We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mount Maunganui
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Ways to Experience Pilot Bay
from $20.25
More Info
from $118.10
More Info
from $101.23
More Info
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveler rating
253
106
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
253
106
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips watch the cruise ships safe swimming board walk great spot picnic spot calm waters boat ramp watch the world sun sets paddle boards great place for families great for kids ice cream surf beach main beach short walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful views of a very picturesque area. The sea temperature is usually just right for a swim. If there is a cruise ship in port then expect it to be quite busy. You must take the walk around the Mount or up to the top and don't leave the camera behind!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We love grabbing takeaways for dinner and parking up at Pilot Bay to enjoy it. Or picnic while you watch the sunset or cruise ships going out.

Amazing dinner spot with a view

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank raakel-joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

I joined the underwater club in pilot bay it’s got cheap drinks and good food. Also a chance to dine beside the water and watch the cruise ships go by.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank DianaB166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

I like Pilot Bay better than Main Beach because I'm a swimmer and I like calm water. Picnic-ers, swimmers, paddle-boarders, kayaks, cruise liners, tankers - the Pilot By view isalways busy. Go around the corner to Main Beach if you want to surf and be part of the action.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Pixiehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

Seek out Avocado Toast in the cafes along the main street in this little beachfront place. I find all of New Zealand sort of upscale and sophisticated compared to a lot of the world.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank bkyrdsoahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews