We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Bristol Airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good for Bristol Airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

A stunning location with great views and only about ten minutes from Bristol Airport (which is itself a long way out of Bristol city centre). Good service at reception - the cookie was a nice touch - and an attractive room (when I eventually found it - the layout is very confusing), though the decor is rather dark. Good bathroom with the large, walk-in shower that seems to be a Hilton hallmark. Well equipped, though I really do object to charges for Internet access...
Excellent breakfast, with generally attentive service.
The only drawback was that my room (ground floor at the back) had very poor mobile reception, people had to call me on the hotel phone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have poor/non-existent O2 mobile reception (and no views!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    714
    422
    207
    118
See reviews for
460
968
71
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely long weekend break here, and were able to visit our daughter in Bristol, bringer her down for a couple of nights. The rooms were excellent and recently decorated in a modern style. The bathroom was especially well appointed and designed. The hot cookies on arrival were a nice touch and all the staff were very polite nd inviting.
We ate in the Marco Pierre White restaurant and were very impressed. Starters and main courses were of a very high standard and we really enjoyed the whole meal. We tended towards fish which was excellent but the steaks also looked great. See my separate review on the restaurant.
Had a great weekend, used the 'Club' leisure and spa. Great place to come and get pampered too.
There were weddings on both nights but I can't say it disturbed us in any way.
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

All round lovely stay. Pierre white restaurant beat Jamie oliver fifteen hands down. my boyfriends t bone steak was huge. really generous portions for a posh restaurant- not fancy and small meals like Jamie's! Only criticism was that breakfast was a bit manic and cramped on a Sunday morning, when the hotel wasn't full. The restaurant manager was very friendly and he even said high at breakfast. The breakfast was tasty none the less. Why don't they use an overflow room as there seemed to be enough of them. Pool and gym was brilliant and modern. Room lovely apart from no soap. Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happydudders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

At a wedding. Service and food awful. General unfriendliness and rudeness of staff. Such a shame as beautiful location and venue is lovely. Think it's a management issue as all the staff seem really miserable and un-motivated . Really not interested in customer satisfaction. Wouldn't even provide allocated wine or some ice cream ( instead of custard) food very much like school dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Not4bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments,

I have emailed you personally asking which wedding this refers to and would appreciate you letting me know in order to investigate fully as to date we have not had any adverse comments relating to any recent or indeed weddings in general

We are very surprised and disappointed to read your comments,but they are taken fully on board and once you let us know which date the wedding comments refer to then we will be able to follow up fully

We are very proud of our wedding reputation and are very fortunate to host in excess of 100 weddings per year and receive feedback from the vast majority of our newly weds after thier special day and of the two recent weddings, we served the dessert mentioned and both couples were delighted with thier day and the standard of food and service received. The staff are much are part of the dedicated wedding team some of them with excess of 10 years service are generally well complimented, however your comments relating will also be followed up

Our wedding testimonials help reflect this area of our business and we are very passionate about satisfying every Bride & Groom, thier families and guests and many have posted testimonials on the site below
http://www.cadburyhotelbristol.co.uk/wedding-testimonials

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your response advising which wedding you attended

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked a junior suite on an advance rate as we were going to the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse for dinner. Check-in was smooth and quite friendly and we were given 2 cookies in a bag (contrast to the States where there would probably be a large jar of cookies just left on reception for you to help yourself too! It just felt a little contrived to be handed 2 cookies....)

Our room was on the 5th floor at the front of the hotel. It was quite chic but decorated with lots of grey and black. Fine when arriving at dusk and it looked nice with all the subdued lighting but I am not sure if it would be the same on a sunny day in the height of summer. For a suite, I did not think it was that big but there was plenty of room to move around and a comfy sofa to relax on.

We asked for an ice-bucket to chill some wine and some glasses and these arrived almost as soon as we had put the phone down to house-keeping.

It was incredibly difficult to get the toilet to flush and one of the wall lights by the bed would not work. Small issues which we mentioned on check-out.

They had a public firework display at 6pm on the evening we were there - this was in front of the hotel and we had an excellent view from our window so a lovely bonus for our stay!

We slept well - the bed was comfy. The bathroom is part of the room - the bath and sink were in one corner and are separated from the rest of the room by the shower which is a large glass enclosure - no privacy whatsoever! You could watch tv whilst you were in the shower. The toilet is separate but it felt like it was tucked in a small cupboard.

The window in the room was not that big at all - a shame as we had lovely views right across to Wales. There were huge curtains covering maybe 2/3rds of the front wall but when you pulled them back, just a small square window.

Breakfast was fine - lots of selection but the breakfast room was packed and very busy. Hardly enough room between the tables which was awkward as you have to get up to get everything, even tea and coffee, so are constantly up and down and moving around the room. This was on a Sunday morning and we got the impression that there was lots of wedding guests that had stayed over from the night before.

I would go back as long as I got a decent rate for the room. I will write a separate review for the MPW Steakhouse.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenO89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Being very picky, and reading previous reviews, I just couldn't find any thing bad about this hotel. Admittedly I turned up as a tired Mummy to a toddler but all was excellent. We were given the last room at the end of the corridoor at the very back looking out onto the trees and undergrowth, but very quiet. Yes, the layout is utterley baffling and thankfully I found myself just following Master 20 months as he had it figured out. Thoroughly enjoyed both dinners in the restaurant, compared to DH who thought the food was mediocre and sent back a steak. Choose a special of the day and slow cooked I would say! The swimming pool was good also. Of course there were sharp edges on furniture and the sides of the fabulous sofa bed Master 20 months slept on had to be padded with towels, the hotel staff were very nice and friendly to him. This is typically a business conference hotel or older couples away break hotel and you would need a car, it was surprisingly good and great value. I would definately go back.

Room Tip: Back for quiet, front for lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. The grounds are lovely and peaceful, the staff are helpful and polite. The rooms are great, very clean and classy.
The food is quite expensive but going here you should expect that.
There is a spa and hair dressers on site. There is also a bar which is quite nice, it also shows sports in there.
Very pleasant stay and would return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congresbury
8.7 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel
10.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
5.8 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Address: Cadbury House Frost Hill, Congresbury BS49 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Congresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton – Cadbury House, the South West’s newest four Star 132 Bedroom contemporary boutique Hotel & Spa. Cadbury House is a stunning venue set within rolling English countryside, making it the ideal backdrop for your Wedding, Private Party, Business Event, Spa Break or Dining Experience. Cadbury House is in a convenient location and is only minutes away, from the M5 motorway, Bristol airport and Bristol City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House Hotel Congresbury
Cadbury Hotel Health

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing