We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Triabunna Cabin & Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Step back in time!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay in the budget ensuite cabin at the Triabunna caravan park. We arrived a little late as we came from a mammoth walk at wineglass bay. This was our stop for the night before going to Maria Island the next day. It is close to the ferry dock so was the best place to stay as the ferry was early in the morning.
The on site caravan has been extended to include a very spacious onsuite and extra a bedroom. The original part of the caravan is in its original state, it is very nostalgic. It has everything you need to cook and sleep comfortably. Would not hesitate to recommend it. Good value as well.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank la_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    43
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We arrived in Triabunna seeking a cabin for two nights to stay in whilst we visited Maria Island. Prior to accepting our booking the priority for the owner was to make sure we could get onto the ferry as we had not appreciated the need to book ahead. He discovered that although we could go across to the Island the next day, there was no return seat until the next day. We had originally wanted to stay overnight on the island, so the Owner very kindly facilitated our booking at bunkhouse on the Island and the ferry before then accepting payment now for only one night at his cabin.He was also able to rent us an extra sleeping bag for the night.
He could so easily have accepted our booking and left us to discover the lack of seats on the ferry, but clearly the owners here have a broader view of their role. On top of this the two bedroom cabin was terrific, spacious, very clean with everything required for self catering and most affordable. The owner Tony also suggested we park our car at the park whilst we were on the Island for added security.We were very comfortable as we prepared for our visit to Maria Island and would very much recommend others to stay at this caravan park. We also noted that the Camp Kitchen is very well equipped and provides much more than other such kitchens.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

As weather was turning bad we (my husband,myself and 3 year old) decided to get an onsite van. We were quoed $85 which we were happy to pay. But arrived to find out that you had to pay $1 for a five min shower and provide your own towel.The van was nice but not sure what the $85 included if you have to pay for showers. We have no probs with a shower timer but when you pay you expect to atleast have a shower with pressure not a dribble. In addition $5 for a load of washing and $5 to dry which us the most expensive we have cime across while travelling around Tas for the past 6weeks. On the upside the fish van at the wharf has awesome hot chips.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaheenandDane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W, Owner at Triabunna Cabin & Caravan Park, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We are sorry that our guests were not happy about the having to pay for their shower on top of the accommodation tariff. Our Onsite Caravan accommodation is essentially Backpacker Style accommodation designed to give very low cost accommodation per head and does not include ensuite facilities. Guests in this style of accommodation use the ablution block facilities, which at this time of the year are heavily patronized by our campers and powered sites. To stop people having excessively long showers, to the detriment of hot water quality and delays for other users, it was necessary to limit shower times to 5 minutes. The most effective way to do this was to place a charge on usage. If you want a longer shower you can pay a bit more, but generally people are more conscious about conserving water if they are paying for it.. We are not sure what was wrong with the hot water pressure, we have had no other complaints, but we will undertake some checks and remedy any problems.

In regard to the cost of washers & dryers in the laundry, the town laundromat recently closed, and we took over the role of providing these facilities to the travelling public. We did not change the pricing on the machines. They are set at the commercial norm for a laundromat.

Regards

Tony & Merna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Triabunna isn't exactly thriving and all we wanted was a place for the three of us to stay overnight before heading to Maria Island the next day, so our selection was made on the basis of price and availability. My first contact with the owner was by phone and he sounded very friendly - even helped with advice about the ferry to the island. We arrived and were pleased to find a two bedroom cabin that was clean and comfortable, had lots of local literature, and had a heating system that took care of the cold at night. Lots of DVDs were available at no cost and we had a peaceful evening indoors in a cosy cabin. The owners were very helpful and happy to answer any questions we had about Triabunna so we're happy to recommend this establishment as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Be sure you can get your car out of its parking space without reversing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We got two nights in a self-contained, well-decorated, and equipped cabin. Clean and comfortable. There was a BBQ nearby and a semi-covered deck to the cabin, so we ate fish from the Fish Van and Meat from the local butcher. The free wine we chose was high quality from the local Freycinet Winery. The cooked breakfast and packed lunch at the Gallery Cafe were both well prepared, the ferry staff were informative, and it was great to have the MTBs to explore the island on. Everyone involved very friendly and helpful, a lovely experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank WJohnKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Booked the studio suite for a 2 night stay while travelling to Maria Island. Well worth the money - room was cosy and the bed was just fantastically comfortable. Very quiet location and within walking distance to all facilities including the ferry to Maria Island. Had a very relaxing stay and would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed 3 nights, had friends camping and in backpackers. Our cabin was a perfect size for us and the kids. We were all very happy with the accommodation. Very clean. The staff were very helpful and willing to extend themselves for us. Perfect place to stay when visiting Maria. Raspins beach was great spot for the kids to play. Used BBQ regularly. It was clean and equip with utensils. No complaints. Will return next year.

Room Tip: Get the bigger cabin if you have kids. Generally pretty quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bef f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Triabunna
3.3 mi away
Orford Beachside Holiday Park
2.3 mi away
Eastcoaster Resort
Eastcoaster Resort
#5 of 5 in Orford
122 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#2 of 5 in Orford
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Gumleaves Bush Holidays
Gumleaves Bush Holidays
#1 of 1 in Little Swanport
57 reviews
8.0 mi away
Brockley Estate
Brockley Estate
#1 of 1 in Buckland
120 reviews
4.3 mi away
Orford's Sanda House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triabunna Cabin & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triabunna Cabin & Caravan Park

Property: Triabunna Cabin & Caravan Park
Address: 4 Vicary St, Triabunna, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Triabunna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Triabunna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Triabunna Cabin & Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Triabunna Cabin & Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Triabunna Cabin & Caravan Park Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing