We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bagnell Cottage self catering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bagnell Country Cottage
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed at Bagnell Cottage in the self catering flat for a walking holiday. This cottage is very quiet and peaceful and really well equipped. The shower room is new and the shower is a good, powerful one. The heating is efficient if you need it and Eileen has equipped the kitchen with lots of extras. The beds were comfortable and the linen attractive. The sofas were plentiful and comfy. We had a lovely time and would recommend this cottage.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

You won't be disappointed. We could only stay one night but it was unforgettable. Tranquil setting, the warmest welcome from Eileen and Bridget and especially their pets - they were so well behaved. The bed was so comfortable and everything was spotless. Plenty of space. Great breakfast. A real treat. We'll definitely be back. Enjoyed Eileen's recommendation for dinner too - The Cat's Head Inn. Eileen also recommended the view from Ham Hill which was stunning. A very hardworking and friendly lady and a rare treat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

What a wonderful place, idyllic is the only way to express this place, so peaceful when walking in the lovely garden. Very comfy large bed with quality clean bedding, great breakfast, eggs from Eileen's own chickens. I admire Eileen the way she keeps her beautiful home so lovely, what a lovely lady. Eileen showed us the cottage you can rent, perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline10-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We had a very warm welcome from Eileen and nothing was too much trouble. We also found it very useful that she could point us in the direction of various points of interest in the area, which we took advantage of. This is the place if you want to relax and get away from it all, can't get a mobile signal!

Room Tip: We had a spacious ground floor room with large en-suite and a roon upstairs with marvellous views, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_s_lockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

This was our second visit to Bagnell Cottage. The countryside is beautiful and the nearby pub is very good. We were delighted with our stay and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edith2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Eileen works very hard to make this your perfect Bed & Breakfast if you like a retreat well away from the main roads, it is beautifully set in the greenery of the Somerset Countryside.
we were made to feel very welcome at Bagnell Cottage, its cosy very clean great breakfasts, free range eggs from their own hens, cant wait to go back for some more.
One thing to be noted, do not rely on google maps to pin point its position I did and its about a mile off even though is flagged on google.
if you follow the instructions on Bagnell cottage web site you wont go wrong.
WHAT A DELIGHT THIS B&B IS
Steve & Deborah Hertfordshire

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Biggs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Just outside Little Norton, a right-hand turning at Tinker's Bubble (spring) leads to a pretty farm road which runs along a peaceful valley and culminates in the willow-shaded car park at Bagnell Cottage. Surrounded picturesquely by hillsides and set in a pretty garden, the farmhouse and its very attractive self-catering annex is reached across a footbridge.
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here recently. The newly-created annex has a fully-equipped kitchen, spacious bathroom, a stunning bedroom and a comfy living-room which leads to a pretty conservatory overlooking the garden with its pleasant paved seating area.
Walkers will be spoiled for choice. Several paths lead directly from the badger-haunted grounds, and via a scenic climb, one path links conveniently with the Liberty Trail (long-distance path) on its way from the massive Iron Age fort at nearby Ham Hill. Ham Hill is just one of many places of interest in the neighbourhood, but for those yearning for a break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, Bagnell Cottage itself is the ideal spot!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bagnell Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagnell Country Cottage

Address: | Little Norton, Norton Sub Hamdon TA14 6TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Norton Sub Hamdon
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Norton Sub Hamdon
Price Range: $116 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagnell Country Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAGNELL COTTAGE is a non-smoking Bed & Breakfast with a special difference - it is surrounded on all sides by the beautiful Somerset countryside. This stunning, secluded hamstone cottage really is the place to get away from it all, pamper yourself with peace and quiet and fill your lungs with fresh clear country air! Situated near Yeovil, 10 minutes from the A303 on the Somerset / Dorset border, there is plenty to see and do for all ages and tastes, all within easy traveling distance. Set in a secluded valley within a 200 acre private estate with private drive access. Private car park Non-smoking Wifi Quality home cooked breakfast using local produce Striking rural views Bookings are now being taken for Bagnell Cottage's self-catering apartment set within the main grounds. This self-contained, private space sleeps four people and is available for week-long lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bagnell Country Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing