We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation overlooking beautiful Jervis Bay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyams Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for four nights over Easter 2013. The cottages are very cute, well kept and offer a beautiful view from the verandah into Jervis Bay and out to Point Perpendicular. They are for couples only and the layout of the cottage doesn't lend itself to larger groups.
As their website suggests cooking facilities are limited to a kitchenette in each cottage and shared BBQ facility. There is a nice cafe nearby which does good coffee and meals but you need to go to Vincentia or Huskisson to access pubs, restaurants and shop for food.
Hyams Beach draws many visitors and the nearby streets were very full over the Easter break, which is not unexpected. The off street parking for the cottages was particularly valuable given the number of visitors to the beach.
The cottages are good value for money and are what we expected in the price range of $300 per night peak period by the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Myself and my wife fancied a quiet weekend away from Sydney, somewhere not too far as we didn't fancy being stuck in the car too long. We had tried Sussex Inlet before so were after something new.

Hyams beach is an absolute little gem of a spot. There are some stunning beaches around, very secluded with practically no one on them. During our short stay we had Parrots in the tree outside our quaint little cottage, saw a pod of dolphins in the sea opposite and even had a little beach wallaby hop over to me and eat an apple out of my hand at one of the remote beaches.

The accommodation itself is very nice. If you are a read a book type and love to turn off the phones & tv's then this place is perfect for a nice quiet weekend. away. Rustic charm comes to mind for the little old fishermen's cottages.

I would definitely recommend for a weekend away, or more if you are lucky enough !!!

Room Tip: They seem to be all good rooms, even the most basic little cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hey_funboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights in cottage 4 (yellow) & was warmly welcomed by Wendy, the cleaning Lady, who was super friendly & recommended where I should go 'exploring' in surrounding areas... Which I did, thanks Wendy! ;)
Also had the pleasure of meeting Ange, the owner, who was also so lovely & hospitable.
The cottage was very clean.
I made the most of the verandah each morning/evening, as you get a stunning water view!
Waking up & falling asleep to the symphony of waves crashing onto the shore was just magic!
Beautiful Birds would visit late afternoon, & perch themselves along the verandah.
The only negative comment I can make is that I only used the spa once, as it is extremely loud & for that reason, unenjoyable.
All in all, I really enjoyed my time here :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagicMungbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages for a long weekend and it was one of the best weekenders we've had in NSW. The cottage was AMAZING! Absolutely incredible - in terms of cleanliness, detail, feel, atmosphere, comfort, positioning, service, facilities and amenities. The style and feel of the old fisherman's cabins was still there - with the luxury of modern additions.

We were in cottage # 2 - none of the cottages obstructed the views of the ocean for anyone. Literally 10 seconds away from the beach - the nicest and whitest stretch of sand (and softest sand too). We were even lucky to see a pod of dolphins swimming close to shore.

Up the road you have the local cafe - great food and coffee. And a little convenience store too which means we could quickly grab something and cook it back at the cottage if we wanted to.

The cottages are designed for couples so no children and absolutely peaceful.

It really felt like our home away from home.

Thank you to Angie and Glenn. We will definitely be coming back and have been letting our friends know about the cottages.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the cottage for 2 nights, 3 days and had an amazing time. The cottage is a minute walk from the beach - there's two sides, a smaller one and the main one. We were amazed at how white the sand was! Beautiful beach! It's very chilled the way the cottage is run - we were a little confused when we arrived (as we're used to checking into a hotel), we met one of the workers who just gave us a key and told us to leave it on the door when we left - no deposit or credit card needed.

The cottages used to be used by fisherman long ago. They're pretty close to each other though we had no problems with noise from neighbouring couples (fyi you may like to keep your windows closed in case lol).

You can't really cook at the cottage - there's an electric grill or a bbq outside that everyone staying at the cottages shared. We decided that we'd just eat out. There is a cafe near the cottage (literally the only place you can get food at hyams!) food was good but totally over priced! Our suggestion - go for a 5min drive to Vincentia - heaps of restaurants there & there's a coles if you feel like grabbing some snacks or cooking at the cottage.

Overall we had a great time and would absolutely recommend it to couples! :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early December. Hyams Beach is quiet and beautiful and the cottages delightful. They are small but comfortable and have everything you need.It is like staying in a dollshouse. All the staff were very helpful. The local Cafe is very friendly has the best coffee and also serves an excellent breakfast and lunch.The beach is uncrowded with the softest white sand. We tried to book an additional night but they were fully booked. We would love to go back. We came here after a week at a luxury hotel in Sydney and while it is not a five star hotel we enjoyed it just as much.

Room Tip: We had the lilac cottage on the front I think it is no1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JewelChapelHillNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed six nights at the Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages in Mid November to celebrate our wedding anniversary. To be honest, we didn't want to leave! We had cottage #5 and we had such a lovely stay. The cottages have everything you need for a relaximg stay. The beds are super comfortable ( as are the pillows, which more often than not, in many hotels are not anywhere near as comfortable.) Great shower, with good pressure, plenty of windows to let in lots of fresh sea air. These cottages are across the road from the beach and from our deck, we had a lovely view of the sea. There was nothing we wanted for, with all the bbq tools, oils, sauces and condiments conveniently located with the bbqs out back. We could be at the beach within a couple of minutes walk and we enjoyed some amazing walks along the beach and through the national park.. The local store/cafe' was fabulous and their hot chocolate is delicious. Our hosts were right there if needed, in an unobtrusive way which we found wonderful. Now that we have been to Hyams Beach, we look forward to going back again, but for longer next time!
Many thanks for such a wonderful stay and congratulations on the restoration of those beautiful cottages, you have done a wonderful job.

Room Tip: We loved cottage #5 and the bonus of the wild birds visiting most mornings was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tinmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyams Beach
2.5 mi away
Dolphin Shores
Dolphin Shores
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
314 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bay n Basin Lodge
Bay n Basin Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Walters Holiday Flats
Walters Holiday Flats
#2 of 2 in Hyams Beach
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
295 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jervis Bay Holiday Park
Jervis Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 8 in Huskisson
301 reviews
13.6 mi away
Anchor Bay Motel
Anchor Bay Motel
#1 of 1 in Greenwell Point
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages

Address: 53 - 55 Cyrus St, Hyams Beach, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Hyams Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Hyams Beach
Price Range: $155 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adorable colourful one bedroom seaside cottages exclusively for couples or solo travellers. Perfect for a romantic or relaxing escape. Only 60 meters across road to beautiful white sands of Hyams Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages Hotel Hyams Beach
Hyams Beach Seaside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing