We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishopstrow House(Warminster)
$255
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel(Trowbridge)(Great Value!)
$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Widbrook Grange(Bradford-on-Avon)
$191
$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa(Hinton Charterhouse)
$306
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan Hotel(Bradford-on-Avon)
$153
$120
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
27
7
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
7
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed here for nightsfresh breadblack dogbusy roadsafari parkeach morningnice breakfastbreakfast roomlovely couplefull english breakfastthe pubbathsquirrelsgardenpubshouselanding
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 39 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely couple of nights as guests in this warm and homely B&B. Our host was very hospitable and made our stay quite special. It has some excellent pubs quite close for dinners and it is an easy drive to Bath. There are some walks and woods next door - we especially liked watching the birds in the morning from the breakfast room windows.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in early August. Breakfasts were the best we had in the 8 B&Bs we stayed in during our trip throughout England, Wales and Scotland. Fraser is very friendly and gave us recommendations for restaurants in the area.
He recommended parking in Bath's Park and Ride lot located a few miles outside of Bath. Buses came by every 10 minutes on the Sunday we were there and dropped us off at City centre. A great tip considering Bath gets 3 Million visitors a year. Parking in the City is a very tough to find.
I managed to break the toilet seat in our bathroom and I offered to pay for a new one. Fraser graciously offered to pay for half the cost and went out, bought a new one and had it installed by the time we were back around dinner time. What a host!! Thanks again Fraser for a Great Stay!

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hard_to_Please1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Black dog farm for 3 nights.
We were warmly welcomed. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious.
A cooked breakfast is included and delicious. Fraser is an amazing cook. There is a large choice of what you can have for your cooked breakfast. All are locally sourced. The eggs come from his chickens that have the run of the garden. They are great fun and they love company.
Also, Fraser loves to feed birds and the amount of birds we saw was spectacular.
Tea and coffee is in the room. We would happily gi back and intend to.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mrs Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser M, Owner at Black Dog Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Dear Mandy and Eric. Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure looking after you both and we would love to see you again, if only for a cup of tea if you are passing. Best Wishes. Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Staff very friendly and ever so welcoming, they made sure we had everything we needed for the trip. The house was really clean and comfortable, the room really quaint and with a lovely view, too. Overall the stay was nothing other than lovely. I would really recommend staying here if you are interested in visiting sites like Longleat, Wookey Hole, Center Parcs for the day or Bath- the place was really accessible and parking was easy, too. Thanks for a great stay Lyn and Fraser.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Four of us stayed for 2 nights. It was part of a 60th Birthday present from my daughter and her husband to have a VIP experience at Longleat Safari Park. Very warm welcome and really nice size rooms. Breakfast was ordered the night before but was really nice. Even my daughter who is vegetarian and gluten intolerant was very well catered for. Also plenty of tea and coffee. What topped the whole experience off was the garden. So many different birds, squirrels and pond creatures. The first morning we were greeted by one of 5 squirrels at our window (see photos). Apart from Nuthatch,Blue tits, great tits,and cole tits at the many feeders there was a bull finch and two types of woodpecker (again see photos). We could have spent hours just watching those. Also five bantams strolling around the garden. Trips to Longleat, Bath, Bradford upon Avon and Frome were really great. All in all a very good stay at a really great B&B. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser M, Owner at Black Dog Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2016

Thank you for your very kind comments. It was fun looking after you and chatting. Thank you also for the wonderful photos you posted. Please drop in for a cup of tea if you are passing. Best Regards. Lyn & Fraser.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews