We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place in a charming village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Talbot Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Talbot Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Mells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely place in a charming village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay in a charming village that has a fascinating church/churchyard as its main attraction (Siegfried Sassoon is one of several famous residents). Back at the Talbot, the bedrooms are more impressive than the dining room (compromised by ground floor room sizes) and the bar (bar servery not in the best location) but aside from these architectural grumbles, the food and drink here are excellent, and I'm sure the service standard will catch-up soon. Well worth trying before the prices go up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    57
    19
    12
    1
See reviews for
60
135
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went for supper at the weekend, I felt the menu a bit limited, however I had rump steak which I wouldn't normally have, it was so tender and flavoursome, lovely..Not impressed though with the chips.

The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and a special mention must go to the bar man Floyd, fantastic young man.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhyan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had the most fantastic three days at this place. Food was fab, staff were incredible and the building is wonderful. Try it you will love it. Highly recommended x :-) quirky to say the least Bloody Mary served with breakfast if you would like one! They have the most amazing dining hall very Swiss you will love it!

Room Tip: Tell them what you want x
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just had Sunday Lunch here after a 15 year gap ! It was perfect ... the roast was just amazing, and all 4 of us loved it. I have never tasted such tender roast beef, and I am seriously fussy.
The various outbuildings around the central courtyard are all in use now, and the side garden (with boules) area is also a hit. The real ales are also up to scratch.
The weather was perfect so we ate outside, then afterwards walked around the lovely Walled Garden on the other side of the road, which also has a Tea-Room. So all-in-all a lovely, dreamy, Sunday experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteepleAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed for one night in this newly and brilliantly tastefully refurbished luxury inn and we were not disappointed. From the friendly, warm welcome, quality of the room, excellent breakfast - everything was perfect. The staff were exceptional and we were made to feel very much at home.

Superb value and highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had what was called the cosey room, but it was plenty big enough and for £95 for the room for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamabads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were staying for just one night before going on to our son's wedding. A bit of r & r!

The Talbot we were told had only been open for 3 months and the renovations and rooms are of the highest quality. Well done.

A table was reserved oin the restaurant. We had a great meal with fresh cornish fish (herring and hake), salmon and a great spelt risotto. The food could not be faulted.

The only small failing related to service. Firstly we were invited to go to the sitting room and tea would be brought to us - it wasn't we had to go searching! Secondly we wre in the bar before our meal and asked to see the menu and order from the bar. No problem we were told but then we were forgotten! For us it is these little things which differentiate the good from the very good/perfect stays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purchases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great staff!! Comfy beds,great hot water pressure. Breakfast keeps you going all day love the attention to detail for over indulgers! Bathroom products fab Im raving now. Simply a must visit for retreat/party/getaway you just have to go!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vrandmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mells
2.3 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
1.9 mi away
Babington House
Babington House
#1 of 1 in Babington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#10 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
4.8 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
3.1 mi away
Archangel
Archangel
#9 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Inn

Property: The Talbot Inn
Address: Selwood Street, Mells, Frome BA11 3PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Mells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Talbot Hotel Somerset
The Talbot Inn Mells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing