We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHARMING VILLAGE WITH HISTORY, LOVELY INN, PITY ABOUT THE ROAD”
Review of The Talbot Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Talbot Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Mells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Mells is famous for its Lutyens memorial, the churchyard where Ronald Knox and Siegfried Sassoon and many Asquiths lie, and the church with its memorials by Munnings and Gill (to Edward Horner and Raymond Asquith) and its Burne-Jones. If you ask the hotelier at the Talbot he will take you up the tower. The hotel has been done up in contemporary fashion, Farrow and Ball and a bath in the middle of the room. But it is all very nicely done and the service is friendly, not officiously professional, and the food and ambience is everything you would wish for in this village inn next door to Lord Oxford's manor. But oh the road! Cars whizz along it, guided by Sat Nav, which seems to direct them down this rat run seemingly between nowhere and nowhere much. Lord Oxford, who owns most things in the village, refuses to impose speed bumps or a chicane but in the meantime it ruins sleep - and lives...the Talbot's publican has lost two dogs on the road and it will claim more. Some solution must be found. The Talbot will lose custom, or maybe a customer or two as they step out onto this picturesque racetrack.

Room Tip: On the courtyard would be best unless the traffic problem is sorted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickyarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 336 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

We plumped for a stay here having read the wonderful reviews in various papers and then Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Our room ( #2) , whilst not large was more than large enough for a 2 night stay and was excellently furnished. The breakfasts were great and service - well beyond the norm. How many other hoteliers would have offered to go to their own home next door to get some white bread which a guest ( not us!) wanted for breakfast but was not available in the restaurant?? We ate in the pub restaurant both nights and had a good meal both times. The village is lovely with some lovely ( gentle) walks around in the country. The village shop is run as a community shop and that really comes through. The service from all the staff in the hotel was ace. The icing on the cake was the unexpected good weather which meant we could sit and read in the courtyard with our drink and just chill out. All in all, a lovely place to stay for a quiet rest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Loved the quirky layout of the rooms, bar & diningroom, the home made bathroom lotions and the lovely linen & towels.
The laconic staff coped with kids,dogs wandering into the kitchen,noisy groups & couples with equal aplomb. Delicious food, including the breakfast with home made bread & meusli. And of course the idyllic setting. Would certainly recommend it as a wonderfully typical English country getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Main plus points:
- Food is phenomenal, especially lunch/dinner. Stayed here as a group and ate several meals with plenty of variety chosen - everything that everyone ordered was delicious and cooked to perfection
- Staff are cheerful, friendly and helpful. Made us feel at home
- Brilliant and cosy bar with a great selection
- Great location in a lovely part of the world to get out and explore, surrounded by pretty countryside and close to Bath/Stonehenge and various other places to see

Main negative points:
- Errr... had to leave at the end of our stay?

The rooms were all beautiful and well furnished, but there was a considerable difference between them - some of the smaller ones were not particularly spacious and had quite small bathrooms. The master bedroom is stunning, but does appear to sit directly above the bar - might be a bit of noise late at night. We had a few issues with water pressure/temperature when showering

Breakfast was just great (rather than the other meals, which were exceptional), but special mention goes to the freshly cooked pastries and hangover cure station - complete with bloody mary ingredients, Berocca and painkillers!

Limited/no mobile reception, which was great. Free wifi if needed...

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are probably worth splashing a little extra on, though the master bedroom appears t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OL_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is beautiful in a quaint village perfect for lots of walks and general relaxation. However the noise from the bar and restaurant carry into the rooms and room 7 smelled terribly of the toilets beneath it. Shame.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Hannahwu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Had a fantastic night last saturday, it was a friends 40th and we dined in the Coach House, the menu was a sharing platter which offered a fantastic choice and was cooked superbly, large selection of wines and spirits and the staff were tentative and polite throughout the evening, this is the second visit now and i will personally be coming back !! Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Lovely inn, rooms, food, staff, location and general ambience. Can see why all the reports and accolades are very good. A very unique place and we will definitely return soon and enjoy more of the Talbot! M&C.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank applepike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mells
2.3 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
495 reviews
4.8 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
235 reviews
3.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 32 in Frome
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Archangel
Archangel
#18 of 32 in Frome
291 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#3 of 32 in Frome
280 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#4 of 32 in Frome
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Inn

Address: Selwood Street, Mells, Frome BA11 3PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Mells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mells
Price Range: $131 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Talbot Hotel Somerset
The Talbot Inn Mells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing