We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardware good, software mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just stayed there for 2 nights. The best part was being upgraded to the Royal Villa. That aside, the positives are it's a beautiful place and staff are exceedingly courteous. Unfortunately, that's it for the positives. The food is frightfully expensive - local dishes cost 10x what they would have cost on the mainland. One would have thought at that price, the quality and quantity of ingredients would be vastly superior but portions were small (like at roadside hawkers) and quality was mediocre. The staff, while very polite, were totally ineffectual. The restaurant staff just milled around aimlessly and everything (from ordering, to arrival of food and billing) took 3 times as long as it should have. The villa's cleanliness was a bit disappointing (on the last day, we even found a dead cockroach in one of our bags) and a number of things did not work eg. a toilet bowl was stuck, one shower handle was falling off, one shower head toggle was erratic. One of my children became sick from the food and threw up (I think it was the cheese in the pizza and omelette...). Right from the start, we repeatedly asked the staff about late checkout as we had a late flight but no one got back to us. Only on the last day, when we approached reception did we finally get a response. During our checkout, the buggy did not come at the appointed time and even when we called again, it was late, and in the end, we had to carry our own suitcases to the jetty. The ferry boat timings were all over the place and certainly did not tally with the timings on the ferry cards that they kept giving out. And while the main beach was ok, the private beach of the Royal Villa was filthy with rubbish. This place has the potential to be a 5-star resort but the software is absolutely the pits. It's staffed by village boys/girls who, except for a couple of senior people, do not seem to understand any of the fundamental concepts of running a fine establishment. We will never go back. Once is enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BernardTSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for giving your feedback. it is much appreciated. We actually invite guest feedback after every service experience, being boat condition, checkin, spa performance and of course food and beverage experience. This allows us to identify which areas need improvement and hopefully it also allows us to speak to the guest immidiately, should service levels not be up to standard. I am pleased to say more than 95% of all our visitors rate their experience with us good or exceptional! Unfortunatly we did not manage to reach out to you which i am sorry about.

Our food prices start around RM25 for pool snacks which on an island, we believe, is very reasonable. Our live fish are organically reared from our own fishfarm, hence the cost will be a little higher but so will the quality.

I am sorry that the beach around the Royal Villa was not as pristine as the main beach, this has since been rectified.

I do hope you had the time to visit our Marine Ecology Research Centre, MERC, at our sister property, Gayana Eco Resort. This will truly put our environmental effort into perspective.

Best regards

Tomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
There are newer reviews for Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 497 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

After travelling over 15 hours from Australia to arrive to what Expedia advertised as a ‘5 star resort’. We discovered the following:

• We booked for 4 people but were only provided with 3 beds. Then had to make 3 attempts to communicate to staff to have another bed available.

• The rooms are no way near close to a 5 star standard.

• There are only 2 parties staying here at the resort and we are one of them, it is deserted. Hence your last minute message Expedia used - ‘book now last room left’ was mis leading.

• Finally, the biggest issue is that the resort looks like a rubbish tip. The beaches are filthy, disgusting and un-swimmable. There are piles of junk in various places around the resort (including directly in front of our own bungalow). Snorkelling would not be possible as the water is not clear. The rubbish is everywhere and quite unbelievable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sydneyside4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed 7 nights over NewYear in Bunga Raya Resort. The place is very nice, accommodation and surroundig are great. The view from our Villa over the Pool to the sea
was just awesome and the Villas are nicely placed wthin the jungle. We had major issues with the food and service which makes me rating only Average (Average compared to the price for this Hotel). There are only 2 Restaurants in the Hotel with limited offer. One Restuarant (The Grill) has only around 10 items and 5 Pizzas on the menu. The second , main Restaurant has more to offer, but my Kids could not find anything on th emenu which attrated them. Tried only French Fries, but even those have been deep fried in old oil and heavent been tasty at all. The Breakfast is far away form a 5 Star Hotel. No Cheese offered, no Salami or other sliced meat. The breakfast is really basic. I expect much more from such a Hotel. Over New Year when the Hotel was full, some of the items on the breakfast buffet was empty an refilled very late. The bread was frozen and nearly impossible to cut. Luckyfully there was ONE Toaster to heat it up. And, Coffee is terrible to !

Staff was very friendly ands always willing to help. But there have been limitations. I saw many times staff walking around with food looking for the right person who ordered it. Not a 5 Star experience.

The chairs on the Pool have been occupied early in the morning as they offered way to less chairs if the Hotel i fully booked. We had many times no space on the pool which is again not worth paying 500 Euro for a Villa/night !

Avoid going during the monsoon season to this place. The beach was covered with dirt from the sea. Even they tried to clean up the place, next morning it was full of dirt again. Swimming in the sea is possible if you are not afraid of the seagrass and other things (Shoes, Tootbrush, bottles and and and) touching you while swimming. Be also aware that there is seagrass growing in the bay and you will feel them while swimming or snorkelling.

The bed linen was not changed once during the 7 night we spend there! I could check this as my sons knee bleeded (after an accident in the pool with rough floor where no one from the staff showed interest in this accident) and the linen had blood on it. For the whole week !!!!

Pleas ebe also aware that there is no shop in the Hotel to buy anything. No small snacks for the kids or cookies. You have to bring those things from KK if you have kids and dont want to spend 5 Euro for a few terrible French Fries every lunch time.


Would we go back ? NO way, for so much money there are better places to go.

Room Tip: Bring your own stuff. Avoid monsoon season. Inform yourself about the free offerings in the Hotel (e...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TombRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Really nice stuff service, amazing villa, The most beautiful room decoration of all hotels I ever seen. A lot of touch with natural, we can't believe with the window open, we can see the monkeys on the surrounding trees, so cute!! But there are really few watersports to do makes the stay a little boring, the sea water is dirty for snorkeling and the food in the restaurants are very bad taste with very high price!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jun Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at beautiful Bunga Raya Resort near Kota Kinabalu and found it to be one of the best places we have ever stayed at. A great combination of a low impact resort(can hardly see the resort from the boat on approach), beautiful virgin rainforest with natural watercourses running through the resort, white sand, blue water beaches and some of the best villas you will ever stay in - high ceilings, in local Malaysian style but with all of the extras - expresso machine, fruit, free mini bar(beer/soft drinks) and high quality amenities. The plunge pool villas by the beach have amazing views, private access to the beach and seaside hammocks. The infinity pool is absolutely spectacular with views over the water to the South China Sea. Restaurants and food are great and the resort has just won a 2 glass Wine Spectator award for one of the best wine cellars in Malaysia - it has got to be seen to be believed! The Jungle spa is unique with natural water courses running underneath the treatment rooms. You get the best of both worlds with easy boat access to the other island resorts and KK (have dinner in KK if you want..). Can't see why you would stay in a generic hotel in KK when you can be at Bunga Raya Resort in 15 minutes! The staff were friendly & fabulous and management is committed to making this one of the best eco-friendly resorts in Asia. We will be back.

Room Tip: Plunge pool villas
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrkpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Had a great week on this secluded resort on Pulau Gaya! Fantastic views of the South China Sea and exemplary service.
A features boutique hotel, that truly lives up to it's reputation. Being an eco-friendly resort, this place us not for visitors who are weary of the tropical infects. We even had wild boars moving freely around the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RajaGriha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This place is amazing. The location is beautiful. Staff are friendly. Accommodation is beautiful
Most people get driven by staff around in the golf carts, but it's nice to walk around...albeit hilly and sweaty.


The pool is great - as a competitive swimmer I loved being able to do lengthy laps each day.

Food, for me, was average - as a vegetarian it was really difficult to get anything more than lettuce for a salad and even the seemingly vegetarian options had some kind of seafood in it.

The beach was out of action due to monsoonal debris, and made for a wet, bumpy 'exciting' boat trip back - but that was ok.

It's a nice place, but not somewhere I'd go out of my way to go back to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Su M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Gaya
2.3 mi away
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
468 reviews
12.4 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
8.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,372 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa

Address: Polish Bay, Pulau Gaya 88778, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Price Range: $215 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As sensual and exotic as the hibiscus flower that bears its name, Bunga Raya Island Resort is a luxurious jewel set on a coral reef island just off the coast of Borneo. A secluded island hideaway of 47 timbered villas, the resort is framed by white sand beach and virgin jungle. Hillside villas reflect the simplicity of the Borneo architectural style. A hilltop spa blends the finest Traditional Asian and Western treatments using restorative powers of indigenous plants and oils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunga Raya Island Resort And Spa
Bunga Raya Island Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa Malaysia/Pulau Gaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing