We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bagnell Country Cottage(Norton Sub Hamdon)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Norton Mill(Norton Sub Hamdon)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
20
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
2
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 23 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Second time I have stayed at "Hopes" and in the same large room. Breakfast on offer is varied and of a good standard in a relaxing atmosphere. Had a dip in the heated pool which was just right and I expect must be brilliant if you are there in the high summer. Anne is always helpful if you need any help or advice. My son has used the “Swallows Rest” and rated it highly on his visit. One comment is that if you are in the breakfast room you can easily hear anyone walking around the room above and you can also be heard by them, I expect it is because the room has wooden floors so no carpet to deaden the sounds and it makes it a little cooler. Good location to be able to visit the many attractions in the beautiful part of England. Would be a good idea to have a room book advertising the local attractions and food establishments in the area. I know the area but I am sure it would help others and add to the overall level of service.

Room Tip: Ask for the carpeted double.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stooders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights earlier this week and Sam & Anne the owners couldn't have been more friendly, relaxed & hospitable. The rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed, comfortable with lots of exquisite finishing touches. Breakfasts were generous with a choice of continental or full english. The location is ideal for this part of the West country. This was part of a short-break stay in Somerset and made the perfect base for our green activities. Cannot recommend highly enough, very high standard.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and quiet so the choice is yours!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for three nights (and days) during the early part of the most miserable July for decades (2012). This B and B was a haven of tranquillity, friendliness and quality. The room was very comfortable and spotless and so was the rest of the house and large garden. Besides, the village is absolutely out of this world and the pub (within walking distance) good and reasonably priced.
If you love gardens there are plenty to visit from stately Montacute to pretty and exquisite Lytes Cary. Owners are very helpful and knowledgable. Plenty of books and reading if you just want to relax in the beautiful and secluded garden in the middle of this golden stone village before or after a great breakfast..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was our third visit to this lovely B&B. As usual our stay was faultless, relaxed, friendly and marvellous breakfasts. All in all extremely good value. The pretty garden, swimming pool and situation are a bonus. "Isaidno" must like to complain - take no notice, you won't find a better B&B in the area.
Peter and Mags

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed in the self-catering cottage for an idyllic three nights in July 2012. The accommodation is generous and of a very high quality, with fantastic attention to the details that really make a place special. The view from the verandah over the garden is charming, as are the hosts, Anne & Sam, with whom I shared a glass of two of wine one very pleasant evening. The pool was perfect, warm without being too hot, and is open all hours. The village and surrounding countryside are lovely, and this is the perfect place for a holiday, whether you are on you own, or with your family, and you can choose to relax or go out and about. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: They are all lovely, you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews