We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Calais Mount Resort
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were 4 school friends catching up for a couple of days and decided on Mt Manganui. Calais was very reasonably priced and location was appealing. We were delighted to be upgraded to the penthouse upon arrival. Staff were very helpful during our stay. Easy walking distance to cafes, shops and attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandJMaitland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 141 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Fantastic location.Ideal for Families. Cleaning needs to be improved unless you are partial to cobwebs and poorly vacuumed carpet.Still good value for money if you can look past this.Attention to detail could make this a perfect place to stay for a long-term holiday. Well appointed apartments.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRetiredCentralCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

A friend and I spent one night here last night. A last minute booking after a days shopping at the Mount. The apart was reduced to a very good price for us by lady on reception as it was the smallest room available for the night. For which we were really grateful. The two rooms apart can sleep up to 6 people. Very spacious bedrooms, lounge area, dining room and other seating/pull out couch area. Huge deck area also. Bathroom on the smaller side, but still plenty of room.
Only negative was lighting, not very well lit rooms, but still ok. Underground parking for 1 car, but the lady let us put the two cars in for one night. Parking area a little tight for bigger cars, but I managed. Very close to harbour and ocean beaches. Close walk to town, About 10mins tops. Great icecream parlour virtually next door. Hot pools across the road. We spend 5-6 weeks here each summer in the holiday park across the road. So know the area very well. Nice to stay in an apartment for a change. And it would be ideal for holiday place to stay, so close to everything. Mount Bistro is down stairs here. Meals a bit pricey, but it seems to be regularly busy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here two nights while husband on business. Weather was atrocious so great to have basement parking and lift. Check in very quick and efficient, rooms getting a bit dated and as we were on ground floor there was no view except neighbouring high risers. Wouldn't want to stay here in high season as it was a bit noisy. Suited our purpose though and a great location

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nicely located at the base of the mount and close to the sea and beach.

Check in was quick and easy, and very friendly. The room had everything I needed. Large double bed, flat screen TV, stereo system, kitchenette with fridge, cooker, microwave, sink and all the cutlery and crockery you need. The bathroom is a God send with a huge jacuzzi bath, sink, shower, washing machine and tumble drier.

A double door between the corridor and the living space stopped any outside noise from within the hotel, however my sleep was rudely awoken early in the morning by roofing works being carried out on a property outside my double doors/balcony, not the fault of the Calais Mount Resort though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr Iain M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom apartment. Reasonably spacious. Opposite the actual Mount. 2 minutes walk to ocean beach (lovely cafes for breakfast there) or harbour beach. 10 minute walk into town. Parking underground. Friendly welcome and efficient check in and out. Shower head not high enough for my husband - he had to crouch to get under it - he is not that tall! Well equipped kitchen for short stay. Would recommend it especially if you can get a special deal as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have stayed at the Calais Mount Resort three times now, but only in the warmer months. We've always had a good stay and expected the same this visit. We booked through Wotif as two couples and our friends got the main bedroom which was spacious with a Queen bed. The second bedroom, which we had was very small with two very short single beds, more suited to young children. We had the worst sleep as both my husband and I froze during the night even with the electric blanket on and the room heater. We both hate electric blankets and they didn't really help. There was only the one comforter on the bed and this patently wasn't enough. There was also massive condensation on the windows in the morning. So the next day we asked for more blankets and were given a comforter each for extra warmth which made the next night much more bearable. I wonder why we had to spend the first night freezing. Why weren't there extra blankets in the smaller bedroom? There were four ineffective heaters in this small apartment and none of them really made much difference to our comfort. They'd be better off getting one heat pump for for the whole apartment.

Room Tip: Make sure you have extra blankets in the winter before you go to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viaggio46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#8 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
133 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#29 of 57 in Tauranga
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#11 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
7 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mission Belle Motel
Mission Belle Motel
#3 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calais Mount Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calais Mount Resort

Address: 6 Adams Avenue, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $113 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calais Mount Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right at the base of Mount Maunganui opposite the famous Salt Water Hot Pools which each guest will get a 20% discount card for multiple visits during your stay. 1 minute walk from the Harbour, cafes and Main Beach. Onsite Award winning restaurant 'The Mount Bistro' Apartments range from Studios through to Two Bedroom + Conservatories. We offer one of the lowest corporate rates in our area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Calais Mount Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing