We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Calais Mount Resort
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Perfectly located for us as we were at Mt Maunganui for a Surf Lifesaving Competition, so were able to walk over to the beach in a few minutes and even nip back to use the apartment toilet during the day or en route between Pilot Bay (harbour side) and the Main Beach. Across the road from the hot pools and adjacent to plenty of restaurants and eating establishments of all types. Convenience store a few doors away. We had a downstairs studio apartment with a pull-out sofa bed. It was adequate, but the room is very small and cramped once the sofa bed is extended into a bed! In fact, we had to stack some chairs so we could move around the room! We visited friends in their top floor 2 brm apartment and it was spacious, airy, smart and had lovely views and balconies. The downside of our ground floor room was noise - we were in Room 105 and had a lot of foot traffic coming past, chatter and clattering until late at night. A lot of noise from other accommodation in the area as well. Has a washing machine and dryer which was fantastic. Kitchen wasn't well equipped - had the very basics, but no strainer/seive/colander and no grater. No bowls or storage containers. No casserole or baking dishes or anything for cooking in, in the microwave. Comfortable bed. Very helpful reception staff. Brilliant location.

Room Tip: If on the ground floor, opt for one further to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 137 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Well this place is situated perfectly between the surf and harbourside beaches. An easy 600 -700 m walk or so into the main street for fabulous bars and eateries. It's not new, and it's not the latest in interior design, but it was more than adequate for a week long stay at an affordable price in peak season. Pleasantly surprised at having a washing machine and dryer available in our unit - didn't expect that - and so nice not to have all that washing to do at the end of the holiday. We were in a unit on the bottom floor and had a tiny courtyard, no views except to the neighbouring apartments carpark, but we were out enjoying the beaches and great eateries to worry about whether we had views or not. Definately great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are quieter and levels 2 and 3 have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a wonderful experience at this apartment. After reading some of the reviews we were hesistant about what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. The room we had was on the ground floor with a big, safe enclosed courtyard -great for our two young children. This was recommend by the person we spoke to and really fitted our needs as a young family. It also had a view of the Mount. We found the staff very helpful. The house staff came daily to replace towels and rubbish. As mentioned, the wooden blinds need replacing or fixing and the apartment we were in was dusty around the windowsills and ranchslider. The dishwasher may be on the way out and a dish drying rack and a clothes horse would not go amiss either.
Location is sooo fab we only had to use our car to get some groceries. We had such a great time that we have booked again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AucklandRobertlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great Location. Just a short walk to cafes, shops, beach, pilot bay and hot pools. Stayed here for a week with family and hardly ever used the car during our stay.

Stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the ground floor. Room was equipped with everything we needed for our stay. Room was tidy and could not hear noise from other rooms above or either side. However guests emptying their bottles into the bins located outside the rooms on the ground floor could pose an annoyance for some. Maybe the bins could be relocated to the basement?

Rooms are getting a bit dated but when you weigh up the price, location and what you get in a room then this place is great value.

Front desk were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidSubritzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here overnight when visiting the mount and from booking on the phone to checkout all was great. Comfortable studio apartment, very clsoe to cafes and restaurant as well as beach adn hot pools and therefore convenient. Will definatelty visit again. Thanks

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very good location and service, clean place. Decor is quite colorful, with yellow/green bathroom and green/blue rooms, giving it a bit of a feeling of being outdated.

Each room gets one parking space, in a basement underneath the motel. Reception was closed at night, but there were phone extensions provided for a manager on the site. I found stuff to be exceptionally polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIgnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a two bedroom with a peak of the sea and great view of mount - apartments a great size and huge balconies. More care needed such as broken drying rack, unreadable phone instructions, bulbs not working in reading lamps etc. while there we had one terrifying night with a drunk in the apartment below us smashing bottles on his balcony and being aggressive we called police. These things can happen but we had to bring it up with staff to get some clarity on the occurrence - if we didn't do this I doubt any customer communication with those near his apartment would have happened.
Staff obliging - very apologetic about incident.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swallow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Maunganui hotels
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#6 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mission Belle Motel
Mission Belle Motel
#4 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlas Suites & Apartments
Atlas Suites & Apartments
#15 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
55 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#11 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calais Mount Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calais Mount Resort

Address: 6 Adams Avenue, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $101 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calais Mount Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right at the base of Mount Maunganui opposite the famous Salt Water Hot Pools which each guest will get a 20% discount card for multiple visits during your stay. 1 minute walk from the Harbour, cafes and Main Beach. Onsite Award winning restaurant 'The Mount Bistro' Apartments range from Studios through to Two Bedroom + Conservatories. We offer one of the lowest corporate rates in our area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Calais Mount Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing