We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Bath England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't do it!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Just a warning about this Hotel..

Spent Sturday night at Cadbury House Hotel as part of a Wedding Party..

It is advertised as one of the regions Top Hotels. Let me bting you up to speed..

Rooms.

As part of a Wedding Party due at the Ceremony at 3.00pm we arrived from Lancashire in plenty of time. However, we were not allowed into our Room until 2.00pm.

That gave us one hour for a family to shower, change and get to the Ceremony. A total joke!! I would like to see the male Management explain that to their wifes trying to get ready for a Wedding.

One party member had a young child with them and asked Reception for a Blanket as the child ewas getting cold and the room heating was insufficent. He had to ask three times before anyone bothered to help!

If you do stay their don't ask for a loft room. There are two windows - both are roof windows. As a result, you need to lean againgst the wall and look straight up to get any natural light!

As a result, there is no way of getting any natural ventilation, they provide a pole to adjust the windows but you try using them!!

Because the windows are out of sight in the roof, the room seem quite small, I'm sure that this is an illusion but if you suffer from confinded spaces you will suffer.

Whilst I'm sure that they have a fuly valied Fire Certificate; it struct me that in an Emergency i.e Fire in the Corridor or smoke, you couldn't get or alert anyone that you are stranded.

Breakfast.

I know that they had a Guests from 2 Events the previuos Evening; a Wedding and a Wedding Reception to deal with but the Breakfasts were an absolute disaster. They couldn't cope with the number of people coming to breakfast. Don't get me wrong, the staff on duty did their best but they couldn't cope.


You may say why didn't I complain on checkout. No point! I won't be going back and neither will I be recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkBBathEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    737
    431
    212
    127
See reviews for
486
1,003
72
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

The clear glass windows from the bedroom into the en-suite gave no privacy to anyone in the room!!. With friends in for a drink, the bathroom was totally useless. Prices at Bar very hight and a lot of untrained "student" staff. Not 4*. A gentle complaint was a total waste of time. With so many better hotels at a better price, I say go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2009

a good hotel but we had a few niggles the rooms could have been better designed tilework in the bathrooms looks shoddy and more storage would of been nice but the bar and food was very good and the spa good value on food

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brassbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

If you are booking this hotel for some special occasion, then I suggest you go elsewhere. My husband took me here for a treat and £1000+ later for a two night stay, we left feeling cheated. The website said the best rooms to have where the loft suites. If your idea of heaven is 1970's porn then this room is for you. Mirrors floor to ceiling on 3 walls, LED lights, like a bad Christmas tree, twinkling above your bed, a bath at the end of the bed, that once is more than half full, spills over the edge as you get in and out. Shag pile rugs, a window so small that you have to crane your neck to see out of, and the crowning glory, faux fur bedspreads, that were so stained and worn, that I expected nylon or silk sheets as I pulled them off the bed. The restaurant and the bar were closed both nights as there was a Wedding on Thursday, then Friday and as we were leaving, irate guests waiting for their rooms for a wedding on Saturday. Breakfast Friday morning was very good, waiter service, but by Saturday, this had turned to a free for all, no available tables, buffet food cold, what was left of it. Waited 20 minutes for more scrambled eggs to be brought out. Thought I had been teleported to a grubby All Inclusive hotel in Spain. The pool and Spa facilities were very good, staff very nice. The Lounge where we were forced to eat, had sporadic service and quality. Thursday night good, Friday night booked a table, waited 30 minutes to ask what drinks we would like, so we ordered food at same time, waited 49 minutes for food to arrive. Family on table next to us, ordered before us and still hadn't got their food after us. It took the staff all their effort to apologise and when it was asked if a complimentary glass of wine would be forth coming, a spanish inquistion took place before it grudgingly arrived. This hotel isnt chic or stylish, it is obviously a wedding venue that offers rooms, where non-wedding guests take second place, and unless you are there for a wedding, give it a miss. Over-priced and very shabby!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissPiggy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west england
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

I paid £ 89 for an upgraded executive room, and on arrival on a sunny day the hotel looked well booked ( wedding next day ) and had a ' Friday Feel ' to it. A number of relaxed guests drinking outside, along with conference day attenders and the wedding party. On booking this I was told by the staff not to book a second night as the hotel bar and restaurant would be shut as the concentrate on the wedding. Honesty appreciated there.

The hotel has extensive grounds, and a quality spa area with pool all free to guests. The hotel itself is clean and the welcome very friendly and helpful with a quick and effective check in.

This is most definately the place to visit for a weekend chilling out with the guarantee of good service and attention. The prices in the bar are a bit OTT to be honest, but again the service was good. We booked in to the hotel restaurant and the service again exceeded expectations( for the UK ) with a quality and well laid out menu, and the reccomendation has tob e- try the taster menu. Brilliant. For 2 people with wine ( 1 bottle ) this came to £ 128, maybe a bit excessive ? Coupled with the room charge with breakfast we were looking at £ 210 plus for an overnighter - however, it seemed worth it, and lets be honest if you are going away and want a restfull place to stay with good service then some dont mind payng a bit extra. Its better than getting poor service and bad staff. And thats a lottery these days unless you do your home work.

The breakfast is buffet style and well run, in fact one of the best hotel standard breakfasts I have been to for some while.

Highly reccomended, and worth a go. But bring your wallet with you !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OiPunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed here for a wedding in September 09 for 2 nights and had a fabulous time!

Firstly the rooms were lovely the bed is one of the biggest i have slept in and was incredibly comfy. The wardrobe space was fine for 2 nights and they put a iron etc in there and a wonderful array of free tea and coffee facilities with the most amazing little shortbread samples! The mirror in the room was full length and you can do your hair in front of it. The bathrooms were nice very modern with great rainfall showers and lots of free goodies! The decor is great as well, lovely and modern with some rather bizare pictures on the walls (we had pigs!?)We were not disturbed by noise from either the planes over head or the other wedding guests the only down side of the rooms is the lighting if you in a room overlooking the back of the hotel you do not get much natural daylight and the room lighting is quite dim.

The hotel its self is very well presented great funky furniture everywhere the staff are really friendly and helpful and breakfast was not the scrum some people make it out to be. I had breakfast at 9ish both days and there was plenty of tables, plenty of hot food and no long ques.

I can't comment on most of the other facilities at this hotel as i was here for a wedding but i can say the food served up for the wedding was fabulous very well presented incredibly tasty and fast serving as well. So if that is any indication of the restaurants service then i would highly recommend it.

All in all a great weekend getaway would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueyedgirl19832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Nice looking hotel, smart rooms, comfy bed, but is a bit noisey.

We arrived quite late due to bad traffic and initially I was disappointed as our room was incredibly noisey due to a wedding reception taking place directly underneath. The hotel was fully booked so we couldn't be moved but it wasn't the end of the world, the room was lovely: nice squishy sofa, comfy bed, flat screen TV- the bathroom had a big bath which I soaked in while waiting for the wedding disco to finish. The disco finished promptly at midnight and after another half an hour of clattering (obviously tidying and placing tables for breakfast the next day) and drunken guests arguing across the corridor there was finally some peace and quiet.

Breakfast the next morning was nice, you can have full English (but scrambled eggs- ew!), cereal, fruit, croissants, muffins- there's something for everyone. Staff were attentive with tea/coffee. Hotel was fully booked but there was no 'scrum' as I've seen previously mentioned.

We found the staff were polite and friendly throughout our stay- the facilities looked excellent though we didn't get time to use them. I would recommend the hotel to my friends, but possibly not my parents- they have discos/weddings etc and are under a flight path- so it would probably be too noisey for them.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldilocksGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congresbury
5.1 mi away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol Airport
6.9 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
448 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
10.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Address: Cadbury House Frost Hill, Congresbury BS49 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Congresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton – Cadbury House, the South West’s newest four Star 132 Bedroom contemporary boutique Hotel & Spa. Cadbury House is a stunning venue set within rolling English countryside, making it the ideal backdrop for your Wedding, Private Party, Business Event, Spa Break or Dining Experience. Cadbury House is in a convenient location and is only minutes away, from the M5 motorway, Bristol airport and Bristol City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House Hotel Congresbury
Cadbury Hotel Health

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing