We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pub Grub in the centre of Datchet”
Review of Royal Stag

Royal Stag
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Datchet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub in the centre of Datchet”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had 2 meals at the Royal Stag recently. excellent food, friendly staff, very good valus for money. I promise you will not be hungry with the portions they serve

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    58
    17
    21
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“dissappointed”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

yesterday I was in a party of 8 adult family members for which a table has been reserved, food was brought to the table in stages on tepid plates,not even warm, my lamb was inedible, and after trying to get my teeth into the lamb,I gave up, by this time the rest of the food on my plate was virtually cold, so left it, so much for Sunday Lunch !, I prefer quality to quantity,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well done. Great atmostphere Thanks!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Called in here for a meal and a pint, Great atmosphere nice people and good attentive staff, the food was excellent. Would definitely eat here again if ever in the area. Well done

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank anthony1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb food and friendly service”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely outdoor area and superb freshly cooked food at a reasonable price. Only criticism is that service was slow on the day we went, but it was fairly busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rach033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murchison
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get away from the river.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Whilst rowing down the Thames for nine days we learnt that we were more likely to find value and character in a pub if we walked away from the river a little. The Royal Stag is an example of this; it not only has a good ale selection and menu but it has a handprint on one of it's panes of glass, said to have been caused by a ghost. No amount of cleaning (they say) can make it disappear - even changing the glass doesn't help!
I am pleased to say that there was nothing spooky about the cajun chicken sandwich which was very tasty - and 'Royal Baby' ale was fine. I suspect the latter will not be available regularly, but they obviously care about their beers and there is plenty of other choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Stag also viewed

Datchet, Windsor and Maidenhead
Datchet, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Wraysbury, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Royal Stag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing