We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and Tatty old Molly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Molly Morgan Motor Inn

Molly Morgan Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Molly Morgan Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East Maitland
Bli Bli, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Tired and Tatty old Molly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is the perfect example of how successive managements fail to re-invest in a property. The decore in our unit was circa 1970's as was probably, the plumbing. Old, musty and just operational. We weren't impressed with the management either, a couple of major issues there. Can't keep charging top dollar for old rubbish.

Room Tip: Another establishment?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flapgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
25
26
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at the Molly Morgan Motel for the second time last year for the Rod Stewart Concert. There were 5 of us and we took 3 rooms. The Motel was one of few able to put us up for one night only over a weekend.
The Motel Staff were extremely helpful, the rooms clean, spacious and comfortable. A bus services the Motel when concerts are on in the Hunter Valley, so transport is a breeze. The Motel is also conveniently located, close to historic Morpeth where we had breakfast the following morning.
I would stay at the Molly Morgan for future visits to the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane57Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lithgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

I was in Maitland for a reunion in Gresford NSW and found that the motel was in the perfect place for me to get around the country side. The staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem. The room I had was huge and it even had a bath.

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms are huge and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE
very unprofessional management there rude they dnt know how to approach they dnt care they just want money the room was very dirty walls carpet mould in bathrooms pillows smelled like perfume we do not recommend for any1 to stay here
put your money somewhere else where uyou will be treated better trust us

Room Tip: stay some where else cleaner room money worth
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank defh e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Maitland hotels

Maitland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Having just been relocated to the Hunter Valley,we found the Molly Morgan Motel ideal for our stay. As we are new to the area, we phoned ahead & found the Reception staff very helpful.Upon checking in to our Deluxe Room,which was dated,but very clean & tidy,we asked at Reception about the local area & both husband & wife could not have been more helpful in answering our many questions in regards to the Hunter Valley area.We stayed at the Molly Morgan for more than a week,having Breakfast daily,& enjoyed their restaurant-Angels Inn,which was opened Monday till Thursday.We found the meals very good.& the service was also excellent.Even had several swims in the pool.We would thoroughly recommend staying at the Molly Morgan Motel as the Staff are excellent & the Motel has commenced an Upgrade -so "Happy Days" for all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Came here after being stuck in a motel in Moree in northern NSW for five days during the worst flood there in 35 years (no picnic, believe me) on our way back to Sydney from Bundaberg. A 4WD, with the numberplate nutjob-003, in the carpark should have given us a clue about the calibre of this ostensibly three-star flophouse. Where to start? The noise from the traffic thundering past? Perhaps the deluxe-classified room's foot-long lizard, which apparently was there as an environmentally friendly way to get rid of the cockroaches and mosquitoes that we discovered infested the place in the wee small hours of the night? The officious desk clerk who, when we complained about the lizard, told us to just open the door and shoo it away; and later, when we returned to inquire about room service for dinner, sighed, rolled his eyes and said: "You again?" The cold, fat-congealed dinner we were served more than an hour after we'd ordered it? The odd-tasting, barely edible eggs at breakfast? The fact we'd been told at check-in that there was a bath in the room when there wasn't? (No big deal in itself but irksome in the extreme in conjunction with everything else.) Perhaps the staff felt motorcyclists were undeserving of better? Who knows. There are plenty of good quality motels in the Hunter. This is not one of them. Give it a miss.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with a family of 4.I had no issue with Molly Morgan and found it worth the money we paid.Th bathroom was clean,which is a big thing for me and my family.The room had that old smell and the furniture was old and tired we had no issue with the air-conditioner like previous reviews.Overall we had a good experience with Molly Morgan,it is close to the stores and New England Hwy which worked out well for us.


  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Maitland
1.2 mi away
The Windsor Castle Hotel
The Windsor Castle Hotel
#4 of 10 in Maitland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quest Maitland
Quest Maitland
#1 of 10 in Maitland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.3 mi away
Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Endeavour Motel
BEST WESTERN Endeavour Motel
#1 of 2 in East Maitland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hunter Gateway
5.3 mi away
Old Maitland Inn
Old Maitland Inn
#2 of 3 in Rutherford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molly Morgan Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly Morgan Motor Inn

Property: Molly Morgan Motor Inn
Address: 171 Chisholm Rd, East Maitland, Maitland, New South Wales 2323, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland > East Maitland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East Maitland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Molly Morgan Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Molly Morgan Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molly Morgan Motor Inn Maitland/East Maitland, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing