We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location and very warm service”
Review of Gaya Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaya Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and very warm service”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

You can jump from the hotel jetty and start your snorkeling experience with colorful corals and fishes. The water is very clear, warm and very clean. The design of the resort is very modern and integrates very well into the lush rainforest. Take a look from the liberary over the marine park and resort and you will understand what we mean. The villas are very spacious and the finishing is top standard. The most wonderful experience were the resort team and after a day we felt like to be part of a family. The dining experience in Feast Village and Pool Bar were excellent in terms of presentation, taste and service. We think the best recognition for the resort is: We will be back soon! Many thanks again for fantastic 6 days. P.S. Don't miss the view to Mount Kinabalu from the main pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald-Bevaix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Borneo.

Many thanks on your review and support. I have shared your comments with the team and we are all very happy to read that your stay was a memorable one.

Again, thank you very much and I look forward to welcome you back to Gaya Island Resort in future.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    309
    131
    46
    14
See reviews for
200
628
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excelent place to relax. Awesome people serving you. Excelent beach and swimming pool. Very good snorkling place with lots of fishes and corals. The food was great but a little expensive since we had no alternative at the resort.

Room Tip: Don't choose the higher apartments. You will have to walk a bit to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank João F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Gaya Island Resort- A walking resort.

Many thanks on your review and I am happy to read on your positive stay. Again, thank you for choosing Gaya Island Resort I wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and loved every second. We have been to a lot of similar hotels but this is one of the best.
Nothing bad to report but these minor points:
- The hotel needs a golf cart to transport people to the Spa and back and the far out rooms. Weird that there isn't this already. My girlfriend made a long walk back in the dark from the Spa...
- Food is a bit pricey but that might be island economy factor. We didn't think the food was amazing but it was nice and the chefs will make anything you want.
- Air con in the room is loud (rm. 716) and the control for it is hidden in a corner which makes very little sense!
- The sunbeds opposite the pool bar should be removed to get a good view of the pools infinity to sea feature.
- Popular with mainland Chinese...!

Staff are all amazing, thank you.
Every western couple seemed to be on a honeymoon.
Sea water is as clear as glass but there is a bit of litter on the islands coastlines. I suggest that the taxes and charges everything seemed to carry should actually be put to use and the hotel initiates a clean up of the coastline with the other hotels there. It's such a shame that the locals have let this happen to the island's coastline.

Definitely worth a visit. We can't recommend this hotel enough.

p.s. remember, you are in the Jungle. There are monkeys, insects and mosquitos. If you don't like that change your attitude!

Room Tip: The rooms low down might get more insects than the higher rooms. The higher rooms might get monke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from all of us here at Gaya Island Resort-A walking resort.

Many thanks on your review and on choosing Gaya Island Resort. Me and team is happy to read on your positive stay.

On the golf cart comment and I would like to take this opportunity to share that, for our Kinabalu villas on the hill, we are going to have an elevator install to take our guests up/down the hill before the end of the year.

Again, thank you very much on your review and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Spent 2 nights here but 3 nights would have been perfect. It was a pretty low occupancy at GIR during our stay last week, my guess around 20%. Rooms have similar style and feel as in all other YTL island resorts. Loved the big bath tub and the very comfy bed. Stayed at Canopy Villa but dont have a good view of the sea as it was blocked by trees. The views of the Hill Villas at Pangkor Laut is so much better.

Dont quite like the main beach as the water is no where as clear as in the East Coast of Peninsular Malaysia and was badly bitten by sandflies. . I go for beach holidays almost every year and i have never encounter such bad attack by sandflies, so better put on lots of insect repellent.

Lunch and dinner is great with a fair choice of meals but unfortunately they ran out of prawns on the last 2 days of our stay. Quality is very good but spoilt by the rather long serving time considering the low occupancy.

The open air library on the 1st floor which overlook the sea is quite a nice place to chill out. Very breezy and peaceful at night. Love it.

Went for nature walk after heavy rain the night before. Was comtemplating whether to go initially as my kids and parents in law were also following but the staff Iffah and [sorry cant recall his name but not Justin as he was on leave] assured us that it will not be slippery or dangerous. We have a good and informational walk and not a single mosquito bite!

Also went for snorkelling on the last day, the reef over the right side of the jetty is so much better. Saw a few big clown fish and a giant red snapper hiding under a reef. Fantastic but again the water clarity was not as good as i hope it to be.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay at GIR. Some traveller commented that some of the villas at too far away from the lobby and require a lot of walk on hilly terrain. I find that our Canopy Villas 815 and 816 were just nice, not too far or near and we actually enjoyed the walk. But the Kinabalu Villas are indeed located on a hillier slope but if you do not suffer from any major walking problem, it should be fine.

Lastly, would like to extend my gratitude and appreciation to the very friendly and helpful staff which i can see are truly genuine and sincere. Thank you Lampard, Yayoi and Viviene and many others which i cannot recall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheeWai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to apologize on the short supply of prawns on one of the day of your stay with us. We apply highest care and attention in our daily checks upon receiving our daily supply and happens such, on that particular day, due to pitiable quality of prawns, we had no choice but to reject the delivery. I am very sorry on the inconveniences caused.

I am happy to read that Lampard, Yayoi, Vivienne and Iffah stood above the norms into making sure you are well looked after among the many in the team. I have shared your comments with them and I am very proud to have them in my team.

The Canopy villas are villas located on the lower hill with forest/garden view where-else on the higher hill is our Kinabalu category, highest category with sea view.

Again, thank you very much on your support and all the best.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just back from five days at Gaya Island resort. Climate perfect, food excellent, accommodation delightful and staff could not be more friendly or helpful. Pool stunning. Views of mount Kinabalu from our balcony and a family of hornbills feeding in the trees nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Gaya Island Resort- A walking resort.

Thank you very much on your support and on taking your valuable time out to share your experiences here. I am happy to read that you had a memorable stay with us. I have shared your comments with team and congratulated them on their nobble efforts in their dailies.

Again, thank you for your support and I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best in your future undertakings.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We visited Gaya Island Resort in April for our honeymoon and it was fantastic. Because it was our honeymoon we arrived to rose petals in our bath and on our bed and champaigne on ice - a lovely touch! The staff at the resort are amazing and nothing is too much trouble. I was badly bitten and they offered me creams and medical attention, without me even asking - they show genuine concern and want your stay to be perfect. I had read previous reviews that mentioned that the house keeping was inconsistent. We did not find this at all, in fact the staff cleaned our room twice a day both in a morning and when we went out for our evening meal. Our meals were included in our total holiday price (which was a good thing as they were not cheap, but an expected type of price on an island and in the standard of hotel that it is) The food was fantastic and a highlight of the holiday. We packed our days (as we like to be doing and seeing) jungle treking, going to the main land to see the Orangutans, a days scuba diving etc. But if you like to chill and do nothing its perfect for that too.

I have only two critisms (although they did not spoil my holiday in the slightest)
1) The boat from the main land to the Island only goes every 2 hours and there is no deviation from this time table (unless you pay for a private boat at about £100 for a 15 minute journey!) Therefore if you just miss a boat you have to wait 2 hours. So when we arrived from the airport (after a long flight) we had just missed the 2pm boat by 5 minutes which then meant that we had to wait until the 4pm boat - after travelling for so long we just wanted to get a shower and have a snooze, not sit round waiting for the boat! You can do the check in process while you wait, but that only kills about 15 minutes!! Similar, when you leave for the airport you either have to be very early for the airport or be tight for time, as again the boats only run every 2 hours. Although we risked been tight for time (our last check in was 11.45pm and we got the 11am boat) as its a short journey to the main land and back to the airport and it was fine as the hotel sorted everything very smoothly for us (eg the taxi etc)
2) A 10% service charge is added to every purchase. Whilst I did not mind tipping (as the service is excellent) the service charge is added to every purchase, rather than as a total at the end. For example if you order food and drinks , 10% is added to the food bill and 10% to the drinks bill and so on, rather than a 10% total at then end.

Never the less, despite these slight negatives, overall the holiday was amazing - wonderful staff, fantastic food and breath taking location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Gaya Island Resort- A walking resort!

Many thanks on your review. Me and team is happy to read on your positive stay and we look forward to welcome you back to Gaya Island Resort in future.

Till we meet again, we take this opportunity to wish you, family and friends all the best.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visiting Gaya island resort, feel like in the paradise. As the villa surrounded by nature. The service, facilities and food very excellence. Choosing this resort totally worth with your money. Sabah parks has move to the right direction by choosing YTL as their business partner.

Room Tip: Villa 821 &822 is the best location as we can view Kota Kinabalu city and Mount Kinabalu. It sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Gaya Island Resort- A walking resort!

Thank you for your review and on choosing Gaya Island Resort for your recent break. Me and team is happy to read that you stay was a favorable one and we all look forward to welcome you back to Gaya Island Resort in future.

Again, thank you very much on your review and we wish you all the best.

Regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Gaya
0.4 mi away
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
11.6 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
7.8 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaya Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaya Island Resort

Property: Gaya Island Resort
Address: Malohom Bay, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park | Malohom Bay, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, Pulau Gaya 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gaya Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaya Island Resort is located on Pulau Gaya, the largest of a cluster of five islands that form the Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park, a natural conservation area off the coast of Borneo, close to Kota Kinabalu. Gaya Island Resort has a unique setting: the land is fringed with a golden sandy beach, rocky coastal outcrops, and surrounded by coral reefs. The hilly island landscape is covered with lush tropical rainforest and an abundance of flora and fauna. And to complete this perfect setting, visible in the distance, is the stunning outline of Mount Kinabalu. The guest villa exterior respects Sabahan architecture uses local materials and blends harmoniously with the natural environment. The interior living space is designed with contemporary elegance to create warmth, comfort and a serene indoor setting. Gaya Island Resort is committed to ecologically sustainable practices to minimise the carbon footprint within its environment. Therefore the resort is a waling resort and only minimal motorised vehicles are used for operational purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gaya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaya Island Resort Malaysia/Pulau Gaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing