We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel but room very dissapointing as no view.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lowfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lowfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Marton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel but room very dissapointing as no view.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hubby and I had a weekend break at the hotel. The setting with lovely countryside was ideal. We were shown our room and I was disappointed as we had no view except of the sky from a skylight! My hubby liked the room as it was spacious, which it was. I felt a little claustrophobic though with no view.
The sheets, as we told the manager, weren't the best either.
That's the moan out of the way! The staff themselves were really nice and helpful. The hotel was in an ideal setting for our break enabling us to visit national trust and nearby towns. The morning breakfasts were superb on both mornings and quite a variety too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window not be put in one with a skylight if, like me, you prefer a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marg58NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
223 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Not easy to find, but when you do it seems somewhat out of place! Outside the small village of Marton sits this newish hotel and restaurant . There are only a few rooms and they are well laid out and spacious. No complaints. The large pub and dining area was almost empty and the supper ordered appeared quickly, nothing special but adequate. Breakfast as a cooked option was only available after 9am, however fresh continental breakfast was available to order (the night before) on the outside landing. In the summer this would be great as there is a verandah to sit outside on. A useful one night stop over.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just finished Christmas shopping. We decided to go lowfield for lunch. We ordered two beef dinner. We were so hungry and was delighted when our dinners came. The dinners looked great on the plates. Until I try to cut the beef. The beef was dry and tough. The middle of my dinner was cold. My roast potatoes was hard. We decided not to complain until we saw the other tables were also sending their dinners back. So we followed. The second dinners came it was not much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Spent one night here on Saturday 1st December with my wife. Our eldest daughter and her husband and two sons had an adjacent room.

We struggled to get the room warm enough so that it wouldn't seem to be cold when getting out of the shower. The room was a good size and clean. The cups for Tea and Coffee could do with being a bit larger though, although there was an ample supply of Tea and Coffee.

We had our evening meal at The Lowfield Inn and it was very good value both in terms of quality and quantity with a large and varied choice. The local brew (Ding Dong) slipped down a treat.,

Breakfast was very good although there was a heck of a cold draft where I was sittng so had to put on an extra jumper.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Have stayed here twice and going back this weekend.. beautiful location... stunning food. The cooked breakfast is simply amazing it rivals top 5* London hotels! Staff very helpful and friendly. The menu at te pub is extensive and everything we had served delicious and hot.
We have stayed in the family room and a double room. Both times were lovely. We also love Shrewbury town which is about 15 miles away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Lowfield Inn for two nights, and used it as a base for a motorbike tour of Wales with a couple of pals.

It proved to be the perfect place to stay. Great value rooms, amazing food and really impressive service. The staff are very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome.

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday and there was a great atmosphere during the evenings. Despite being very busy on Saturday night, the food was superb.

We'll be rebooking for another trip soon. A great place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikethebike100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The selection of dishes on offer will provide something for everyone. This is one of the few places locally, where you can have good food prepared well & all at realistic prices. - with a fabulous selection of wines & apparently real ale as well! Service is good, decor is country & comfortable with a wood burning stove, sofas, fantastic Shropshire countryside from the windows & lots of garden seating for warmer evenings.

Fridays - good local musicians as well. So good we're booking for new years eve. This is my first review on anything ever, purely instigated by our experience p.m. 10/9/12.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restricted n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lowfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lowfield Inn

Property: The Lowfield Inn
Address: Marton SY21 8JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Marton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lowfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lowfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing