We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“View and value”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Did a last minute booking for business. Had a huge studio suite with decent TV with all the sky channels. The bed was decent and was a king ... not that I needed it that big but it's nice to be able to dump all your stuff on the bed and still have room to sleep without having to move anything!

Place was super clean, staff were professional and friendly without being over the top creepy friendly like some hotels.
The sauna was great, the gym was well appointed.

The room was super clean and the towels were so soft it was like drying yourself with the easter bunny.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    79
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
33
83
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have stayed here a few times over the years in varying room sizes, floors and towers. All rooms have been great. This time on 7th floor 2brm. Very clean, spacious and furnishings in excellent condition still. Carparking spaces good size. Lift can be a bit temperamental at times. Walk around the mount is a must (or to the top if you are fit). Brilliant place to stay, and cafes downstairs are great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acjm_NthQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a great two nights at Oceanside. Spacious studio with everything you need. Great large screen tv with lots of channels to choose from. Only disappointment was that it was quite noisy in the mornings when we were on holiday and looking forward to a sleep in. Good price and great location however.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robnwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Reception staff did a great job in receiving us i.e. were friendly and informative. Nicely done.
Room 108 was very nice. Clean and tidy and quiet. Spacious for a studio.
Located centrally at Mount Maunganui, so close to everything there.
In this day and age where everyone carries a wireless capable device, they are still charging huge prices for wireless Internet use. Come on, in lots of overseas places this is free. This charging so much is so yesterday!!
Oh and change your towels, you can nearly spit through the ones we had!
On the whole though, we recommend the place.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Onlinegeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We regularly go to the mount and have stayed many places we now we only stay at oceanside. We have tried all types of rooms; honeymoon, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments. All spacious, clean, home like and in the best location. Only downfall we have ever had was a 2 bedroom apartment on the road side, the street lights shone in the bedroom and quite nosey.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sandaphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The positives were that the room itself was quite large and spacious,well furnished,the bed was comfy and big and the shower had very good water pressure. Close to the beach, the hot pools, town and restaurants etc.

The negatives were that there is a loud humming noise just outside the room, sounds like a water pump or something, loud noises coming from outside in the hallway during the night, 7:30 am loud trucks right outside the room and lots of banging and crashing around lasting for about an hour. No views whatsoever. The lock on the doors should be upgraded, just don't seem very secure. Shared patio, was nice but would've been better if it was private. Not enough pillows.

Overall I'd say its not terrible, but very average and I wouldn't stay here again, most annoying was the noise in general, but particularly the trucks in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigpotaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, NZ
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nestled under the majestic bulk of Mount Maunganui this resort has a great location. It is close to the mountain's many walking tracks which are a must, even if you only stay one night. The beaches either side of the peninsular are so close you can just go in your togs. There are cafes and restaurants almost next door, and it is a short, pleasant stroll down to the main shopping and cafe precinct.

The spacious one bedroom apartment I stayed in was much better equipped than many other places that provide the bare minimum of cheap stuff. As well as a great range of kitchen equipment there were a few good quality books and lots of furniture in both rooms. The bathroom was not large but adequate, with plenty of hot water.

In the bedroom, a great bed, huge wardrobe, plenty of extra bedding and a small flat screen TV (there was also a large TV in the main living area).

Decor was not really my style - fake marble, pale colours, faux antique but would suit some. I found the corridors to be stuffy and uninspiring, as well as confusing to navigate. The appeared to be no airconditioning in the rooms but you can open windows.

Service was fine - very friendly and efficient - but be aware that the reception hours are much less than a normal hotel. A system for night entry is attached to your key but check it works before leaving!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RT-Whanganui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers

Property: Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Address: 1 Maunganui Road, PO Box 5032, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mount Maunganui
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers offers premium Mount Maunganui hotel and apartment accommodation. You can't beat our superb location - we're nestled directly under the famous Mauao at Mount Maunganui and right opposite the beautiful main beach. Whether you are travelling to Mount Maunganui for a family holiday, business or corporate trip, or just for a weekend getaway - Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers has something to suit you. Our accommodation includes: • Resort Executive Studio guestrooms • Resort One Bedroom Suites • Resort Two Bedroom Suites • Resort Honeymoon Suite • Twin Tower 2 Bedroom Apartments with a garden, harbour or ocean view • Twin Tower 3 bedroom Penthouse Apartment Exquisite Location: Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers is ideally located for you to make the most of everything Mount Maunganui has to offer. From your accommodation you have access to one of the country's most popular surf beaches, a plethora of walking tracks up and around the dormant volcano, and wide array of cafes, bars and restaurants. Perfect for Conferences: We have a well-equipped Conference Room and Board Room available for hire - combine it with our hotel accommodation and you'll have a corporate event to remember! Onsite facilities include two heated pools, gym, sauna, parking, internet and cafes & restaurants with charge back facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hotel Twin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing