flexible, allowing us to have a slightly earlier breakfast on our last day so we could go out and explore Bath (about 45 minute drive).

Our only suggestions for minor improvements would be to have some wifi available as our phones had limited service in the room (we are with 3, so can't say for other carriers), and some minor updates to the rooms eg wallpaper just starting to come away.

All in all though, we had a nice stay here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a trip to the Wells and Bath area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the end of July for two nights and throughly enjoyed our first visit to Somerset. Pam and Sandy were excellent hosts, providing a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The farmhouse, set in a truly beautiful garden, is picture perfect and a delightful home to relax in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 98NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stumbled upon this place following signs leading down a single track road. Felt I had entered an episode of 'Escape to the Country'.
Would have liked to stay 2 nights but only 1 available due to a cancellation. Kept hoping for another cancellation but no such luck.
Received very warm welcome from what I assume to be Sandy (regretfully, we never introduced each other by name) with his broad and friendly smile, who said his wife had gone away for a day (so never met Pam). After showing us to our room (the Small Blue) he served us fresh tea & biscuits - very much appreciated!
Spotless and comfortable room, peaceful views over garden and fields - and heated towel rails!
As other reviewers said, you feel you leave as friends, not least after having 'met' all the family, whose portraits adorn the walls of this farmhouse home. (We also heard the story about the brain tumour after recognising Michael Schumacher in one of the photos)
Breakfast was great and very tasty. Sandy very helpful: when asked if he knew someone else in his FarmStay association who might offer accommodation in the area he looked it up for us.
Would definitely come back if in the area.
Excellent food at the nearby George Inn in Croscombe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinder
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
4.4 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,045 reviews
3.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#34 of 37 in Wells
141 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
339 reviews
5.6 mi away
Worth House
Worth House
#9 of 37 in Wells
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: Crapnell Lane, Dinder, Wells BA5 3HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Dinder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dinder
Price Range: $84 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crapnell Farm is a spacious 16th-century farmhouse located on the south side of the Mendip Hills, just outside the beautiful city of Wells. Our aim is to ensure that you enjoy a relaxing stay in a warm and friendly atmosphere with all the comforts of home and more. Our spacious double & twin rooms are all en-suite and are tastefully furnished for your comfort to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing