We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bagnell Country Cottage
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Eileen for looking after us so beautifully. Nothing was too much trouble... Comfortable, homely, clean, tucked away off the beaten track... Please don't tell other people about Bagnell cottage so we can keep it all to ourselves!!!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Bluegarland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Bagnell Country Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were greeted by the lovely owner Eileen who showed us to our rooms. Both extremely clean, bright with huge beds. The cottage is set in beautiful countryside at the end of a well maintained track that goes past a couple of other posh residences... Then you reach the cottage and its magical. You have your own front door and sitting room where Eileen serves you breakfast. I recommend the wonderful scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, mushroom and tomatoes. Delicious. We are both animal lovers and Eileen has a small collection of dogs and cats that we made a fuss of.. however for those who do not like animals for whatever reason, the cats and dogs live in Eileens part of the house and don't venture into the guests area..
We loved it so much that we have already booked another 2 nights in august.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busababe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Travelling with my partner and our 7 month old son we arrived to Bagnell cottage on a dark and rainy friday evening. Upon arrival we were made to feel very welcome by Eileen (the owner) who showed us to our lovely clean and spacious bedroom and orintated us around the communial area then promptly left us to our evening. We stayed two consecutive nights and slept very well in a large and comfortable bed. We throughly enjoyed our stay and although the cottage does not cater for young children specifically so we had to take our own equiptment we felt very comfortable there and able to relax. A delicious full english breakfast is on offer each morning and cooked freshly to order at a time to suit you. Eileen was friendly, approachable and offered good local knowledge. Highly recommended

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank EmilyJane81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

On arrival we were made very welcome. Room was large with very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent.
The setting was remote but very autumnal. The directions on the website were easy to follow and the views in the morning as we left were stunning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jemay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Unfortunately we arrived late on an awful Saturday evening. It was very dark and wet, and the Sat Nav didn't quite get us there! We then used the directions provided, and we found the location. Not easy to pick out the landmarks though when it's pitch black and pouring heavily with rain!

On arrival we were made very welcome which made our horrid trip worthwhile.

Unfortunately we didn't have time to explore and eat at the local pub that evening, but as we had a meal earlier that day, we ate our snacks we bought earlier instead, opened a bottle of wine and sat in the comfortable lounge provided for guests. Lovely! What a beautiful room.

In the morning we had a delicious breakfast which was nicely prepared and cooked. This was sufficient to last us the rest of the day.

Although we only stayed one night, the whole experience was truly delightful, and Eileen certainly catered for our needs throughout.

We are considering staying here longer next year - and hopefully will have a better day to travel with a chance to enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

I recommend staying here. It's so peaceful and quiet - a glorious retreat with a lovely bedroom.

Only one very minor thing - if you wish to use WiFi, the only area to obtain a signal was by the dining table located in the guest lounge - and that was quite adequate, but the signal was not strong enough to use fully in the lounge or into the adjacent bedroom. G3 - forget it, although mobile reception was okay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Hungry-Thirsty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The website doesn't do it justice, it's set almost in a wooded garden so you almost feel like you're in a forest or jungle with a vast array of trees and beyond that open countryside. Beautiful and lots of other stunning properties nearby to gawk at en-route. Follow the directions given and use the different postcode provided for sat-nav and both will get you there easily - don't use your instincts because you'll never find it ! Room was comfy, heated, superb power shower, tasty cooked breakfast with extra yoghurt, cereals and fruit if you want it. Room well equipped - lots of little extras to make your stay more comfy: bottle opener, wine glasses, a flannel, good range of drink choices and hot chocolate (no peppermint tea so bring your own) and fresh milk downstairs if you want it. A quiet retreat with lovely 30 min walks to the nearby pretty village pub - tasty and better than expected quality. A torch is provided because it is pitch black outside (great for star-gazing), but I recommend you bring your own too just to be sure. WiFi works well in the residents' lounge, little-to-no phone signal in this area. Close to lots of National Trust properties and similar places to visit. You'll like it here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busyquizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were running late arriving and it was dark. Fortunately, the instructions were excellent and we found it OK. A mile down a slightly bumpy farm track the cottage sits above a small stream. We stayed two nights and it was difficult to fault - a large comfortable room, airy clean bathroom and a large residents lounge. Cottage is, perhaps, a misnomer as it is a good size house.
Breakfast good and a friendly landlady.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton Sub Hamdon
1.9 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
376 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
253 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
The Preston Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
The Kings Arms Inn
The Kings Arms Inn
#1 of 5 in Montacute
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagnell Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagnell Country Cottage

Address: | Little Norton, Norton Sub Hamdon TA14 6TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Norton Sub Hamdon
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Norton Sub Hamdon
Price Range: $115 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagnell Country Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAGNELL COTTAGE is a non-smoking Bed & Breakfast with a special difference - it is surrounded on all sides by the beautiful Somerset countryside. This stunning, secluded hamstone cottage really is the place to get away from it all, pamper yourself with peace and quiet and fill your lungs with fresh clear country air! Situated near Yeovil, 10 minutes from the A303 on the Somerset / Dorset border, there is plenty to see and do for all ages and tastes, all within easy traveling distance. Set in a secluded valley within a 200 acre private estate with private drive access. Private car park Non-smoking Wifi Quality home cooked breakfast using local produce Striking rural views Bookings are now being taken for Bagnell Cottage's self-catering apartment set within the main grounds. This self-contained, private space sleeps four people and is available for week-long lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bagnell Country Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing