We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment, Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calais Mount Resort
Geelong
Level Contributor
270 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great apartment, Great location”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had a three night stay here after finding this place on Latestays?? It was a super deal being quiet season, for 4 adults it was in fact much cheaper than a Motel family room anywhere in the area. We stayed in a 2 brm, (room 301) with lovely views of the Bay & directly opposite the Hot salt pools, (which we never got to try). Check-in was a breeze, we had secure basement car parking complete with remote gate openers & lifts to all floors. The apartment was well set up, identical to all pictures on their site & although maybe in need of a good dusting in some areas like the ceiling fan, bathroom fan & blinds, everything was certainly pretty much to our standard. All cutlery & crockery looked new & everything was in good condition. There is extensive balconies around the apartment & both bedrooms & lounge/dining had sliding doors. The only thing that could pose a slight problem to some people is there is only one toilet & that is in the bathroom.
I would certainly recommend this place to anyone, being at the base of the Mount, which is very close to the beach, clubs, all shopping, & also the docks where cruise ships are frequently present.

Room Tip: Front corners have lovely views although we would have been quite content with anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh H, Manager at Calais Mount Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I just checked and you got your special through wotif. Our website also has great value offers every month. It was a pleasure accommodating you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    54
    40
    15
    5
See reviews for
55
45
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
147 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Found this apartment on a last minute site for an absolute bargin, the cost was comparable to a standard motel room at other properties. Located at the foot of the mount and a stones throw to the centre of town. The apartment contained everything a family could need for a longish stay, with room to move. We didnt utilise the resturant but I did notice the menu on the wall and it didnt appear to be cheap or even reasonably priced. All in all would definately stay again if the price was right, as summer months prices can be steep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh H, Manager at Calais Mount Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. Our aim is to provide our guests with quality accommodation at affordable prices. It is great to hear that our special offers are appreciated and they will continue. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The location of this property is its selling point,superb. We had a one bedroom apartment with all facilities. Decor a bit dated but was clean and presentable. Towels were changed daily,rubbish removed and extra tea and coffee provided if needed. Cooking facilities were basic but not a major issue as cafes galore outside the apartment.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
We raised one safety issue--they need to put none slip mats in the shower

Room Tip: Book direct with the Apartment operator ouy'll get a better deal than using a hotel booking site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlickW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh H, Manager at Calais Mount Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the feedback regarding the bath mats (I was the one you spoke to about this on your departure) I have since added this to the agenda. All the best, and thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed in April 2012 in a 2 bedroom apartment service was good there was 6 of us plenty of sleeping room for us all,was reading a comment above about a very disgruntled person that called the receptionist a fat ugly person who was very rude blabla.On our arrival guessing i had same receptionist who certainly was not ugly and very polite we were asked if we would like milk for our coffee or tea and enjoyed our stay.I my self think this ugly minded person who wrote this comment is very insecure within her self and may be she was envious of the receptionist who was very out going and friendly and did all she could too make us feel at home,i myself she had very good energy unlike the dark small minded energy who made that comment could not read it all properly cos they didnt know how to spell.I will be staying again hope they dont have cheek too come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh H, Manager at Calais Mount Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank You for your support and contribution. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in a 1brm apartment. Wouldn't call this a luxury resort, the decor is out dated, and the rooms are not serviced daily. You'd only have the towels replaced daily. The location however is superb. The mount, hot pools, beach and cafes are a few steps away, town itself is not too far either. Underground parking is handy, leave the car there and walk about. The apartment itself is comfortable, we had the pull out sofa in the lounge and a queen bed in the room. The kitchen has everything you need for basic cooking (on the stove). Would recommend for the location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank th12th12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh H, Manager at Calais Mount Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank You for your response. To help keep our rates at the best value in the area we offer a basic daily room service, all towels are replaced, all rubbish is taken and condiments are topped up daily. We can offer a full daily service if the guest would prefer at a slightly increased rate. However most guests seem to prefer the default basic service at the lower room rate when the choice is presented to them. For stays 7 nights or more they will receive a full service at no extra cost every 4 days. Our target is to provide quality accommodation at affordable prices. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at Calais for one night during the Easter weekend. We were delighted to get the accommodation as we could only get away for the one night and all the other hotels/motels I had enquired at about vacancies would only take bookings for three nights minimum. We arrived early and as our room wasn't ready yet we were told by the friendly young lady at reception that we could leave our luggage in the room. We chose not to but appreciated the offer. The room was as roomy as any studio room I have ever seen, clean and tidy,well set out and well appointed. However I was disappointed at the quality of the TV reception and we got noise from a nearby bar or party. The bed was not to our liking but we find it hard to enjoy any other bed than ours. The location is perfect with lots of cafes nearby and very close to Ocean Beach or the Pilot Bay beach and a hot pool is across the road. There is a great little pizza place a few steps away from the hotels gate. I am not sure if I would call it a 4 star hotel but I would stay here again no worries.

Room Tip: Norther and western rooms above the ground floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh H, Manager at Calais Mount Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thanks for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure accommodating you and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom Apartment, the location was very good .The apartment was well appointed .Had a little outdoor area for sitting outside. There are no views , which did not worry us at all .My only gripe was the room we stayed in the blind was not adequate enough to keep out the outdoor lighting and the blind was ill fitting to the window .Secondly the rooms are quite dark by day , no lighting near the mirror in the lounge for applying makeup or power point near the mirror to dry hair. It was impossible to use the bathroom mirror as the hand basin is quite large jutting out making it impossible to get close to the mirror. Apart from that (girlie problems) we would have no hesitation in recommending this place .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wittsNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh H, Manager at Calais Mount Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thanks for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Some of the two bedroom apartments get a view, if you request this when you make the booking we will do our best to accommodate this for you. It was a pleasure accommodating you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri On Pilot Bay
Capri On Pilot Bay
#5 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mission Belle Motel
Mission Belle Motel
#4 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calais Mount Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calais Mount Resort

Property: Calais Mount Resort
Address: 6 Adams Avenue, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Calais Mount Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right at the base of Mount Maunganui opposite the famous Salt Water Hot Pools which each guest will get a 20% discount card for multiple visits during your stay. 1 minute walk from the Harbour, cafes and Main Beach. Onsite Award winning restaurant 'The Mount Bistro' Apartments range from Studios through to Two Bedroom + Conservatories. We offer one of the lowest corporate rates in our area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calais Mount Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing