We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed afternoon tea”
Review of The Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Datchet
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed afternoon tea”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I booked afternoon tea to celebrate my birthday, as there was a large group of 12 and it being so close to christmas I wanted to pre-book somewhere and had to pay it all upfront.
Seemed to be some confusions with the booking and emails going back and forth.
We arrived and were in our own separate room away from the main eating area. Atmosphere lacking. 2round tables set up at either side of the room, they obviously hadn't thought we'd come out as a group for a reason! We pushed the tables together.
Given our champagne but 2 glasses missing so had to call them back (which wasn't easy as we were in a separate room).
Asked them if they could play some music through due to lack of atmos which didn't happen.
Requested highchairs for 2 children when booking and day before and it stated on booking form but we had to ask them and 15 mins later they arrived.
Afternoon tea I could have done better myself in 5 minutes flat. The 'sweet treats' was just carrot cake. The 'selection on finger sandwiches' were very basic and lacked any desire. Scones were nice.
Tea and coffee came in big canisters, no little tea pots and no service whatsoever. All the food and drink was just left on a table in the corner.
£180 I expected a little more-just a few changes and the experience would have been a lot better. Its not rocket science.
I don't recommend going here for afternoon tea and if that reflects on anything else in the hotel I wouldn't bother.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Aust_n_Dred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    60
    81
    84
    120
See reviews for
47
114
15
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very disappointing stay. Room was very small for a double, smaller than a standard double. Had dinner in hotel were promised a free bottle of wine with a three course meal. Had two courses and could not stomach another course. Risotto was disgusting, egg was hard, should have been runny, risotto was tasteless, lots of it, but left majority. Did mention to the waiter that it was not good. Heard shouting from the kitchen but no apology and still charged for it. (I later complained and had the money for this course refunded.)

Asked Reception if we did in deed have a double room and they moved us. Why not upgrade people when they arrive. It makes good business sense, and would have saved them changing and cleaning two rooms!

Could be a goldmine but need to improve big time. Prime location, very little immediate competition and some great staff, undermined by the bad!

Room Tip: Unfortunately you need to complain to get a decent room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Datchet hotels

Reading
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A friend and I booked afternoon tea at The Manor in Datchet via a Groupon special offer. The room in which the tea was held was Ok but if you looked closely the whole place was a little shabby around the edges, with wonkey tables and peeling wall coverings, the toilets being the most underwhelming and in urgent need of refurbishment.

The tea itself was again OK for what we paid for it, however if we had paid the standard list price of £19 I would have been asking for a refund!! We had three different types of sandwich, cheedar, soft cheese and cucumber, and tuna, these were alright but not exactly luxurious. Then there was fruit scones that were tasty and still warm, and carrot cake. Overall the food was average and not "posh" food that you might expect from an afternoon tea in a nice hotel such as this.

We didn't stay overnight at The Manor so can't comment on the rooms, but to be fair the decor in the Hotel areas looked a little more in keeping with the standards you would expect, however I probably wouldn't rush back to have food here based on today's experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KABReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Recently visited this hotel as a treat for my fiancé through a groupon deal. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who quickly checked us in and explained where our room was. We pre booked dinner in the restaurant when making the booking as well. Had a drink in the bar first and the lady behind the bar was brilliant, so funny and very good at her job.
At this point the manager came to tell us our table was ready if we were ready to eat. He showed us to our table, offered menus an drinks and made us feel so welcome. He personally made recommendations for my dietary requirements to try the risotto and the aubergine which were both delicious!
Overall, we had a lovely stay and were made to feel welcome by every member of staff with the manager even remembering us in the morning and in particular my dietary requirements. We would recommend to anyone and we will certainly be back in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel and most the staff are nice. The manager is awful and rude. He offended me and my wife and he came across as a bully to the rest of the staff. He made our stay a very unpleasant one.
I would recommend this hotel unless this manager is on duty.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fusionator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked this on a groupon. Very smal room and bathroom. But very clean. Our room was out the front on the main road but the noise was not a problem. We were booked in early without any fuss and were able to enjoy the rest of our day in Windsor which is a short train journey away.
Our overall stay here was JUST ok but I really dont think we will use this hotel again.
If youre thinking of eating here the food in the restaurant was spot on. Both our meals were excellant. The waitresses friendly and hard working. Though I think the head waiter/ manager was trained at the Basil Fawlty school of charm !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading,Berks, UK
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We recently went for the Groupon "tea for two" deal (so didn't stay overnight) which I guess they hope will entice you back again to pay the full price for something - it didn't work for me.

There was nothing particularly wrong and the hotel itself looks Ok and the staff were very attentive, but I did doubt that some of the French accents were real - it seemed to be a little bit pretentious and to my mind is advertsing beyond the reality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Datchet
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
1.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
541 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel

Property: The Manor Hotel
Address: Village Green, Datchet SL3 9EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Datchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Datchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor Hotel is situated overlooking the village green & near to the banks of the River Thames.It is within easy access to the M4, M25 & Heathrow airport is 15 minutes drive away.The Manor is 5 minutes from Windsor town centre & the Windsor Castle & is easily accessible to London via the train.The hotel has 54 bedrooms of varying size & 4 function rooms available to use for conferences, parties, weddings or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Datchet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing