We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find!”

Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Dinder B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stumbled upon this place following signs leading down a single track road. Felt I had entered an episode of 'Escape to the Country'.
Would have liked to stay 2 nights but only 1 available due to a cancellation. Kept hoping for another cancellation but no such luck.
Received very warm welcome from what I assume to be Sandy (regretfully, we never introduced each other by name) with his broad and friendly smile, who said his wife had gone away for a day (so never met Pam). After showing us to our room (the Small Blue) he served us fresh tea & biscuits - very much appreciated!
Spotless and comfortable room, peaceful views over garden and fields - and heated towel rails!
As other reviewers said, you feel you leave as friends, not least after having 'met' all the family, whose portraits adorn the walls of this farmhouse home. (We also heard the story about the brain tumour after recognising Michael Schumacher in one of the photos)
Breakfast was great and very tasty. Sandy very helpful: when asked if he knew someone else in his FarmStay association who might offer accommodation in the area he looked it up for us.
Would definitely come back if in the area.
Excellent food at the nearby George Inn in Croscombe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We can't recommend this farmhouse highly enough. The house is delightful, the bedrooms are spacious, spotless, and comfortable and the breakfasts are superb. Pam and Sandy are lovely people, very welcoming and hospitable, nothing is too much trouble. You arrive as strangers and leave as friends. We only wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

After staying with Pam and Sandy, we feel part of their family. Pam showed us pictures and told stories of all the children, how the World Rally Champion Richard Burns became part of that family and their fight with his brain tumor. She always wrote driving directions to where we were going each day. Talking to Sandy about dairy farming and the decline of family farming in England as well as the US. Our room was very comfortable and homey. Three nights there were as restful as any place we've been. And the breakfasts with eggs from the chickens in the yard were amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for three nights and used this B&B as our base to see some local sights. The hospitality was excellent along with the host sharing the right amount of local knowledge and interest to help us make the most of our plans. They were really friendly and gave us a great impression of the B&B and Somerset, being proud locals. The breakfast was great with requests cooked to order and cereals and fruit available too. We felt relaxed in this out of the way, characterful farmhouse B&B. Worth going the extra mile off the main road to experience this lovely old farmhouse, garden and views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bl00mies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Crapnell B&B for 2 nights over the Easter break. Pam and Sandy are extremely warm and friendly throughout the stay and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was slightly cold on the night of arrival and Sandy immediately put a heater on there to warm it up. We had a lovely, large bedroom with a very comfortable bed and beautiful scenic views of the farm. The B&B is easy to miss as its a very rural road with a very narrow turning but easy to find after you've been there once. The location is very rural but shops close-by and Pam is always there to give you advice on where to go and what to do. Would definitely recommend a stay here, the only criticism I would have is the shower needs a bit of improvement as it goes from hot to cold very quickly, but that's a small improvement in an otherwise beautiful farmhouse!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leicestertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I needed to stay at the last moment close to Shepton Mallet as I was working at Bath & West Showground. Althugh this lovely B&B is about 15/20 mins drive from the Showground, the last mile and a half up a narrow lane, it is well worth the drive. I was treated like an old friend on arrival and was disappointed to only have stayed one night. Eggs from the their own hens in the morning were lovely. I would certainly recommend this one. Just need to take cash as no cards accepted.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and i stayed on this farm for 4 nights, and we loved it. Very very peaceful, comfortable beds, elegant rooms and are old and full of character! Every day there is a tray of tea,hot chocolate, coffee, fresh milk and cookies in your room...breakfast is wonderful, offering the full english, or vegaterian... French press coffee. The farm is beautiful, and the owners were very helpful with giving us directions to different attractions and suggesting things to see. The location is nice.. not too far from bath or bristol, right next to wells, which has an amazing market every Saturday! Would definately return to the farm!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinder
4.4 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
957 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
3.0 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
298 reviews
4.3 mi away
Coxley House
Coxley House
#3 of 40 in Wells
118 reviews
5.6 mi away
Worth House
Worth House
#12 of 40 in Wells
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: Crapnell Lane, Dinder, Wells BA5 3HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Dinder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dinder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crapnell Farm is a spacious 16th-century farmhouse located on the south side of the Mendip Hills, just outside the beautiful city of Wells. Our aim is to ensure that you enjoy a relaxing stay in a warm and friendly atmosphere with all the comforts of home and more. Our spacious double & twin rooms are all en-suite and are tastefully furnished for your comfort to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing