We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Traditional Chinese Restaurant”
Review of Place One chinese

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Place One chinese
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kempsey, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Great Traditional Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Place one is a small suburban restaurant in East Maitland bur distinguishes itself from its peers by significantly better food and very friendly service.
Appears to be essentially based on "take away" but has seating for about twenty people. Whichever you choose I think you will be pleasantly surprised by the standard of food and the very good service.
This is one of those places we are glad we found!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Takeaway exceptionally good”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food is fresh, light, delicious and the service very good. The restaurant has been closed for a while and the business kept alive because of its fantastic take aways. Good range, non greasy and not too expensive. Now it has opened again as a restaurant and I can't wait to get back there. The a la carte service was outstanding before so I'm hoping it will be good again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MurphyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best satay ever”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Expensive but well worth the price...we always get takeout and pretty much always the same dishes. No MSG

Helpful?
Thank Trina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Maitland area”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We live about 25 minutes drive west of Place One, but it is worth the trip if we feel like Chinese as, in my experience, it is the standout option in the district. You wouldn't make the trip up from Sydney (or even out from Newcastle) specifically for it, but if you find yourself in Maitland and have a hankering for some classic Australianised Chinese cuisine, then this should fit the bill nicely. Good range of food, great quality, and prices not too bad.

Helpful?
Thank LOCKMAC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashtonfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“PLACE ONE CHINESE”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Its been something like 3 years or more since i have dined a la carte, as it was reported that they have had trouble finding a good enough chef. The take aways are very good but it is essential that you place an order early to avoid a long wait.I have notice the changes that have made to the dining settings. The white clothed table is still there but the napkins are now paper, the chop stick rests are gone and the polished wine glasses, but these are returned when you order wine but not the flavour of food that is missing.
we started with a new entree of malatsian Dumlings steamed with a vinegar dipping sauce. Four perfectly moulded dumplings sat in a small bowl of broth with a filling that was encased in a white dough that shined from its steaming.
The satay chicken with vegetables again was served differently, a large bowl of satay coated chicken with plenty of fresh and crisp vegetables that were intermingled with the chicken.
The roast duck with sweet chilli sauce, i have always found to be good with its almost lacquered skin and slightly burnt around the legs of the duck produced a lovely flavoured meal.
the fried rice has at all times been very good, full of prawns, egg, carrot, ham and peas, i rate this as one of the best in town.
The restaurant offers BYO on wine and a good selection of wines and beers that they seemed to have put together by themselves, rather than a wine company putting all of their current releases on the list that are far too acid to drink now. BYO offers you to match your good wines with their food

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Place One chinese also viewed

 

Been to Place One chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing