We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice quiet place”
Review of The George Tavern

The George Tavern
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Australian, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The George Tavern, affectionately known by our locals as The George, is Maitland's premier award winning Tavern. Conveniently located just off the New England Highway, next to Stockland Greenhills, The George is open 7 days a week with food service from 11.30am to 9pm daily. With a multitude of facilities and areas we can cater for just about any need. Not to mention our exceptional range of drinks and delicious food options to satisfy the very best of companies. So come visit us and see for yourself what all the fuss is about.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice quiet place”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

food is reasonable priced and th venue is quiet despite the number of people that go there. close to home and the shops.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    65
    21
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Went back twice!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Great pub. We had dinner there and lunch a couple of days later. The food was mostly good. The curry was quite tasteless and the pasta was overlooked, however the beef fillet was perfection. And there chocolate brûlée is a must! There cocktails were pretty special too. Will definately call in again when back in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kpenhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice dining experience”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Overall a good experience. The food was quite nice and pretty quick to arrive, the venue was modern and tidy, and it wasn't too expensive. The staff delivered the meals and were very attentive, which was unexpectedly nice for a pub meal. Good variety of different food choices, activities for the kids, and lots of room. A very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wattostudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food and shop a docket friendly”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great pub food made even yummier by using a shop a docket !!! Cant fault the food at all. Fast service, and good pub price drinks.

Can be busy, lots of families, and groups gather for catch up meals.

Would happily return anytime!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robinyoung255323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Peking Duck?”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I just had dinner at this place after not having gone there in years. We ordered the peking duck and I must say I thought I had a piece of beef on my plate instead of duck. It was so over done that it was like chewing on an old boot. Absolutely no resemblance to peking duck either for that matter. My wifes duck was just as bad and we couldnt finish it. I'll never go there again

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Tavern also viewed

 
East Maitland, Maitland
East Maitland, Maitland
 

Been to The George Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing