We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxed easy going atmosphere”

New Capri Italian Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 50 Restaurants in East Maitland
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“relaxed easy going atmosphere”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

this restaurant been here for ages , nothing flash , dont have to dress up , food is good , relaxed surroundings , good for families , good price and they do take away . you may have to book though as its very popular .the food is better than average but the table and chairs are kids friendly as there not flash .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carribean59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst Italian”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

When I moved to the area (from Sydney) locals recommended this place, so I went.
It was the worst Italian food I have ever eaten, shocked it's still in business.. The staff were not friendly the decor is out dated .
The food well we couldn't even eat it, nothing like I have ever experience. Never again!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giovannitheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Losing it New Capri...”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Arrived and waited at the counter to ask if a table for two might be possible. Beppi (cranky old Italian Nono) comes up, looks me over unsmilingly, says not even a hello and totters off leaving me to wait for someone else to greet me.... I understand it's his business now run by other members of the family but REALLY? Prob better to try keeping him away from the front of house. It's a moderately busy Saturday night but there's a couple of spare tables, great! I'll forgive the decor, it's been tacky Italian for years and is no surprise but could do with a freshen up (I come from an Italian family and am used to this kind of decor!), the food is ok but not anything exciting and certainly not really Italian (more like Australianised Italian meals where the names are what make the meals remotely Italian). The music is free to air radio. I enjoy AC/DC but probably some Italian music might set the scene a bit better for dinner in an "Italian" restaurant. Noted the bottle the table water was in was grubby. Had to wait ages (about 30 mins) for anyone to take our order. Ordered entrees, mains and soft drink. About another 30 mins and one entree appeared, waited for the second and the drinks.... had to chase up the missing entree and the drinks. Mains arrived ok but about an hour after ordering. Asked for a coffee after the main, it never arrived either. Didn't bother chasing it up, went to pay and the coffee was on the bill! P.S. Didn't have desert this time but have had the profiteroles, they're not bad. They always seem to have a limited range of the gelato's on the desert menu and the Tiramasu (lovingly referred to as Mama's Cake) is unfortunately the worst I've ever had - sorry Mama! These guys are making it difficult to reason going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer_X_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very impressed with the new gelatos - much nicer than the old ones! The waitresses were very nice & the old one didn't even roll her eyes at me. Will definitely be returning!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trud1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Gave the place a second chance”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My daughter loves bolognese, my wife carbonara, personally feed me seafood any day. We tried the New Capri twice for take away meals and have not been overwhelmed with the meals. Deb's Special (seafood including smacked salmon and prawns) is quite good however the bolognese and carbonara were bland and soggy. No solid flavours in either meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Capri Italian Restaurant also viewed

Maitland, Greater Newcastle
East Maitland, Maitland
 

Been to New Capri Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing