We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stop for Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Emerald Lake

Emerald Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$243.24*
and up
Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Peaceful lake nestled in the mountains and surrounded by lush, green forest.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A nice place to stop for Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

There is a lovely lodge here. Some great hikes, around the lake, up to the falls...You can also rent Canoes and spend some time paddling the lake. A must see.

Helpful?
1 Thank maggiemaeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    123
    18
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
224 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Not frozen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The color of this lake was unreal! We took a nice stroll along the shore, ate in the lodge and rented canoes. The food was very good at the lodge, I would love to stay here in one of the cabins, for a quiet getaway. I wonder if it is as quiet later in the summer. We wanted to go to Moraine lake but the road was not accessible. This was a good substitute.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank smileyeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is one of the few lakes that captured the rock flour and blue green water in May. Lake Louise is still mostly frozen at this time of the year. The lodge has great fire pits, views, fireplaces and a restaurant. Good for summer months.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank researchlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
386 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Stop at Natural Bridge on the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The lake was beautiful even in the spring when it was still frozen. It is worth a stop even though it was a bit busy and touristy. Don't miss Natural Bridge on the road up to Emerald Lake, it is really neat and worth a stop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVeggieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We Didn't Stay Here, But We Did The Hike Around the Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place is amazing to go for a nice easy hike. You can also make it a difficult hike if you have the time. Half way around the lake, there is a spot where the trail breaks off into a many km long hike over the hills. We didn't do it, but were intrigued nonetheless.

The hike around Emerald lake was gorgeous, and you get to pass by a section where avalanches have flattened all of the trees as the snow pounded into the lake. We didn't eat at the restaurant there, because it was absolutely packed, and the hotel's prices were quite high for our budget.

A fun option is that you can rent canoes or Kyacks for about $20/hour to tour around the lake and enjoy the scenery from a different vantage point. Well worth it!

http://www.crmr.com/emerald/activities-events/ gives more information on activities in the surrounding area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Lake also viewed

Field, Yoho National Park
Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Emerald Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing