We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Resort, Must return Again!”
Review of Gaya Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaya Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Resort, Must return Again!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Honestly, have to admit this this is first time to lodge in 5-star resort. However, we are truely impressed by the resort and wanted to stay forever!

The most impressive part is the service. The staff are always willing to help, smiling and treat you like family.

The environment and the atmosphere is perfect to unwind yourself and this resort is perfect for couples.

The hardware and the room are clean and comfy.

Food is great and the price is reasonable.

The only downside is that there are some ants in the bathtub which is kind of disturbing but this is understandable.

All in all, looking forward to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Layjai123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Layjai123,

Many thanks for staying with us at Gaya Island Resort and we are very happy and delighted to read on your positive stay.

Again, we thank you for your support and we look forward to welcome you back to Gaya Island Resort for your next break.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    309
    131
    46
    14
See reviews for
200
630
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We are currently here on our honeymoon, the staff are wonderful, there are lots of free activities including meditation, guided nature walks by highly qualified conservationists/ecologists.The food is great and the chef and staff at the Fisherman's cove are fabulous. We came back to our room to find flowers and champagne as it was our honeymoon. It's a new resort and has been beautifully built whilst doing its best not ruin the environment. It's only 15mins from Kota Kinabalu so it is not a remote island and probably for diving and snorkelling if you are here just for that it's worth going further afield to the marine park as well as Sipidan but I would recommend this hotel to anyone and the spa is stunning. We were unable to go to sipidan due the the foreign office advice and had to rearrange at the last minute and I have no regrets.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 41AnnaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear 41AnnaT,

thank you for staying with us at Gaya Island Resort.

I have shared your comments with the team with a special thank you note along on their on-going efforts on ensuring your honeymoon was nothing less of your expectations of us delivering our services.

All of us from Gaya Island Resort look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We did not choose to stay here, but had been left homeless on our trip when the UK Foriegn Office said we could not go to Lankayan.

The resort villas are wonderful, but unfortunately at the top of some very steep hills. We are reasonably fit but even so had to plan our day in advance to minimise the number of ups and downs. We timed it and it took 8 minutes for us to climb the 45 degree hill to our room after the evening meal. Not realy what we want to do. There is no transport to take you up there, so if you have mobility problems it is not for you.

There was a huge two person bath but unfortunately after 30 minutes this was still only 1/4 full, it was so slow we gave up!!!

Having said that we were on a food included package and the food was brilliant!! We ate in the Fisherman's Cove fine dining restaurant each night, it was pure Masterchef - for those Brits reading this. The service was second to none and the food was displayed wonderfully.

It also is a non children venue....full marks for giving us a place away from other people's families to eat.

If you want to have some fun, move the cutlery around on the table, the waiters have to rearrange it, they just can't help themselves!!

The downside, it is fine dining and they ask you to dress accordingly BUT there were groups in there in shorts and t shirts and flip flops the first night we ate there, which means they are not upholding the standards they offer.

Wine was expensive at 130 MR plus charges - they should take note, reduce it to a reasonable price and people will probably have a bottle each night...we would have.

We could have eaten in the Feast Village downstairs but it was full of families and a buffet, not for us.

The Pool Lounge was nice for lunch and we also had the BBQ at Tavajun Bay one day.

Tavajun Bay is worth a visit a lovely little bay 5 mins by hourly boat, but you have to cope with getting off onto a jetty while the boat is being bashed by waves, so need to be surefooted.

Staff were brilliant and very attentive in all areas.

The one downside was that as we checked in before the transfer we were asked for 3000 MR as deposit, to put this in context our final bill for 4 days was 498 MR! - in fact we did not spend that much over our entire 3 weeks in Malaysia - we were at the end of our holiday and I was not prepared to change this amount of cash. They said my credit card would not work, but refused to retry it...there was more than enough credit available I hadn't used it at all. Fortunately we had a second card on us that they took.

We have never stopped anywhere like this before so do no know if it is the norm but 3000 MR is to us exorbitant given we were on a meal incusive package! Beware if you are visiting at the end of a trip and likely to be short of ready cash.

Room Tip: Choose lower level room to avoid the hills, our room 914 had a tree which covered any view of the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thecatsmum4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear BigMax123,

Thank you for your review and I am happy to read that your stay was a positive one and you enjoyed the facilities and services offered through out your stay with Fisherman Cove stood on an exceptional platform with it's product and services.

I am very sorry to read that the deposit that were asked/taken at check-in caused much inconveniences to your kind self. I would like to share, it is practice at every 05 star establishment around the globe to take deposit amount reflecting the length of stay at check-in, in a credit or hard-cash form. Again, I am very sorry to learn that this caused you much inconveniences and I offer my sincere apologies.

Again, thank you very much on your stay and review and I look forward to welcome you back to Gaya Island Resort in future.

Sincerely,
Kirinjit Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great resort that feels miles away from the bustle of the city. Being just 15 mins boat ride from kota kinabalu this is truly amazing.
The hotel is top notch room quality wise but it is the service and activities that sets it apart.
Daily activities will keep you busy especially interesting is the nature walk, free, and snorkeling trip, nominal fee.
There is also boats to a secluded beach tawajun bay, also part of the result that is great for some r&r. You truly feel you are on a secluded island.
We had an all inclusive package which means we were pampered with personal service by the chef dolis. Who stuffed us each chance he got. He even customized the wife's meals to include something spicy which she loves.
Snorkeling is great and is it only 5 minutes walking from the beach. The reef is so close and accessible that even my 7 yr old son was soon hooked. Scott the naturalist there has a calm and relaxed manner that my son who was initially afraid to go in was asking for a second trip and soon a third .
Would definitely recommend , a 5 star hotel great location and passionate staff.

Room Tip: The good rooms are the canopy view rooms or kinabalu view. However the higher you go the more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chow tien w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Chow,

Greetings and thank you for your favorable feedback.

Chef Dolis and Scott are among our shining stars at Gaya Island Resort and I have shared your comments with them. Thank you again for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Kirinjit Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Have spend 5 nights in Gaya in December while doing our Borneo Tour. We've been staying with our 10mos old daughter and all of the staff were very friendly and comprehensive.

It is worth to get a meal plan as prices in restaurants are rather high and you get few complimentary things with it (spa retreatment and sunset cruise). Food is delicious. There are only 2 restaurants (one only for ppl over 15) in the resort but there is a big variety of food plus you can always ask from off the menu. It's worth to try their sirloin stakes!

We've been staying in Kinabalu villa. Definitely worth the money! These are only villas with such a breathtaking view of mount Kinabalu.

There are a lot of activities (handicraft, diving, snorkeling, sunset cruise, traditional cooking, movies under the stats) so you won't be bored. If you forget to take a book with you, they have a small library with few books.

Staff is absolutely great! After just few hours spend there you feel like you've known them forever. Everything can be done. I loved their "yes we can" attitude.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Varsovie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing Gaya Island Resort.

I am glad to read that you had a memorable and relaxing stay with us and the team further ensured your requests were all delivered in president of service that we promised to deliver.

Again, thank you very much for your support and Me and Team are looking forward to welcome you back to Gaya Island Resort in future.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have always loved the standard of the YTL hotels. A beautiful island hosting a splendid resort. Lay back laze around and enjoy the splendid view and facilities. We stayed in the Kinabalu room.The room was perfect and so comfortable. The view of the sea and the peak of Mount Kinabalu early in the morning was incredible. YTL has done it yet again in this small luxury hotel.If you are looking for a holiday where you just want to chill and relax...i highly recommend it. A perfect romantic getaway! The staff were so kind and helpful. They kept checking on us and attended to all our needs. Met the GM of the resort and he was a very friendly man who made sure everything was perfect for us.A perfect stay that im sure to return to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evilnesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from tropical resort of Gaya Island- Gaya Island Resort!

It was nice meeting you during your stay and again, I would like to thank you very much for staying with us.

Me and team is looking forward to welcome you back to Gaya Island Resort in future and till we meet again, my best wishes to you, family and friends.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at Gaya Island Resort in May for 3 nights and it has everything a you would want in a beach retreat. Relatively few rooms are spread over a large area so there is lots of privacy and space for all. This also means that you have to do a lot os walking to get from place to place and much of it is uphill as the rooms are built into the hill slopes.

The rooms are very large and is designed in such a way that you feel like you're in a beach resort but is still up-to-date and luxurious. It's a quick 15 minutes boat ride from the Kota Kinabalu mainland which is nice because you're away from the city but you can still go down to town on a day trip if you wanted to. The island itself is one big tropical jungle and it is within a marine national park. There's also a lot of marine life just a short distance from the two main beaches at the hotel which makes snorkeling very convenient and interesting. The only thing to note is that there is nothing else on the island that is accessible without a boat so there is no choice for food. The resort will charge a pretty penny for it. All in all it's a great place to be if you're looking for a quiet beach retreat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennyeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Gaya Island Resort - A walking tropical resort!

I would like to thank you very much for your stay and on taking your time to share with us on your stay experiences.

I am happy to read that your stay was a memorable and relaxing one and you were well looked after by the team through out your stay.

Again, thank you very much on your support and I look forward to welcome you back to Gaya Island Resort in future.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Gaya
0.4 mi away
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
11.6 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
7.8 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaya Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaya Island Resort

Property: Gaya Island Resort
Address: Malohom Bay, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park | Malohom Bay, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, Pulau Gaya 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gaya Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaya Island Resort is located on Pulau Gaya, the largest of a cluster of five islands that form the Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park, a natural conservation area off the coast of Borneo, close to Kota Kinabalu. Gaya Island Resort has a unique setting: the land is fringed with a golden sandy beach, rocky coastal outcrops, and surrounded by coral reefs. The hilly island landscape is covered with lush tropical rainforest and an abundance of flora and fauna. And to complete this perfect setting, visible in the distance, is the stunning outline of Mount Kinabalu. The guest villa exterior respects Sabahan architecture uses local materials and blends harmoniously with the natural environment. The interior living space is designed with contemporary elegance to create warmth, comfort and a serene indoor setting. Gaya Island Resort is committed to ecologically sustainable practices to minimise the carbon footprint within its environment. Therefore the resort is a waling resort and only minimal motorised vehicles are used for operational purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gaya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaya Island Resort Malaysia/Pulau Gaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing