We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marco Pierre White cannot put his name to this, surely..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Marco Pierre White cannot put his name to this, surely..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice, great rooms and lovely location. But low quality pub food served very slowly (waited 40 mins between starter and main) lets it down. If this really is MPW quality, I would not visit his restaurant. A meal for two cost £94.00 with a couple of drinks and when served it appeared pre-prepared and microwaved.

Breakfast next morning was ok, but £25 for one slice of bacon, one egg, hash browns and a pot of tea is rather excessive.

Upon check out, there was even an extra £25 on the bill that could not be accounted for which was reluctantly taken off as they could not find a signed receipt.. not surprising really as there had been no such room service.

We were staying on business and usually book smaller, more caring hotels, decided this time to "treat" the staff and visit a hotel with a good name to the dining room. A big mistake that we will not repeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    722
    426
    210
    121
See reviews for
474
982
71
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worcester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My partner and I stopped here for what was supposed to be a wonderfully fantastic first anniversary!

To our upset, this hotel did NOT live up to the Hilton brand. Its noisy, dirty, staff are rude, meals are overpriced and glorified pub grub and dont even get me startedon the bedrooms!

Dirty bedrooms. Dark and dingy. Mouldy in the bathrooms. TV didnt work. Bugs in the bed. And to top it off, after complaining four times, not one single person asked how our stay was or returned our calls to speak to duty manager.

One final thing, dont ring for room service. No one ever picks up the phone, we ended up having to do the half mile trek to reception to order our food!!!!

Additionally, if you have any disabled persons in your party of those which find it hard to walk, this hotel is ot for you. Lots of stairs and long windy corridors make even the fittest of people completely worn out!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worcestermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Good place to stay. Reception was good. Evening meal was excellent. Breakfast was good and staff very helpful. Hotel a little out of the way but Ok. Only negative was the furniture was stained in my room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our room was very nice; spacious, clean and lovely comfortable bed with great bed linen. Guests are warned when booking that the hotel can be noisy at weekends and we agree it can be noisy when guests are heading to their rooms for bed. We ate in The Lounge; it smelt of smoked fish and seemed dirty. The food wasn't that great either. The jacuzzi was very nice at the side of the pool but we found the whole pool area lacked something. Breakfast was very good; good supply of food and generally good quality. The staff overall are extremely friendly, welcoming and very helpful.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask to be at the end of a corridor then people are not walking/talking past your room at 2-3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaldalandDondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is a little out of the way so other than escaping the hustle and bustle (or for an occasion) there's probably no other reason to stay here. It was perfect for a night away from London for some R&R. We booked through through a secret hotel offer so got a really great offer on our stay but having stayed in Doubletree Hotels before they are generally really good value and have great facilities - this one was no different. The Marco Pierre White Steakhouse was an added bonus. The spa facilities were good but not attached to the hotel - they're part of a health club next door.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillie_g80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Arrived yesterday at the Cadbury House Hotel, received a good welcome from the receptionist who was friendly, gave us our cookie and checked us into a room that would be away from the farmer's ball that was in bat night. Went to our room which was a standard room but for the price was miles above a holiday inn express or premier inn. Went down to the intimate bar for some pre dinner drinks and then went into the restaurant for a great steak, we were not disappointed. I have had better steaks in the USA but it was probably amongst the best I have had in the UK. After a great meal we retired to our room with a nightcap from the bar and settled into bed only to be woken up at 6am by someone hoovering outside of our room. Not the most appreciated wake up call on a Saturday morning. Managed to get back to sleep and then woke up again, showered and went down for breakfast at around 9.30. Restaurant was quiet and breakfast was great.

In summary, great hotel, great restaurant, bad housekeeping decisions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWarmley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed twice at the hotel with family and friends before flying out of Bristol. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. Love the cookie on arrival, beware of the calories but who cares your on holiday. Marco Pierre white streak house is good value for a great steak. Well equipped gym and spa available as well. Wouldn't stay anywhere else if flying out of Bristol it sets your holiday up a day early

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nickelston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congresbury
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
8.9 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
10.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Address: Cadbury House Frost Hill, Congresbury BS49 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Congresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton – Cadbury House, the South West’s newest four Star 132 Bedroom contemporary boutique Hotel & Spa. Cadbury House is a stunning venue set within rolling English countryside, making it the ideal backdrop for your Wedding, Private Party, Business Event, Spa Break or Dining Experience. Cadbury House is in a convenient location and is only minutes away, from the M5 motorway, Bristol airport and Bristol City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House Hotel Congresbury
Cadbury Hotel Health

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing