We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to visit!”

The North Somerset Butterfly House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located 9 miles from Weston super Mare and 12 miles from Bristol, The North Somerset Butterfly House is a secret paradise in the heart of the westcountry. Immerse yourself in a tropical jungle filled with exotic plants and stunning tropical butterflies. During your visit, look out for Pete, Steve Backshalls "Bug Man" from his hit show "Live 'n' Deadly", he is always willing to share with you the hidden wonders of the Butterfly House.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I visited the butterfly house with my 11year old daughter, it was a hot day and I had thought in may be too hot to spend long in the house, however it was pleasantly warm and we spent close to an hour walking about, watching the beautiful tropical butterflies and finding the different catterpillers living on the plants. The plants and flowers where lovely, and smelt great too. It was nice just sitting on a bench and soaking in the atmosphere while my daughter continued looking for catterpillers and crysalis. We will definitely come again!

1  Thank Jess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolNell, Public Relations Manager at The North Somerset Butterfly House, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

We are glad that you found so much to see and enjoy in the butterfly house. If you do get too hot you can always cool off in Heather's Coffee Shop (next door) and come back later. We will look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beautiful butterflies"
in 28 reviews
"the owner"
in 40 reviews
"stick insects"
in 16 reviews
"next door"
in 23 reviews
"little gem"
in 11 reviews
"lovely place"
in 17 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 13 reviews
"butterflies flying"
in 6 reviews
"north somerset"
in 16 reviews
"my daughter"
in 15 reviews
"cool off"
in 4 reviews
"year old grand daughter"
in 3 reviews
"information sheet"
in 3 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 4 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 3 reviews
"excellent value for money"
in 4 reviews
"cadbury garden centre"
in 9 reviews
Filter

267 - 271 of 276 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

An expensive , overpriced attraction. It takes very little time to walk around with a 5 year old ,even if you walk around 10 times or more and spy the caterpillars and pupae etc. For the prices charged I expected to be absorbed by the attraction for at least an hour.... being offered repeat entry during the day does not compensate for lack of content, It has been allowed to get muddy underfoot and shabby from our visit last year. I would not recommend anyone to go after todays visit

1  Thank izziejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

We are extremely sorry that you were disappointed with your recent visit. Unfortunately the heavy rain in the last few days has run underground from Cadbury Hill and sprung up inside the butterfly house. In spite of a deep drainage trench outside the house it has caused flooding within the house and hence the muddy paths. We have spent much of our time trying to sort out these issues when we would normally be doing routine maintenance. However, the butterflies are still flying well and we have 14 species breeding in the house, so we did not deem it necessary to close the house. We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for your disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I took my two older grandchildren to see butterflies and more. When we first arrived we couldn't find it because it was hidden behind a garden conservatory centre. In we all went and what a lovely surprise. We were greeted by a very knowledgeable friendly man at the ticket desk. We went on it and were very quickly mesmerised by the beautiful butterflies floating past. The butterflies were kept in a huge greenhouse filled with lovely tropical plants and flowers. There were numerous paths which led around to different areas and they all met back up again, so you always had a different direction in which to explore. There we met the owner who was very knowledgeable and gave us lots of interesting information about the butterflies, moths and vegetation. We spent a little over 40mins in there, but if I had had more time I could quite easily has spent the whole afternoon. Thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely go again.

1  Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thanks for letting us know how much you and your grandchildren enjoyed the butterflies! Next time you visit, don't forget that you can re-enter the house as many times as you like throughout the day, so you can stop off in Heather's Coffee Shop for refreshments and start all over again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Hidden behind a selection of garden centre conservatories lies this little oasis. It's one large building with a path inside which you follow around and about between walls of exotic tropical plants and around and over a large pond with a bridge where swim enormous terrapins. Flittering about throughout are many large and multi-coloured butterflies, some like large handkerchiefs being yanked around on fishing wire. The effect is quite magical and somewhat surreal and once you've spotted all the butterflies, look out for the equally attractive caterpillars as well. There is a small shop attached selling all manner of butterfly paraphernalia and a few steps away a well-stocked and reasonably priced cafe. There are a couple of benches inside the butterfly building to sit and enjoy the spectacle, it might have been nice if there were a few more, but that would probably need a bigger building.

3  Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolNell, Public Relations Manager at The North Somerset Butterfly House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our butterflies and caterpillars. We are always looking for ways to improve the butterfly house and when we reorganise the house next winter we will bear your comment about seating in mind. As you say, it is a nice warm place to hide from the rain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have been to butterflies and more twice this year. We went on the first day it was open; it was quiet, just us and a couple of others there. We were told that we might not see all the different butterflies as it was so early in the season. We were delighted to see loads of butterflies; it was lovely to see them up close. We were given an identification and my daughter loved matching the sheet to the ones we saw.
We went again yesterday as there was a giant bug show on and half price entry. My daughter only saw part of the bug show; as she is only 2 1/2 she was a bit overwhelmed with it and there wasn't space for the adults to sit with littel ones; the older children seemed to be having a great time.
Again the butterfly house was a delight. There were even more types of butterflies this time, and we also spotted different catterpillars. The Atlas moths were amazing. We were able to hold newly hatched butterflies and the keeper in charge of this was very friendly and knowledgeable. In fact, there were a number of members of staff around and they were all helpful and pointed out things to see.
We visited the cafe - lovely cream tea and resonably priced. The gift shop is good with lots of themed items to take away, many reaasonably priced as a treat. On our first visit we bought a copy of the identification sheet (only 20p) so we could show family what we saw. This time I gt my daughter some stickers, again a reasonable price.
I could barely drag my daughter away; it was only the fact that they were closing so the butterflies could "go to sleep" that convinced her to leave!
Speaking to the staff it seems that this attraction is struggling to keep afloat. I urge you to visit; it would be a real shame to lose them.

2  Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolNell, Public Relations Manager at The North Somerset Butterfly House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review! It's good to know that your daughter had so much fun with our identification sheet! It was a pity that the weather forced the bug show indoors - it is a much more relaxed event when we can hold it outside. Yes, like many other small businesses, we are struggling to keep our heads above water so your support and kind words are much appreciated. We hope to see you again later in the year - do keep an eye out for special offers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The North Somerset Butterfly House also viewed

 
Brean, Burnham-On-Sea
Hewish, Weston super Mare
 

Been to The North Somerset Butterfly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing