We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mezze's The Ship and Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Congresbury B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely place to lunch”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My Fiancé had already visited here and had raved about the food & service,so we gave it ago!Have to say the decorators were in residence but that didn't stop the most pleasant & friendly staff members who apologised for the inconvenience showing us to our table & getting our drinks really quickly bearing in mind it was quite busy for a lunchtime.Food was ordered (mezzi) & I think as a veggie dish it was brilliant.6 dishes all piping hot,all together,so lovely,we're booking for New Years Eve....ps really should fix the locks on the ladies loos..2 visits still busted!!..Apart from that we'll worth a visit!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghillie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    68
    36
    35
    26
See reviews for
54
99
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We lived in Congresbury for many years and, having business nearby, decided to stay here for two nights. We enjoyed the restaurant after it's last renovation and were unaware it had changed to a 'mezze' chain establishment.
The room itself was fine, though the bed and pillows were hard. It was nice to have a cafetiere provided, but only one sachet of coffee and two unwrapped teabags, sitting on a shelf, which didn't strike me as very hygenic or aesthetic.

The bathroom was nicely done, but the grout in the shower was extremely stained and grubby and, with a ceramic floor and only a tiny towel rail for heat, was absolutely freezing.

So much for bed, what about breakfast? Well, we were advised on check in that continental breakfast was included in the rate and we could choose (!) between toast, croissant or cereal and yogurt. If we wanted a cooked breakfast, at extra charge, we had to wait until 9 o'clock. We also had to order the day before for the following morning. All very strange. One morning we had cereal as we had to leave early for a days work, but decided to have the full breakfast on the second day. We arrived downstairs at 9, as iagreed, but the cook had not even arrived at that point. Our breakfast arrived at 9.30 - not a problem as we weren't in a hurry - and was extremely tasty, being freshly cooked and of good quality.

We had dined out with friends one evening and, on arriving back at 10.45, found the place in complete darkness other than the lobby light at the guest entrance. There was no indication anywhere of who to contact if you had any problems during the night, and we did wonder if we were the only people in the building, until we heard loud footsteps overhead an hour or so later! It was rather an unnerving experience to say the least.

The overall feeling we got was that they were running a restaurant and the rooms were a bit of an inconvenience, but they would continue to make money from them as they were already there. We certainly wouldn't stay there again as, for less money, we could get a room with proper hotel facilities and be made to feel more welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was of the best standard for a boutique hotel and, although a little cramped, the decor and attention to detail was clear. The staff were welcoming and polite at all times. However, I was particularly disappointed with the noise from the machine room (I was in room 5 and think this applies to all rooms on that side of the building). The noise came through the single glazed window with a repeating loud and long hum ona 2 second cycle throughout the night. I took some tablets to help me sleep and managed only 2 hours sleep.
Although I did not get a chance to sample the food, I walked through a busy and decent class restaurant and noticed excellent food. Could the owners put some serious sound suppression on their machine room AND double glaze the bedrooms please? What an excellent hotel it would be.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the opposite side of the building to room 5 and INSIST on it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotsa_hotels_per_yr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was taken here by one of my clients. We ordered 9 Mezze dishes, and I have to say it was all really excellent. Ingredients, selection, attention to detail and service were all excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait to experience it again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We ordered the 3 tapas for £12 and everything was delicious, especially the beef in wine and the shark - yes, shark! Nice bottle of Vouvray, reasonable price. Service friendly and they accommodated our large group (10) with no problem. Would book again for a family catch up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Some friends convinced us to give this place a try after they had an enjoyable meal there previously, I have to say that Mezze @ the Ship and Castle was something of a revelation! Having enjoyed the concept of mezzes while on holiday on some Greek islands many years ago I had always ended up disapointed by the offerings found in the Greek resataurants here in the UK. This place is different, the menu is more mediteranean than outright Greek with a nod towards Tappas thrown in, but the food really is great. Well prepared, hot (even Greek island tavernas usually serve tepid food but one learns to accept that in the climate over there!), truly delicious and washed down with Aspalls cider....a real treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetHappycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

To all concerned,
Mezze at the Ship and Castle didn’t open until may 2012 and is gaining amazing feedback and acclaimed reviews across the board, please ignore unfortunate review below by Harriet e not posted until some 6 months after her bad experience with the previous pub (this must have been seriously bothering her to wait this long with still such a vivid recollection of events.
To all new customers, we can’t wait to welcome you to Mezze at the Ship and Castle please see the other Mezze at the Ship and Castle trip adviser page for a picture of how great most of our customer reviews really are.
James Brown,
Director

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodgodBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congresbury
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
5.7 mi away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
5.7 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Redhill House
Redhill House
#1 of 2 in Redhill
309 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mendip Spring Golf & Country Club
2.5 mi away
The Bridge Inn
The Bridge Inn
#2 of 2 in Yatton
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezze's The Ship and Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezze's The Ship and Castle

Property: Mezze's The Ship and Castle
Address: Ship & Castle High Street, Congresbury BS49 5JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Congresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Congresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mezze's The Ship and Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each restaurant serves a wide and interesting selection of Mezzés (tapas) for informal dining along with a well-balanced A La Carte menu, which has a scattering of old favourites. For pudding we have a range of delicious treats to tantalize your taste buds and even an ice-cream parlour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mezze's The Ship and Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing