We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, simple, tidy, quaint”
Review of The Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Datchet
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stay here fairly regularly for business, its always clean and tidy, well presented, and good accessibility to nearby Slough, Windsor, Eton, Heathrow etc. Just off the M4/M25.

I have stayed in a few different rooms, my favourite being one of the loft rooms with a sloping ceiling. Probably best not if you're tall though.

Only critisisms would be that it can be a bit noisy as there are fairly busy roads around the place, and that you can definitely hear aircraft until fairly late on, but then you stay that close to Heathrow, what do you expect?!

Overall a nice little place to stay.

Room Tip: If you're a shorty like me, the loft is great, otherwise, the rooms are all about the same.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding the Manor Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoy visiting the Manor & we will aim to allocate you the room you like in the loft on your next stay. Please let us know the room number at the time of booking. Kind Regards, Megan, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for The Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 393 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel has a great location, but...
The bar can get pretty loud with "outsiders". Rooms are very small, corridors are narrow and uneven, up and down steps all the time. Lots of noise from traffic and the bar/floorboards.
No air conditioning in standard rooms so you have to put up with the traffic
I have stayed in about 5 different rooms and the bathrooms are ridiculously small.

The high point is Spices restaurant a out 20 yards down the road - a real gem that!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if you want the window open
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotChilli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your feddback regarding the Manor Hotel. I would very much like to speak to you directly to discuss your experiences. Please could you contact me at your earliest convenience. Kind Regards, Megan, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Went for a champagne afternoon tea after buiyng a groupn voucher. Could not fault a thing from the welcome received from the restaraunt staff who welcomed us and showed us to the lounge where we had tea on large comfy sofas to the tasty fresh sandwiches and scrumptious cakes and scones

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Karenh0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent visit to the Manor Hotel. I am glad that you had a lovely afternoon tea & I will pass on your comments to the team. We hope to welcome you back to the Manor Hotel in the future. Kind Regards, Megan, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Staff at check in/ out were not very welcoming and neither could pronounce my name - which is a very common one in UK. Room was small and very shabby, with torn curtain, thin, grey bedding and grey towels. Whilst clean, the bathroom stank of artificial spray that was really unpleasant and off-putting What smells was it trying to hide? The room was also very cold but when asked the hotel did put on the heating - thank you. However, quality of sleep was poor due to just a blanket and sheet on the bed (where was the duvet?) and inferior pillows. Overall, not a very pleasant room to be in - particularly since whilst there was a double bed, this was pushed up against the wall so that you could get in to the room, and was also against the end of the radiator. Not a hotel that I could recommend due to the poor room and staff attitude.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room and check that the bed has decent linen.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologise that you were so disappointed by the Manor Hotel. I would very much like to speak with you further about your experience. If you could contact me directly at your convenience I would appreciate it. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, Megan, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We booked four nights at this Hotel in a Petite Double room, this did not prepare us for what awaited. The petite tag does not adequately describe the minute dimensions of this room. A complaint was made to the Duty Manager and a slightly larger room was provided, but the bed was extremely uncomfortable, we finally upgraded to an excutive double which was about the standard size for a room in any other hotel. On checking out we were requested to pay an upgrade fee of an extra 30 pounds ( which reminds me, we were charged for our stay on ARRIVAL, probably to make it more difficult to cut and run once the size of the rooms was viewed). A polite refusal to pay the upgrade fee was accepted.
Very little was offered by staff in the way of customer service, who watched as we lugged heavy suitcases up flights of stairs, etc.
Even if you have no alternative, avoid staying here. Better to sleep in your car!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollie_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologise that you had a disappointing stay at the Manor. The Manor Hotel has recently been taken over by new management & I would very much like to speak with you further about your experience. If you could contact me directly at your convenience I would appreciate it. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, Megan, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

After staying in Somerset for the first part of our honeymoon in a beautiful hotel, we were excited to spend the last part of our trip in Windsor, typed in 4 star hotels in google and The Manor Hotel showed up. Website looked very professional and inviting, pictures of the rooms looked beautiful.

On arriving, we managed to grab the last parking space outside. Went to reception looked clean and well decorated which is always a good sign. Our room was located 2 houses down in the cottage which I thought was odd as I had booked the executive room which I thought was in the main hotel. Anyway opened the door to our room was expecting a spacious, clean, modern room but oh no we were greeted by a very cramped, dated, dirty room. The bathroom was teeny the bath was the size of a small child, the bed valance and cushions had what looked like bodily fluids on it, stains on the curtains, cobwebs everywhere, the desk chair leg was broken, cracked window, even found a loose wire hanging.

Went to complain, the man at reception was non-apologetic and must of known that we were going to complain and immediately gave us another key for another room......in what looked like someone's house up the road! Did not bother going in at all, I had paid to stay in a hotel not the house up the road. We were there for 30 minutes, we couldn't get a hotel elsewhere and were forced to cut our honeymoon short. That will teach me for not reading reviews before booking!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaniToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologise that you were so disappointed by the Manor Hotel. The Manor Hotel has recently been taken over by new management & I would very much like to speak with you further about your experience. If you could contact me directly at your convenience I would appreciate it. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, Megan, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in September 2012. The room was filthy, damp and cold - I requested that someone come and switch on the heating but despite visiting reception nobody showed up. The room was advertised as having wireless Internet (in the price) but it didn't work.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Chrys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the Manor Hotel. I apologise for your stay not being as expected. The Manor Hotel has recently been taken over by new management & I would very much like to speak with you further about your experience. If you could contact me directly at your convenience I would appreciate it. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, Megan, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Datchet
1.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,877 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
14.3 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel

Address: Village Green, Datchet SL3 9EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Datchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Datchet
Price Range: $86 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor Hotel is situated overlooking the village green & near to the banks of the River Thames.It is within easy access to the M4, M25 & Heathrow airport is 15 minutes drive away.The Manor is 5 minutes from Windsor town centre & the Windsor Castle & is easily accessible to London via the train.The hotel has 54 bedrooms of varying size & 4 function rooms available to use for conferences, parties, weddings or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Datchet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing