We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake O'Hara Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yoho National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake O'Hara Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stay away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

It is sooooo hard to get in to the Lodge, we want people to stay away so we can go more often. The lodge is fantastic, great staff, great food but the rooms and washrooms are "part of the adventure". The location is second to none. We have hiked all around the globe and we think this is the best location.

Room Tip: Cabins are the best but take any room you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeandHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We visited this lodge some 5 years ago before I ever heard of Tripadvisor, which is why I'm writing now. This lodge and property around the lodge is a must see and experience. We stayed in an individual log cabin along a small lake that was wonderfully rugged. There is a lodge where meals are served and where there are small rooms for those guests who share bathroom facilities - this may sound unappealing, but it was very clean and a germ freak like me would stay there. The food is 4 star, the views while eating breathtaking. As you enter the lodge, all guests are required to remove shoes so bring slippers, which I love! There is a general living room type area with a huge fireplace where people sit around reading the paper or book or socializing. The hiking is awesome as well. I will note that we took a hike one morning into afternoon that was more than we bargained for based on how it was rated for hiking. We were above tree level and on a very narrow path that had me ready to click my heels and say "take me back to KS" except I was too afraid to click my heels. One day we will return to lovely Lake O'Hara!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsabellaMWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

It would be easy to rate this 'excellent' simply because of the setting which is astonishingly beautiful. The lodge clearly gets many return guests; they are all misty-eyed about the place and it's easy to see why.

But... it is VERY expensive.

So, is it worth it?

1. We had a Guide cabin which (if occupied by just two people) means you get a bedroom, separate living room and full bathroom.The bed is small - a queen - not that comfortable and a bit squeaky making us very conscious of every movement - which alltogether didn't make for the best night's sleep.

2. The rate includes full board (only pay for wine, beer etc) and the food is superb. We were really impressed with the quality - at every meal. There is very little choice but that does not matter.

3. The staff, led by Alison and Bruce Millar, were excellent - very friendly, helpful, attentive and knowledgeable.

4. The location is incredible - totally secluded (nearest public road is 11kms away - access to the Lodge is by a fire road in their bio-diesel bus). There is no telephone service, wifi or television - you are effectively cut off. And it's this 'solitude' in a truly beautiful setting that draws people to Lake O'Hara again and again.

5. The hiking is brilliant; challenging but worthwhile. Taking it easier, there is a lovely circuit of the lake or paddle out in a canoe.

We really enjoyed our two nights at Lake O'Hara. Very glad we went there. But don't think we will be joining the ranks of those guests who return year after year.

Room Tip: Gulp and spend the extra on a lakefront or guide cabin. The lodge rooms looked very small and had sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlisonandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Il
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

You may think the cost is too high for a summer camp lodge, until you spend a couple of nights there. You are transported to a pristine Mountain environment , where you can hike In almost too much privacy.. All your needs are provided for, including very special meals or a trail lunch and tea each afternoon.

I was only cautiously optimistic when I realized the bathrooms were shared and you slept in twin beds; however it was never a problem. People were respectful, quiet and friendly. We made many friends who became like family. Most vacationers are repeat customers. It was an experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Just be prepared for any weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t1andjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lake O'Hara Lodge is probably one of the most beautifully situated inns in the world. What strikes you first is the complete silence that surrounds you as you sit on the front porch of your cabin admiring the clear blue lake just steps from your door. Being a city girl myself, I truly loved hearing just the sound of wind through the trees and the distant waterfalls.

The rooms in the cabins are neat, comfortable and cozy-romantic. The chairs set up outside the door were the perfect place to enjoy post-hiking wine while resting your tired feet.

The food at the Lodge was very good. The lunches they pack for you to take on your hikes were good--the sandwiches were well thought out, not just a ham and cheese slapped on bread. Dinner was always a nice affair with the food being prepared well.

The staff was wonderful. Every single person we encountered was friendly and efficient. The whole operation runs like a well-oiled machine.

We were lucky enough to stay in lake cabin #6--which is closest to the water's edge without any trees or foliage obstructing that magnificent view. Any lake cabin numbered 1-7 have the best view of the lake, surrounding mountains and distant water fall.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. If you are fortunate enough to land a reservation, grab it up!

Room Tip: Lake cabin #6 has the best unobstructed view of the lake, mountains and distant waterfall. Any lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I can not say enough about my experience at Lake O'hara. It is hard to get a reservation, so start early and be flexible about your dates. Food, service and staff could not have been more perfect. The views and the hiking are to spectacular. I felt like I hade the whole planet to myself when I was out hiking. I am planning to go again next summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VRChewning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
522 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was our first stay at the Lodge, and we met other visitors who had been coming for decades. We quickly learned why people from around the world return year after year. From the moment one arrives the service in the lodge is personal but professional. We requested vegeatarian meals and were provided well at three meals a day plus delightful afternoon tea. The hikes in the area are varied, interesting, and beautiful. We have asked the management for a return stay next year...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yoho National Park
8.3 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
6.9 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
10.5 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
6.2 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake O'Hara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake O'Hara Lodge

Property: Lake O'Hara Lodge
Address: 2nd Ave., Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Yoho National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Lake o`Hara Hotel Field
Lake o Hara Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing