We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calais Mount Resort
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed in April 2012 in a 2 bedroom apartment service was good there was 6 of us plenty of sleeping room for us all,was reading a comment above about a very disgruntled person that called the receptionist a fat ugly person who was very rude blabla.On our arrival guessing i had same receptionist who certainly was not ugly and very polite we were asked if we would like milk for our coffee or tea and enjoyed our stay.I my self think this ugly minded person who wrote this comment is very insecure within her self and may be she was envious of the receptionist who was very out going and friendly and did all she could too make us feel at home,i myself she had very good energy unlike the dark small minded energy who made that comment could not read it all properly cos they didnt know how to spell.I will be staying again hope they dont have cheek too come back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh H, Manager at Calais Mount Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank You for your support and contribution. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Calais Mount Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 136 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in a 1brm apartment. Wouldn't call this a luxury resort, the decor is out dated, and the rooms are not serviced daily. You'd only have the towels replaced daily. The location however is superb. The mount, hot pools, beach and cafes are a few steps away, town itself is not too far either. Underground parking is handy, leave the car there and walk about. The apartment itself is comfortable, we had the pull out sofa in the lounge and a queen bed in the room. The kitchen has everything you need for basic cooking (on the stove). Would recommend for the location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank th12th12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh H, Manager at Calais Mount Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank You for your response. To help keep our rates at the best value in the area we offer a basic daily room service, all towels are replaced, all rubbish is taken and condiments are topped up daily. We can offer a full daily service if the guest would prefer at a slightly increased rate. However most guests seem to prefer the default basic service at the lower room rate when the choice is presented to them. For stays 7 nights or more they will receive a full service at no extra cost every 4 days. Our target is to provide quality accommodation at affordable prices. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at Calais for one night during the Easter weekend. We were delighted to get the accommodation as we could only get away for the one night and all the other hotels/motels I had enquired at about vacancies would only take bookings for three nights minimum. We arrived early and as our room wasn't ready yet we were told by the friendly young lady at reception that we could leave our luggage in the room. We chose not to but appreciated the offer. The room was as roomy as any studio room I have ever seen, clean and tidy,well set out and well appointed. However I was disappointed at the quality of the TV reception and we got noise from a nearby bar or party. The bed was not to our liking but we find it hard to enjoy any other bed than ours. The location is perfect with lots of cafes nearby and very close to Ocean Beach or the Pilot Bay beach and a hot pool is across the road. There is a great little pizza place a few steps away from the hotels gate. I am not sure if I would call it a 4 star hotel but I would stay here again no worries.

Room Tip: Norther and western rooms above the ground floor have the best views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boyo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh H, Manager at Calais Mount Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thanks for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure accommodating you and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom Apartment, the location was very good .The apartment was well appointed .Had a little outdoor area for sitting outside. There are no views , which did not worry us at all .My only gripe was the room we stayed in the blind was not adequate enough to keep out the outdoor lighting and the blind was ill fitting to the window .Secondly the rooms are quite dark by day , no lighting near the mirror in the lounge for applying makeup or power point near the mirror to dry hair. It was impossible to use the bathroom mirror as the hand basin is quite large jutting out making it impossible to get close to the mirror. Apart from that (girlie problems) we would have no hesitation in recommending this place .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wittsNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh H, Manager at Calais Mount Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Thanks for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Some of the two bedroom apartments get a view, if you request this when you make the booking we will do our best to accommodate this for you. It was a pleasure accommodating you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This place was definitely average. Nothing special. Rooms are nice. Front desk staff not super friendly or helpful. Glad we only booked 1 night there. Location is good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh H, Manager at Calais Mount Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Thank You for your feedback Jenny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

On arrival asked for the complimentary hot pool single entry passes which was included on booking, received them with bad attitude. Unit door handle broken and had to wait 3 hours for a repairman. Stayed in 2 bedroom + conservatory room. A queen bed in main room with 2 singles in the other, a pull out double bed sofa in the conservatory and lounge area. Clean and tidy. Washing machine and dryer is a bonus. Broken toilet seat was unable to get another unit as resort fully booked. Great location but will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonstone69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh H, Manager at Calais Mount Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Hello, Sorry to hear the receptionist seemed to have a bit of an attitude. I have since spoken to her about this. Regarding the door handle, we had to call somebody in to fix this. Servicemen dont always come out as soon as you call them, especially in the busy peak season. The toilet seat was also replaced as soon as possible. We tend to general wear and tear items as soon as we are aware of them. If we had vacancy, we would of been more than happy to upgrade you for the inconvenience caused.

Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed in high peak summer season. Free basement parking for 1 car. Great Location, 3 min walk to the Mount shops and 1 min walk to either Pilot Bay beach or main Surf beach.

Stayed in a 2 bedroom + conservatory room. 2 singles in 1 and Queen in main. Double Sofa bed in Conservatory. Tidy but getting a bit dated with CRT TVs. Our room had DVD player and you can hire DVDs from the vending machine at the convenience store next door. Washing Machine & Dryer a bonus if you have kiddies.

Only downer is no on site pool however there are the hot pools directly across the road. If you plan to go there ask reception at the resort for the discount card for the hot pools.

Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Upon our arrival home we noticed we had lost some clothing. We emailed the resort in the morning and by the afternoon Nicole had looked for our clothing and replied back to us, her prompt action was much appreciated and I thought this was another display of their top service.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSubritzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh H, Manager at Calais Mount Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Hi there, Thank You for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back again. All of our televisions have been upgraded to the flat screen LCD or Plasma since your stay and furniture upgrades are in progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Maunganui hotels
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#6 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mission Belle Motel
Mission Belle Motel
#4 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri On Pilot Bay
Capri On Pilot Bay
#5 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
113 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#9 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calais Mount Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calais Mount Resort

Address: 6 Adams Avenue, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $99 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calais Mount Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right at the base of Mount Maunganui opposite the famous Salt Water Hot Pools which each guest will get a 20% discount card for multiple visits during your stay. 1 minute walk from the Harbour, cafes and Main Beach. Onsite Award winning restaurant 'The Mount Bistro' Apartments range from Studios through to Two Bedroom + Conservatories. We offer one of the lowest corporate rates in our area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Calais Mount Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing