We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Brit returned to find England has changed”
Review of The Talbot Inn

The Talbot Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Mells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Brit returned to find England has changed”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

As a Brit living in the US for the last twenty years, wow how country pubs have changed. Wow, wow, wow. Superb genuine friendly service that we in the States could learn a thing or two about. Great great food at unbelievably good prices, and in a beautiful British country pub. Last time ate in one, well dont get me started. All I can say is, making me think seriosly about returning to the Uk for!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    87
    38
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ROMA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great improvement, great staff, great location.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I live locally and took an Italian friend of mine here who was visiting. Though tempted out of the traditional comfort zone, I went for Ploughmans in the end and my friend had a burger. Both were excellent - perhaps I would have preferred for the cheddar to have been more obviously 'cheddar', a bit more crumbly (I don't think it was local), but my friend was very impressed indeed by his meal. The service was impeccable and there is nothing like eating in the shadow of what is probably my favourite parish church in the country. Contrary to what others seem to be saying, I really did not find the Talbot expensive: we drank cider and beer, ate til we had our fill and even had pudding (REALLY spectacular), and it cost us around 30 quid...not bad at all in my book.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Four of us went to the Restaurant at The Talbot in Mells and all had a wonderful dinner. Two of us had the fennel salad starter and one the potted shrimps - quite run of the mill you might think, but no absolutely special. The other starter was a lamb fritter which was declared lovely. For the main, three of us had the fallow deer with a braised beef fritter and one the belly of pork - all fantastic. The puds were equally delicious, one knickerbocker glory and two had lemon polenta tart with roast peaches. |Staff very helpful and attentive, excellent surroundings, and even on a damp August evening we felt we were somewhere special. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silverhighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An amazing pub. Every village needs one!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Fabulously tasty food. Gorgeous chips and such a succulent beef burger. The chicken sandwich was fried in the lightest of battters. So relaxed and welcoming. Great beers and cider on draught.
Loved it !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank limebluepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The meal (although modest in portion size) was well cooked with good quality ingredients, however it was let down by the poor service.

When we arrived, the manner in which we had to wait for the table was uncomfortable and a little strange.

We were then asked what we wanted to drink, however we were not given a wine/drinks menu and had to go to the bar to find out what they had.

The waitress then omitted to come back to the table to take food/drink orders resulting in a requirement to flag down a passing employee whose response was sarcastic.

When the drinks arrived they were merely passed over a wall and not served at the table (again another sarcastic response from the waiting staff).

At no point during the meal were asked how the food was or whether we wanted any more drinks. As a result we did not feel incline to ask for one.

In a badly time/delivered attempt at humour the waitress made a comment which just came across as rude.

As a result of the (lack of) experience we declined a dessert, requested the bill and left.
Nice building/interior, decent food (although portion size questionable however poor service will not be returning.

I would recommend a course on customer service for the waiting staff

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1982Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talbot Inn also viewed

 
Frome, Somerset
 

Been to The Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing