We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell short of expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Nether Stowey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fell short of expectations”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Room had fag ash all over the windowsill and a rotting cookie bag in the safe. Restaurant food was way below the standard Marco Pierre White would have accepted had he been there. It was just OK. I don't think he would accept OK. There was a power cut which was beyond the hotel's control but it mucked our morning around - which is why I never got to comment on the room cleanliness, because we were in a hurry to leave. I thought the note about the power cut under the door was a cop-out - and the power cut wasn't even mentioned when we left. It should have been because it meant we had to have a cold shower in a pitch black bathroom (no windows) - and a late breakfast. My final gripe is the layout. The lift and signage is very odd. We struggled to find our way around and once ended up with the lift depositing us outside, round the back into a cloud of cigarette smoke. On the plus side (!) some of the staff were lovely, including the receptionist when we arrived and the older lady waitressing in the restaurant in the evening. The beds were comfy and the cookies are a nice touch. The power cut was not the hotel's fault but it was handled badly and it was annoying that the note under the door felt the need to point out there would be no compensation. Very cheap. It wouldn't take much to make it a really premium experience but our experience was poor-to-average and I wouldn't stay there again unfortunately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    744
    438
    215
    129
See reviews for
492
1,014
73
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I thought for the price it was on the top side for this hotel. The staff were nice and the room very clean. I would of thought though for the price we would of had a mini bar in the room. The only drinks were tea or coffee and would of been a nice touch to of had cold drinks of some sort without having to use tap water. We did not use the restaurant due to being at a wedding in the hotel so could not comment on that side of things.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 505sharonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GordonMS
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have stayed at this DoubleTree several times. Overall it is a very nice hotel and the staff are generally pretty good. However, be warned that most weekends they have functions on. I realise that functions are very lucrative for hotels, but the Management team at this hotel doesn't seem to show any interest in ensuring regular hotel guests get a peaceful experience.

At the end of every corridor there are doors that bang loudly (twice for some reason!) whenever anyone goes through. So if you get a room near the end of corridor you can expect to be kept awake into the early hours as other guests go to and from their rooms and early in the morning when the first people start going to breakfast. The bedroom doors also don't seem to have much soundproofing either (you can hear every word of conversations in the corridor). I had mentioned the problem with the doors on previous visits, but nothing has been done about it. Despite the fact my Hilton profile clearly states that I prefer rooms away from the elevators they allocated me a room next to the elevators and right next to one of these banging doors!

Very late at night there was a group of people having a loud argument at the front of the hotel. Not sure if they were coming out of the restaurant or the function. I realise the hotel cannot be held responsible for every guest's action, but this happened within feet of both the bar and reception. I would have expected the Duty Manager or other staff to step in deal with such a problem swiftly, yet it was allowed to go on for some time. Our windows were firmly closed and we had earplugs in, so that tells you something about the soundproofing and level of noise.

I did provide feedback on all these issues to reception. They said it would be passed on. As a regular guest with both Hilton group and this specific hotel I thought I might receive a follow-up from the Hotel Manager, just by way of an apology if nothing else. But no. Nothing. I really don't think they are bothered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

stayed for one night prior to an interview being held here, lovely room, had room service for evening meal and breakfast, very prompt and wonderful service, lovely food, very clean rooms, helpful staff, lovely grounds, nothing bad to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devongirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked a night at this hotel as a valentines present and it was as great as our first visit.the reception staff who checked us in we're extremely efficient and polite and it was very quick.our room was spotlessly clean and bright.we had a lovely afternoon swimming in the health club with our daughter and a very restful nights sleep.had a great breakfast before we checked out.would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andybCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here whilst looking for a house in Bristol. It was very comfortable and as we booked it through Last Minute it was a very reasonable price. We took full advantage of the leisure facilities which were excellent. Both the hotel resturant and the Marco Pierre were fully booked, but we ate at the leisure centre and the food was brilliant and very reasonable, the service was also very good.

The only problem I had was that I got lost, there are 2 lifts and they don't both stop on all the floors, so make sure you take notice how to get to and from your room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank posie_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cologne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Good, modern rooms at the top end of Doubletree standard (understanding that UK hotel rooms generally seem to be a little on the small side). Breakfast also as one would expect... good 3*/4* buffet (but do not expect fresh orange juice or gourmet sausages!).

Try to avoid rooms near the lifts / fire doors (which are unfortunately the largest rooms), as you can expect to be disturbed by the poorly-adjusted fire doors slamming closed throughout the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congresbury
4.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol Airport
6.9 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
5.1 mi away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
455 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
10.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Address: Cadbury House Frost Hill, Congresbury BS49 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Congresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton – Cadbury House, the South West’s newest four Star 132 Bedroom contemporary boutique Hotel & Spa. Cadbury House is a stunning venue set within rolling English countryside, making it the ideal backdrop for your Wedding, Private Party, Business Event, Spa Break or Dining Experience. Cadbury House is in a convenient location and is only minutes away, from the M5 motorway, Bristol airport and Bristol City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House Hotel Congresbury
Cadbury Hotel Health

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing