We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Nice, clean room with everything we needed. Very comfortable bed. Great location. Just over the road from the hot pools and beach and lots of cafes to choose from. ( I recommend Blue). One small moan would be that they charge for every little extra. i.e. internet (although turns out this is negotiable!) and extra $2 per beach towell etc. Smaller, privately owned motels don't charge extra for these things. Also, on arrival the reception staff could have been a bit more welcoming. On check out the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthlandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 181 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2009

Our stay was brief - literally a place to put our heads for the night. The room was huge, and could have slept an entire family if needed. It was also spotlessly clean, and had everything we needed. Our view was limited, as we were on the ground floor and overlooked a small internal square. Parking is beneath the hotel, and as the hotel was closed when we arrived, we entered by a complex system of numbers awaiting us in an envelope in a locked and coded box!

Our bed was comfortable, but we woke the next morning, at 6.30 am, to a building site right behind the hotel, and all the noise that goes with it. However, the plus to that was we were up and ready for breakfast at one of the many small cafes around the corner. I wouldn't have liked to have stayed there for longer than a night, though - or perhaps just over a weekend, when the pile drivers weren't at work. The work will obviously be going on for some time - possibly another hotel going up behind.

The staff were very friendly and useful, and we were allowed to keep our car underground after we had checked out, but before we left Tauranga later that day.

The situation is good - 2 minutes from the sea front, and the same distance from the Mount, but it reminded me just a little too much of an English seaside town, and I had travelled 12,000 miles to escape that!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

Stayed 2 nights in the Oceanside Resort (not the towers) Sept/Oct 2008. Rooms were outstanding with plenty of room and room for a family of 4 if needed. Kitchen facilities were faultless. Nicely situated at the foot of the mountain. The only mild annoyance was the construction of a high rise across the road which hindered the views. Walking distance to all Mt Maunganui attractions and restaurants/cafes. Reception staff were more than helpful. Would definitely stay again in future.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Porkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

All in all we had a good weekend here.
Large, comfortable room, plenty of room for our child to run around.
Good kitchenette with microwave.
Huge balcony.
Great location.

The bed was well and truly ready for a replacement, it was not comfortable.
Surprised to see mould on curtains.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TuskoHopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Beautiful location..looking right out at the Mount. We stayed in a room in the Motor Lodge part of the complex. Staff very friendly on arrival (and throughout our stay). Car parking (in a secure underground parking lot ) was tight..parks very small and a bit of a hassle to get in and out of.

Room was a very good size with fairly new decor (the room however was older and showed signs of wear and tear that comes with age...definitely could do with a bit of TLC in regard to overall appearance etc). Large super king bed was great. The room also had a lovely large sofa which was also a good feature and very useful for afternoon naps!. Bathroom was adequate but a little old. The room was a little noisy due to being so close to a busy road and camping ground.

Overall our stay was great. The area itself stunning. The walk to the top of the Mount fantastic. We enjoyed the 3.2km loop around the base of the Mount on on a daily basis. Beaches, sun, surf and sand..just lovely. Very relaxing and chilled out. The Pool complex opposite the hotel was great with fabulous vista's.

Our only disappointment was that most of the cafes and restuarants that were open during the day shut at 5pm so getting a meal in close proximity was difficult. Probably the most disappointing part of the holiday was not finding a decent restaurant for us 'foodies".

In summary we don't think we could beat the place for location, however next time we probably would try for something a little newer and cleaner (and quieter). If you want to be in the "hub'of it all this resort would be ideal. We did have a good little "break away" and this area of New Zealand is worth visiting.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TEAM-GEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2007

MOUNT MAUNGANUI – Referred to as “THE MOUNT”

We spend two nights here but I could have easily made it three or four if we could have been able to do all of the activities and had great weather. I love beach places!

ACCOMMODATIONS:

Oceanside Twin Towers Resort –180NZ per night for ground room floor

1 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui-Tauranga

Phone: (64) (07) 575 5371, [--]
NOTES: Ask for a room that is NOT on the street – It will be quieter that way. Personally we didn’t need a view room as we’d rather be out IN the ocean or ON the mountain then just looking at them. They have a free laundry facility and you can buy laundry powder from the front desk. The pool and hot tub are small but you have the Salt Water Pools across the street and the beach a short walk from the hotel. They offered wireless internet (2 hours for 10NZ and then 2NZ for each additional hour) You can “rent” beach towels for 2NZ each. Our room had a nice kitchenette and the standard NZ coffee plunger and tea facilities. There was a sitting room inside and a little patio with chairs outside. Shower had good pressure. It was less than a 10 minute walk into town, 3 minutes to the trail head for Mt. Maunganui (Maori name is Mauao) and only 3 minutes to the sandy beach. On the beach side of the Oceanside Twin Towers Resort, you will find 5-6 little restaurants with indoor and outdoor seating. Our favorite was the Side Track Café. Each morning we went there and had The Bop and The Mount for breakfast – Cost was around 25NZ total and note that we did not have coffee/tea as we’d already had that in our room before we ventured out.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank RandyandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank Marcela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideResort, Guest Relations Manager at Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,111 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#6 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
198 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers

Address: 1 Maunganui Road, PO Box 5032, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mount Maunganui
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $136 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers offers premium Mount Maunganui hotel and apartment accommodation. You can't beat our superb location - we're nestled directly under the famous Mauao at Mount Maunganui and right opposite the beautiful main beach. Whether you are travelling to Mount Maunganui for a family holiday, business or corporate trip, or just for a weekend getaway - Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers has something to suit you. Our accommodation includes: • Resort Executive Studio guestrooms • Resort One Bedroom Suites • Resort Two Bedroom Suites • Resort Honeymoon Suite • Twin Tower 2 Bedroom Apartments with a garden, harbour or ocean view • Twin Tower 3 bedroom Penthouse Apartment Exquisite Location: Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers is ideally located for you to make the most of everything Mount Maunganui has to offer. From your accommodation you have access to one of the country's most popular surf beaches, a plethora of walking tracks up and around the dormant volcano, and wide array of cafes, bars and restaurants. Perfect for Conferences: We have a well-equipped Conference Room and Board Room available for hire - combine it with our hotel accommodation and you'll have a corporate event to remember! Onsite facilities include two heated pools, gym, sauna, parking, internet and cafes & restaurants with charge back facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hotel Twin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing