We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”
Review of Lord Nelson Inn

Lord Nelson Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Love it”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Love this place great food great company and a home from home to lots of locals but what's wrong with that in a local village pub??? great atmosphere! We often eat here and all of our family love the menu. Kids included! Land lord/lady even provide taxi service on the odd occasion it may be necessary!! Cannot believe some of the comments posted previously -must have been elsewhere!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lewilsonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    19
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Appalling management”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Most awful humiliating experience in any pub we have ever been to. Landlady's exact words when approached politely with an issue were "I cannot be ar*sed with this". Landlord rude not interested in customer service, despite the fact we had as a group spent a significant amount of money. Never again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Sabrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not what it could be”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We went out last night to eat here, sat down at a table and ordered our food only to be told the table was reserved (although there was no sign on it) and moved to another table. The table next to us (who had also ordered) was also moved. I chose the warm chicken and bacon salad which, when it arrived, turned out to be a stir fry on leaves with loads of stir fry sauce. Not impressed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
733 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Such a menu, could have eaten anything”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Several times a year we go out with friends because we don't want to cook. Fancied somewhere new not too far from Yeovil. Long time since we had been here. Where do I start. An extensive tapas menu. I just couldn't choose. Sent the charming lady waitress away once just because I wanted everything. Everyone was happy with their meals. Huge portions. I won't suggest anything because we all were delighted with our choices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great village pub with friendly staff and excellent food albeit not the cheapest, but the quality is there. Some of the best fish & chips I've ever had. There is a specials menu as well as the standard one and although not much vegetarian choice they did say they would happily cook other dishes eg risotto/pasta if preferred to what was listed. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaJSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord Nelson Inn also viewed

Chiselborough, Somerset
Stoke sub Hamdon, Somerset
 
South Petherton, Somerset
 

Been to Lord Nelson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing