We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mezze's The Ship and Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Congresbury B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Superb Food......”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We visited this restaurant on our way to Cadbury and well, it was absolutely delicious. I ordered the Monkfish and king prawn dish and it was to die for. We also ordered sandwiches and wraps and the fillings were not only tasty, but very generous. We would definately recommend this little cracker of an eating house......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurassica22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    68
    36
    35
    26
See reviews for
54
99
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot,South Wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great find by me and the wife while staying at Hiltons down the road.The staff are great and the place is cosy and clean.Plenty of food choice and reasonable prices.Will most definately visit again when staying down this area as we could not fault the food or service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

first time at Ship and castle since it became Mezze. Very good food and vast choice of mezze/tapas.Four of us ordered 4 dishes each all very good. Service very friendly but not over the top. Not tried the main menu but will next time as it looked very interesting. Good pint of Old Speckled Hen and wine list not to expensive

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CD-and-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed for one night en route to Bristol Airport. What a lovely suprise, our room was fab and matched my love of darker decor and I had the most brilliant nights sleep. The en suite was spacious and well equipped Although they were busy the staff found us a table for our evening meal which was just delicious. I had the £12 Mezze and my husband the Monkfish. It was the best food we had all weekend even though we spent the following night in Geneva. Breakfast was also of really good quality. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayfly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We selected from the a la carte menu. There are set prices for each course and the was a good choice of options. I had a Bouilabaise, it was lovely. My fellow diners both had the Kleftico and they said it was tender and tasty. We had desserts and they were sooo good. Service was very good and not intrusive. Layout is great and even though it was busy it didn't feel like it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manda1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had read great reviews about the Mezze chain and suggested to a group of friends that we have lunch here on Sunday. Unfortunately it turned out to be possibly the worst dining experience I have had. Our party of 6 adults and 5 children choose a variety of different meals from the extensive menu. We had starters and mains. The children's food came out quickly and there was no problem with their sausages,chips. But when the adult food arrived it was disappointing to say the least. Most of our food remained untouched and despite lots of staff miling around no-one came to check on our table after the food had arrived. The philosophy here seems to be one of quantity over quality. The mezze was particularly poor - big bowls of sauce-drenched mezze with absolutely no delicacy to the dishes at all. The fried food was like something you'd find at an airport buffet, with chewy, dry meat. To compound this the staff seemed completely disinterested and cleared our uneaten plates away without anyone enquiring as to if there was a problem. I asked to speak to a manger and this is when the whole experience got worse. I was expecting the manger to at least to listen to our concerns but his reaction was at best dis-interested and at worst hostile. I said that most of our food was uneaten and he simply said 'well, I'll go speak to the chef' as if that made things OK. I explained that I didn't want to pay for food we'd been unable to eat. The manager seemed to think my agenda had been to come in and ask for money off rather than the reality which is that what should had been a lovely lunch with friends had been ruined. The manager took the bill away and returned it without a word. He had removed 2 courses and when I queried this he said 'I've taken £28 off the bill, I'm not taking off any more'. When I tried to explain what was wrong, he didn't even listen to what I was saying, but simply took the bill away and returned it to the table, again without saying anything. I realise that things can go wrong in restaurants, but the manager seemed to have absolutely no training in how to deal with customer complaints. I left not just disappointed with the poor food but angry at the way I had been treated. What a shameful way to treat customers. In conclusion I would never, ever return to this or any other of it's branches.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a quick lunch before flying from bristol airport. Haven't been here for years and years , since it was a traditional pub. The interior is modern and stylish , in some areas a bit dark but our waitress suggested a table in a lighter area, we were early for a Saturday lunchtime but customers soon started to flood in . We went for the £12 mezzo, which afforded lots of choice , the liver dish was amazing and very good. I think this is something you need to try a couple of times and then you will find your favourites , but all of the selected dishes were good in their own way. There were a selection of main dishes if you didn't want the mezze. Drinks were a good price and the selection of wines were spot on for my taste . Service was friendly and the young waiter was great. I would definitely go back , something different and very social for a lingering lunch.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KLBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congresbury
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
5.7 mi away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
5.7 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Redhill House
Redhill House
#1 of 2 in Redhill
309 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mendip Spring Golf & Country Club
2.5 mi away
The Bridge Inn
The Bridge Inn
#2 of 2 in Yatton
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezze's The Ship and Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezze's The Ship and Castle

Property: Mezze's The Ship and Castle
Address: Ship & Castle High Street, Congresbury BS49 5JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Congresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Congresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mezze's The Ship and Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each restaurant serves a wide and interesting selection of Mezzés (tapas) for informal dining along with a well-balanced A La Carte menu, which has a scattering of old favourites. For pudding we have a range of delicious treats to tantalize your taste buds and even an ice-cream parlour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mezze's The Ship and Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing