We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The jewel of the Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Lake

Emerald Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$243.24*
and up
Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Peaceful lake nestled in the mountains and surrounded by lush, green forest.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The jewel of the Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited Emerald Lake for three days this month and found it to be our favorite! The lake is calm, the walk around it easy to navigate and it was not as crowded as some of the other places we visited on our trip to the Canadian Rockies. It is a good 40 minute drive from Banff National Park but worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank On_the_G0_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    123
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Surely the most beautiful of all the lakes in the area. Having visited Peyto and Louise, we went to Emerald Lake not expecting anything special. We were completely overwhelmed,
This has to be one of the greatest natural beauties that Canada has to offer.
Hire a canoe for an hour, 2 hrs if you're fit enough and take in the unbelievable colour, and surroundings.
Afterwards, the nearby cafe/bar provides good quality food and drinks at reasonable prices.
This was one of the few places that was not overwhelmed with coachloads of people as are the more famous lakes.
If you are in the area or even close to the area of Yoho, you will regret not visiting this aptly named jewel.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PapaLazarou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful colors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent a day in Yoho and took advantage of the boating here, since it was less expensive than Lake Louise and also we had 3 children with us and the canoes at Lake Louise could not accommodate all of us at the same time. The color of the water was unbelievable - it is so vivid in the background of all of our printed pictures. The lake was also surrounded by an array of spectacular views ranging from forests to an alpine flower filled meadow to glacier capped mountain sides.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tziona p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A quite respite at the end of the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went here at the end of a busy day. It sit's at the end of a road near Fields, BC Canada. The color is a soft green that you can't believe. Words can't describe it. Make the trip. It will be worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sealer214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“SPEND THE WHOLE DAY THERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

What an incredible day. Rented a canoe for part of the day and canoed on this beautiful lake. Then hiked the entire perimeter on a trail. Lodge was beautiful with lots of flowers and plantings.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank damrph2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Lake also viewed

Field, Yoho National Park
Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies
 
Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Emerald Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing