We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling”
Review of The Hanmer Arms

The Hanmer Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hanmer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Hanmer Arms is a traditional Countryside 11 bedroom inn serving quality food and drink and located within the beautiful village of Hanmer on the border of England and Wales. Centrally located between Birmingham, Manchester, Liverpool and within half an hour of Chester, Shrewsbury and Wrexham the Hanmer Arms is a great location for a quiet stopover whether travelling for business or into North Wales.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this restaurant on an extremely quiet Sunday afternoon. There was little to none of a welcome, we found our way to the bar where the staff struggled to even acknowledge us. A staff member sat us down eventually and took our drinks order without explaining the protocall of the food or offering menus. The carvery was extremely dry and unsatisfactory, on return to the table our drinks were brought over and spilt over one of our party who graciously helped the waitress to clean it up. Understandably this is an accident but there was no compensation or acknowledgment of an entire drink actually spilt on her and her food. In an attempt to enjoy the meal we then found hairs in the food and an end bill of £75 with nothing taken off. To say we are dissatisfied is an understatement.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Catherine123789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked three rooms at The Hanmer Arms as a base for Tough Mudder at Cholmondeley Castle. The location and concept of the Hanmer Arms was excellent. Reception and greeting was good and food in the restaurant and at breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately the pump for the showers in a couple of our rooms had broken down meaning baths, so acceptable but not ideal. The rooms need some attention to upgrade & beware noisy guests, thin walls. Overall a good experience that in other circumstances could have been excellent.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Centre13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there last night as one of our friends got married in Willington Lodge. As soon as we arrived it was busy with people all enjoying the afternoon sun. It's a beautiful Hotel. Gardens are gorgeous. We sat on out little Veranda in the sun. They had a real ale day on so it was full of people. Good atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent. Local produce from Home Farm lovely. I would definitely stay there again

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Pammy359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019

good food, well cooked and presented rather than fancy, staff friendly, room clean, free car park at rear

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

We travelled a good few miles to eat here and it was so worth it ! They have the best staff, the guy behind the bar and the girl who served us were amazing, just the right sort of people for the job. We all opted for the car very, again the chef here was superb, very generous with the superb meats on offer (5), lovely yorkies (as many as you wish), nice selection of vegetables too and you can go back for seconds, which we found amazing. The desserts were also an absolute treat being good old fashioned puds...perfect ! Cannot wait to go back

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 466nickyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hanmer Arms also viewed

Welshampton, Shropshire
 
Erbistock, Wrexham
Flintshire, North Wales
 
Ellesmere, Shropshire
Coton, Whitchurch
 

Been to The Hanmer Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing