We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great hotel, with good facilities and great service. Highlight was the Marco Pierre White steakhouse... Disappointed with the noise housekeeping made outside our room in the morning, which woke my partner and I well before we intended on waking. But, an excellent stay other than that one minor issue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    731
    427
    211
    124
See reviews for
480
993
72
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Had high expectations of our night away and we were left a little disappointed. Welcome from reception was muted and we got our cookies which were amazing. Our room was contemporary, which is fine but for a room in the loft space it made it cave like. Very dark even with lights on and we had only a small window so little natural light. The room was clean'ish, there was a dinner plate sized wet patch on the carpet, dust on the windowsill and cobwebs in the shower room. We attempted to book a table at the Marco Pierre-White restaurant and were initially told it was fully booked but they would call our room if a table became free. A few hours later was tried again to book a table a after much confusion between four members of staff, a table was booked for us. Dinner itself, well the food was excellent and portion sizes good but it was only what you would expect from a Hilton restaurant. Which wouldn't be a bad thing if we weren't paying Pierre-White prices. Waiting staff were variable in quality, some good, some indifferent, some scruffy, like the waitress with her blouse untucked all he time so you could see the tattoo on her lower back / upper buttocks. Breakfast was poor, the bacon was like cardboard, fried eggs had hard yolks, and the coffee was from a self-service machine and was poor. The pool was good and clean, although not that warm. Overall, they seem to have gone for style over substance. Given that it's Hilton the whole experience was average.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Da4orce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draycott, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We came here for a break and it was a very good experience.
The restaurant menu is extensive and caters for all tastes - the food was gorgeous and breakfast was equally diverse and tasty.

Brilliant wine menu too, however the drink prices are absolutely through the roof - £6 a pint - but if you're treating yourself you won't worry.

The rooms are very modern, clean and tastefully decorated. We were provided with so many options for room service it was great - so nice to have an immaculately clean room too!

The only two criticisms I have is the poor signposting in the hotel - the endless corridors are like a maze and really unclear, but you can't help the way it's built I suppose.
Also the housekeepers were so noisy it woke us up - I don't expect silent workers but it was ridiculous - we did mention it on the way out and they apologised and said others from our corridor said the same.

The staff cannot do enough for you - everyone from the doorman to waiters and porters are fantastically polite and helpful - normally there's always one but this team is faultless.

Overall a wonderfully romantic overnight stay. Would love to go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed there for a night on my way to Exeter and simply loved it.
Pros:
1. Very very clean room and the hotel in general
2. Beautifully location and a lot of space.
3. Very friendly staff, probably the most friendly I have come across for years. The lady at the front desk was a trainee and even her performance was well above the average.
4. Great breakfast
5. Very well equiped room.

Cons:
1. I didn't get any Hilton reward points but thats not really the hotels fault and more of a Hilton reward policy.
2. No welcome cookie unlike some other Double Tree hotels in UK.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel was fine except that in the morning after getting into the shower in just ran out of water as I used the shower gel and all I could do was wipe it off with a towel. The staff said yes sorry for that , but not in a sincere way and that was it no offer of anything even a complementary drink.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank CMH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Booked the hotel for a family christmas party meal and added on staying overnight at a discounted price in one of the so called deluxe rooms. On arrival the room was not equipped with the upgraded robes, towels and extra tea coffee facilities. We complained ad received a bottle of wine but still no robes and this was the case for the other two rooms we booked for the rest of the family.
An hour before we had to be downstairs for the party the water in the hotel went off and no explation eas given or timescale on when it would be avaiable, brown water was running out for twenty minutes and hardly any pressure so have a shower was a no no or even washing face in basin. luckily the water came back on with ten minutes to spare but no apologies from management.
We had a party of 8 and when arriving at the room to be seated they had us down for 6 but luckily they was another party which was a 8 but went down to 6. Thats not our luck its the hotel because we would have made a right big scene if it wasnt sorted there and then.
We sat down to find the bread was stale and some of the food portions were kid size not adult size so we asked on a number of occasions for extra veg and bread.
The so callled live band was a glorified karoke foursome with costumes and singing to backing cd and this spoilt the experience because we had been before in the past couple of years and the LIVE bands were actually playing instruments and made the atmosphere alot better.
The disco afterwards was a bit cheesy and didnt last long.
The whole experience was disappointing and you can tell the management are/were cutting corners to save money.
When checking out there were a number of discruntled customers trying to complain to management but the young receptionist said there was no one available (what a surprise)

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms arent worth the money all you get are robes and extra towels and an upgraded tea coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordie75_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were assigned this hotel as a mystery booking when planning a trip to Bristol. This hotel is not in Bristol, it is in Somerset, near Weston-Super-Mare. Further to this, the water in the bathroom was intermittent during our stay. We were not notified when the water issue was resolved, even though we had reported the issue. There is only one lift for a large hotel, and it was very busy at all times. Several times we, or other guests, were unable to get in the lift due to overcrowding. The rest of our stay was nondescript. The room itself was nice, and the hotel staff were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congresbury
5.1 mi away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
6.9 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
8.9 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
10.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Address: Cadbury House Frost Hill, Congresbury BS49 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Congresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton – Cadbury House, the South West’s newest four Star 132 Bedroom contemporary boutique Hotel & Spa. Cadbury House is a stunning venue set within rolling English countryside, making it the ideal backdrop for your Wedding, Private Party, Business Event, Spa Break or Dining Experience. Cadbury House is in a convenient location and is only minutes away, from the M5 motorway, Bristol airport and Bristol City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House Hotel Congresbury
Cadbury Hotel Health

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing